We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly and Great Location”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #666 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly and Great Location”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A bit of backstory... A massive snow storm at home forced me to change the dates of my trip. The original hotel was unable to change my trip plans and, at the last minute, I needed to find a new hotel. I need a place in a good area (I was traveling alone) and budget friendly. Falcon Hotel kept coming back on my searches and when I saw how close it was to Paddington Station, I knew it was the right place.
They had a reasonable check in time and process. This is an old townhouse about 2 blocks from the Tube/Train station so it was easy to walk over with all my bags. My room was on the first floor with a window facing the street and the small square outside. I had a balcony with a table and chairs that I could have spent time on had it been warmer and drier. My room had a double bed, sink and shower. My toilet was in a water closet on the landing just a few steps away from the room. It was my own water closet, no shared toilet, but it was outside of the room. I had no problem with this.
The room had plenty of outlets, lights, a television, and a kettle (with cups) for tea and coffee. There was a closet and a bench. The linens are a little old, but the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The heat worked perfectly and the amenities were nice. They give you a tv remote for your room when you check in. You need to return that with your room key when you check out. They have a small shop of travel items at the front desk. My power converter had trouble with my laptop charger so it was nice to pick up another one for just a few pounds. Each morning there was a complimentary breakfast that included bacon and eggs. The basement dining room was comfortable and the food was good. The staff was nice and accommodating of my needs.
Around the hotel is plenty of restaurants including a few pubs, a steakhouse, a great greek place and more. There were some shops where you could pick up snacks. Paddington station had some shops as well including a chemist/drug store where I picked up a few needed items. I felt incredibly safe and comfortable walking around the area at night and was really glad I found such a great place at the last minute. This hotel is a great place for people looking for a budget friendly hotel in a safe location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    179
    76
    29
    28
See reviews for
99
131
70
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've stayed at the Falcon Hotel back in November 2013 for 4 nights, it was great as for the price/quality balance, and I wanted to sum up the pluses and minuses as I saw them:

+ the hotel is very cosy and 'English', lovely to look at,
+ it's very clean, and the bathroom equipment is new, no problems with water pressure or temperature,
+ good central heating - the room is very warm and you can dry your clothes on the heater, but if the air feels stuffy you can open a window,
+ tea making facilities in the room - very convenient!
+ the reception staff friendly & helpful,
+ the area is packed with cafes, diners, and the nearest underground station is literally around the corner,
+ it's very close to Hyde Park and Kensington gardens which provide a nicest morning walk, and actually you can walk to the very centre of the city in some 30-40 minutes and see a number of sights just as you go.

- the room was really very small, with even no table or night stand, so I had to keep most of my things in the suitcase (there's a closet for clothes however),
- the shower cabin is equally small; I'm short and skinny but even I was constantly hitting my elbows on the cabin walls while washing my hair - really can't imagine how a bigger person can fit in!
- no elevator... wasn't a problem for me, but the stairs are quite steep, so you just have to be really careful,
- breakfast is a bit dull, won't advise taking it if not included in the rate. Coffee and toast were all right though.
- the Edgewater road area where the hotel is situated is an Arabic area, so it didn't quite feel like London at all sometimes... The local food places and shops were all authentic and I didn't fancy it much because naturally I was looking for traditional British things on my first visit to the country; but if it's all right with you then it shouldn't be much of a problem. There were some strange groups of people hanging in the sidestreets though after the sunset, so watch out.
- you have to leave 20p hold at the reception to get a remote control for you TV - but I hope you're not in London to watch the TV... and anyway you can stand up on the bed and choose a channel you need using the buttons on the side of the TV set.:)

All in all - I'd recommend it for a not very long visit to the city if you're planning to be out of the room most of the day, if you like the 'really British' ambience of the room&building, and preferably if you're not a solo female traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera_Kudrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have stayed at the Falcon by myself and with friends for 5 years. I have found the staff eager to please and have seen many people getting good advice and tips from the desk staff. I have been traveling to London for more than 20 years and without exception, this is the best budget hotel I have stayed in in London. I travel more than 100+ nights per year in the US for my job and I can understand why, coming from that experience, you might think the Falcon rooms are small and creative in their placement of sinks, toilets, showers and beds. It is also not big enough to have a lift. These facts may not work for you. If you need a room that is closer to the size of US hotel rooms, you might want to pick another hotel. If you need an elevator, the Falcon is not for you. What I like about the Falcon is that they take good care of people and I have never found that level of concern in any budget hotel. Once, I even had a blow dryer thrown at me by desk staff in a London hotel that had bigger rooms and an elevator but ZERO customer service. As someone who frequently travels to London alone, I appreciate that the staff would notice if I did not return. In 2011, I arrived at the Falcon and my room had just been painted. Rather than putting me into that room which still had a faint paint smell, they put me into another room until my assigned room had an additional day to air out, this meant they could not rent that room out and they lost a night's revenue to take care of me. I think they do this because they cared about me and I think that is great customer service. Again, I would stress that I get to stay in lots of big hotel rooms in the US and I need them sometimes for work but I spend so little time in my room when I travel to London that I don't need a room as big as a Marriott and I prefer to spend the $200/night difference going to the theatre, visiting palaces and sampling new restaurants in London. Again, I think this has to do with your expectations and needs when traveling. The Falcon is a great budget hotel with a great breakfast, small rooms and no lift, but it also doesn't start at $350 a night. I have had many unpleasant surprises at London budget hotels before I found the Falcon, now I don't stay anywhere else. Terri Jones

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tljones2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

found this hotel on internet, I was looking for a place next to Paddington station and went there for 3 nights from 12TH to 15Th December. The position is perfect: central London,connected to Heathrow airport by the Heathrow Express, tube station nearby (Central, district and Hammersmith-city). From the station it just took 2 mns walking to get to the hotel. In front of it a little garden. Very quiet place. My room was at the 2nd floor, no elevator, but the building is old, victorian style. The room was a twin-bedded one, with a small ensuite bathroom; the washbasin was very small, but the shower cabin was of good dimension and there's the hairdryer. Very clean, parquet in the room and lcd tv. Free internet point, they were very kind and helpful. Very good breakfast, buffett continental type with yoghurt, fruit salad, jam, butter, croissant, biscuits, orange juice and cheese and tasty full english hot from the kitchen with scramblrd eggs, rashers, baked beans, toast, tea or coffee. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and also next to the reception. We could keep the key room with us during the stay. I suggest it to everyone for the cleaness, courtesy and position. Great value for money too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loulou2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great location, checked in late afternoon young gentlement helped us with the bags, also got free maps and gave us great advice on how to plan our sighseeing. Room was small but nice and clean. Next day breakfast was going okay until a lady showed up and rudely asked us to leave the dining room as it was closing time this was very embarassing for us. We were apparently 10 mins due. Anyway afterwards same lady overcharged us by 3% for card charges which is not mentioned on our booking confirmation. We asked booking.com for explanation they never got back to us. She was rude and intimidating and it is a pity as we liked the place but will never stayed there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were very often in London the last years and had slept in lots of hotels. The Falcon hotel is the best hotel so far and if we come again to visit London we will choose again the Falcon hotel.
It's a VERY clean hotel, not only the rooms are in a good condition, also the breakfast room is not dirty and very clean. The rooms are small, yes, but this is normal for London! It is a old, small town with not much space and so are the elder houses not big.There is lovely, really friendly stuff.
Yes, there are rooms stairs up ( we had one ) and you need some air to get up ;o) But the cleanliness of the hotel is it really worth! We have seen hotels in the past where you can't put a naked foot in the bathroom.... So, if you are looking for a nice room with a good value for your money, choose Falcon Hotel, you can't do something wrong. Hotel is near underground Paddington station, big bus tour station and some other bus stations.
Breakfast is okay, you will not leave hungry.They offer an english breakfast, only sausages are missing on the plate. Toasts, marmelade, butter, cheese, weetabix, cornflakes, fruits, milk, coffee, tea, juice etc.
And now our trip is over and need to leave back to Germany...comment is written while sitting in room number 19 ...

Room Tip: We stayed at room number 19, our friends at number 18, both rooms were fine in any way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Facoln hotel. The room and bathroom are very very small--but the shower is hot and the room is clean. They include a cooked breakfast. The location, right next to padding station and hyde park is really convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betteluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#804 of 1,067 in London
615 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#610 of 1,067 in London
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#686 of 1,067 in London
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#661 of 1,067 in London
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#586 of 1,067 in London
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#668 of 1,067 in London
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Property: Falcon Hotel
Address: 11 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #666 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular bed & breakfast style hotel established 60 years ago priding itself in its 3 C's, being: Clean, Comfortable and Caring. 2 mins to Paddington Station which serves Heathrow in 15 minutes via express trains and only 2 minutes walk to Hyde Park in central London. The hotel is situated in a quiet area opposite a park and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The main shopping area, Oxford Street, being 10 mins walk to. The hotel is no smoking but a smoking area provided. Complementary breakfast, internet use and refreshment centre. All rooms fully equipped with proper hotel beds, 32 LCD TVs, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers and DD telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing