We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #662 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We recently stayed at Falcon Hotel after reading reviews here. The location is fantastic. The hotel is a quick 5 minute walk from Paddington station (which happens to have the Heathrow Express train for those traveling from abroad). In addition, there are several restaurants just out the door ranging from Italian, Indian and Greek to a typical British pub. A slightly further walk, maybe 15 minutes, and you arrive at the north end of Hyde Park where you can take in Serpentine Lake and Kensington. Because we were traveling much of the UK on this trip, we purchased Britrail passes which cannot be used on the underground/bus system, with exception to Heathrow Express. We were advised by the friendly hotel staff to purchase a day pass for the underground in order to take in all of London. Again, a 5 minute walk to Paddington and we were able to access every bit of London easily.

As for the lodging, it is very average. The rooms are small but not cramped and definitely dated. However, the hotel seems to be in the process of updating as they have added LG flat screens to the rooms and the advertised terrace is undergoing change right now. We used this hotel for convenience and price, not luxury. Complimentary breakfast (eggs, bacon, toast, cereal, etc.) was an added bonus. We stayed the first two days of our trip here and liked the location and people so much that we booked our last night in London here as well.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a great view of Norfolk Square and is accessed by a couple of flights of stairs. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighteyes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Convenient location close to Paddington station (trains to Heathrow). It was cheap for London (though more than we paid for nice places elsewhere in Britain), but confirms the adage of getting what you pay for. Our room was on the top floor, 4 flights of very narrow stairs up, no elevator - awkward with luggage.

Room was tiny; we could barely get around the bed, which was a true double bed, not king or queen size. Bath was in the room and OK, but cramped (looks like some rooms have toilets down a flight of stairs). Only one towel was provided, and no shampoo. There was a hair dryer but hard to use; you had to hold down a small switch to run it. Breakfast was decent (personally I wish they would spend the money on improving rooms, but I suppose people expect breakfast these days).

A sign said WiFi was £3 extra, though they didn't charge us. They did charge 3% for using a credit card. They also handed us the remote at check in and asked us to bring it back on checkout - strange. Staff were helpful, though the breakfast staff hovered over us at two minutes after breakfast hour ended (they set the clock on the wall five minutes fast).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel was much smaller than anticipated but the friendly welcome spoke volumes! We had breakfast included, this was adequate, no frills, staff very attentive. Plenty of great restaurants nearby. Very close to transport - bus & train.

Room Tip: Request a room on the lower level if you do have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Falcon Hotel is located in a wonderful spot for tourists or those going out in London. The rooms were quaint and small, but very clean and comfortable. It was the perfect place for our group of four when we needed a room last minute in London in a good location. The staff at the hotel were very kind and willing to help. Breakfast at the hotel was your average hotel meal, but again the service was wonderful and we appreciated them serving us even though we walked in as breakfast was wrapping up. There is no elevator in the hotel and the stairs are kind of steep, making it a hassle to get to your room if you have heavy bags. We were very pleased with our stay here and if we were in need of a room in London again would consider another stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The location is wonderful (as everyone notes), the staff are friendly, and the room and bathroom were small but a reasonable size--not huge, but not tiny either. Breakfast was fine. We were allowed to leave our bags there before checking in, and even invited to have breakfast (a free meal!). Reasonable restaurants are available not far away (e.g., on Queensway, within a short walk or one tube stop). It was pleasant, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It's a little hotel, which has a excellent location, just 2 minutes walk from Paddington Station, is for sure a great choice for someone, who wants basic services, but also good ones. The hotel is clean, has small rooms and bathrooms, helpfull reception service, besides friendly staffs. Furthermore it is included a basic breakfast, but that is good enough to start a long day. Actually, if you think to saty more out and want just a clean, quite and convenient place to sleep and take shower. This hotel is great option.
P.S.: The shower could have a better ressure.

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 floors, but it doesn't have lift. So, if you don't like stairs, avoid the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werllenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

As others have noted, the Falcon is close to the Paddington tube stop, which is very convenient. The rooms we occupied (we were moved once due to construction) were very small but clean, as was the bathroom. Breakfasts were basic but good and the staff was friendly. Having written that, it is important to stress that London is extraordinarily expensive these days and this modest little hotel ran us about $175.00 a night (it would have been more if we hadn't paid in cash). There are many restaurants near the Falcon but none are truly outstanding and all seem overpriced, by normal standards.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, ask if one of the ground floor rooms is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#823 of 1,076 in London
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#651 of 1,076 in London
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#649 of 1,076 in London
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#694 of 1,076 in London
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#661 of 1,076 in London
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stylotel
Stylotel
#608 of 1,076 in London
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Address: 11 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £74 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular bed & breakfast style hotel established 60 years ago priding itself in its 3 C's, being: Clean, Comfortable and Caring. 2 mins to Paddington Station which serves Heathrow in 15 minutes via express trains and only 2 minutes walk to Hyde Park in central London. The hotel is situated in a quiet area opposite a park and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The main shopping area, Oxford Street, being 10 mins walk to. The hotel is no smoking but a smoking area provided. Complementary breakfast, internet use and refreshment centre. All rooms fully equipped with proper hotel beds, 32 LCD TVs, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers and DD telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing