We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights was not long enough”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #662 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 January 2010

My husband, myself and our 2 teenagers stayed here for 5 nights in December and can't wait to go back one day. If you're the type that likes 5 star hotels then don't read on. If you're like me and a stay at a hotel is something you never do then read on. We arrived in London from Australia and boarded the Heathrow Express which I had pre-purchased tickets for before I left Australia. We travelled by Eurail through Europe and were able to purchase Heathrow Express tickets this way. We walked out of the station to the top of the hill (driveway) and if you keep walking straight (with a slight veer left) you arrive at Hotel Falcon within seriously 2-3 minutes. Our room was a quad on the ground floor with the kids on the left in a twin with their own bathroom and us being on the right in a double with our own bathroom. We could shut our own doors or just the big main door and be able to see into each others rooms. You couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom but it was beautifully clean. The rooms were small too but like you do on holiday you just use the room to sleep in. My husband would wake at 6 each morning and stroll to Paddington station for our morning coffee and the kids would slowly wake and we would go down stairs for breakfast. Breakfast was oustanding with bacon, eggs (anyway) baked beans, yoghurt, cereals, coffee, tea, toast, croissants, juices, fruit salad and you wait no more than 5 minutes once they know what you want. The station has a small supermarket, coffee houses, burger king, lot's of eats (and there's another burger king on the corner), subway around the corner, restaurants oh the list is endless. The open top big bus tour leaves from 50m away from the hotel too. Don't buy your tickets from the big bus co. either other than the bus ones as we found out you still have to cue even if you have a pre-purchased ticket for London Eye, Madame Tussaud's etc. Anyway back to the hotel, the lovely lady who ran the hotel from early morning was full of information if you asked. She put you on the right local bus to get you places and recommended we buy our local bus tickets after 9am from newsagents as they plummeted in price after this time. Internet is a very minumal fee (we can't remember). As we stayed in London at the begining of winter, it was magic. 5 degrees C each day and the sites were so fantastic. Oh the others that ran the hotel were just as nice too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Falcon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2009

Me and my wife travel frequently to London for business or pleasure. For the first time we chose to stay at Falcon Hotel, recommended by our friend and not a big chain and boy we are glad we did. This hotel is very clean with clean rooms and Pleasant staff. The location is perfect with underground close by and shops and restaurants not far away. They have free Wifi and There is also complimentary breakfast with a choice of English or continental Style. I Woukd recommend this hidden gem to all my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredjones83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I have been about 15 times at Falcon, and NEVER had anything to complain about. So very clean bathroom, and the beds are the best, and the staff so very kind and helpful. I can´t think to stay at any other hotel when I do my once a year visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmbSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

The location of this hotel was great, minutes walk from Paddington underground. The staff were friendly and they served a really good cooked breakfast. There is free wifi too.

However the room was a little old and the carpet and sheets felt a little dirty though.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vynolac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Location is excellent but that is all you can have. Rooms need definitely refurbishment, probably they were need 3 years ago, too. The textiles are dirty and blanket was in the cupboard on the ground (cupboard was a ceramic something) into dust within a dirty bag. I never recomend, run a way. There have been very nice hotels with reasonable prices around. Even I made reservation for 4 nights, I paid one night punishment and left the hotel after I saw the room. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tebeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seekingahotel, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2010

This ‘sole traveller’ from Turkey had approached us with a view to get a 14 nights reservation confirmation from us for her visa to enter the UK . We spent hours on the phone with her (which we have no complaint about as it is our service and pleasure). We told her we can only issue a confirmation if she followed our standard reservation procedures and accepted our cancellation policy. After more phone calls she accepted. She arrived at our hotel after 9p.m. claiming there were two of them and the other person could not get a visa at the airport. Since the other person was paying for the room she can not afford to stay at our hotel and therefore has to cancel her reservation and go to a friend instead. This guest was not with us even for 10 minutes and left unhappily after she was told our one night non-refundable cancellation policy applies. We do not understand how she can comment about our rooms, linen and service! Yes, our decor is traditional. If you don't like a traditional English atmosphere and more into modern metal and glass decor then we are not a place you might like. Neither do we accept comments about our linen, we use the same linen company (Clean Ltd) that 5 star hotels use. We are probably the cleanest b&b in the area - in this case the guest did not even stay with us so how does she know? Last but not least please note we never have and never will participate in Visa scams - it is illegal and immoral and unfair to genuine guests. If you are not genuine and wish to stay with friends but need us only for a visa, please do not apply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This small hotel located 2 minutes walk from Paddington Station is well worth styaing at. It is super clean, wonderful breakfast and friendly staff. The rooms, as they are in London, small but functionable. If there is one drawback is it has no lift so top floor rooms are a nice long hard walk. It is very good value for London. Very easy to get to the west end by either tube or bus

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacherbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

My friend and I heard about this hotel from one cousin and decided to book in since we couldn't find any other reasonably priced hotel in the area. The hotel is locaded in the quiet area 1-2 minute walk from Paddington station. The location of the hotel is perfect, it is close to undergroound and bus station which conects you to all parts of the city and jet you are far enough from the road so you can sleep in the night. We were staying in a room on the tird floor which was big enough for 2 of us and was quiet. Every morning we had a choice of English or continental breakfast which was rich enough to keep us going until lunch time. The staff was really friendly and they answered all of our silly questions and helped us with everything we asked. In the end of the stay we felt more like familly members with some of them.
I will most definetly stay in this hotel next time I visit London.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arounttheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#812 of 1,072 in London
632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#643 of 1,072 in London
756 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#688 of 1,072 in London
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#646 of 1,072 in London
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#661 of 1,072 in London
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stylotel
Stylotel
#596 of 1,072 in London
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Address: 11 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular bed & breakfast style hotel established 60 years ago priding itself in its 3 C's, being: Clean, Comfortable and Caring. 2 mins to Paddington Station which serves Heathrow in 15 minutes via express trains and only 2 minutes walk to Hyde Park in central London. The hotel is situated in a quiet area opposite a park and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The main shopping area, Oxford Street, being 10 mins walk to. The hotel is no smoking but a smoking area provided. Complementary breakfast, internet use and refreshment centre. All rooms fully equipped with proper hotel beds, 32 LCD TVs, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers and DD telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing