We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with the right expectations”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #919 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Volgograd, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great hotel with the right expectations”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

For those used to the size and decor of European hotels, this is a great inexpensive place to stay in London. If you're expecting an American style and size room, then you'll be disappointed.

Our room was clean and the bathroom roomy enough. We had booked through a travel site and the only room left was a triple, but this turned out to be good because it gave us extra room for open suitcases.

There are stairs! and fairly steep ones, so don't book here if you have mobility issues, perhaps even mild ones.

The wifi works but really only in the lobby and the breakfast room.

There is an included breakfast which is a bit rudimentary (buns and croissants, cheese and jams, instant coffee and tea). Toast and hot chocolate are available, but you have to know to ask. OTOH there are several local cafes for breakfast, and Paddington station is quite close.

The location is quite good: Hyde Park is a short block away; Gloucester Road tube station is close (but is one of those tedious stations that relies on lifts/elevators); Paddington is only slightly further away, but the Bakerloo line access was closed when we were there, making getting to the West End a bit more complex than necessary.

Room Tip: The street isn't noisy, so almost any room is OK. The basement rooms might be a bit less desirab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FredDeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com

We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    87
    83
    40
    60
See reviews for
97
77
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

That was the most horrible hotel I have ever been.
Horrible rooms, terrible breakfast.
no elevator, ugly room, small bad, worst bathroom, very small,
breakfast ?
I would not call this breakfast.
not worth a penny









  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Kerstin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com

We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home. We were sorry to hear of your negative experience - had we heard from you during your stay, I am convinced we could have made your stay very pleasant to live up to your expectations.

Best wishes.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Luleå
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the Oxford Hotel and it wasn't too bad. The rooms were small, and the bathrooms even smaller (the shower didn't work most times due to low water pressure and severe temperature changes).

We lived on the third door, and the stairs were hell, due to them being very narrow and steep. Thanks to our third floor room we got a nice view, however.

They serve breakfast which is nice, although navigation to and from the dining area (and the hotel in general) is limited.

What really makes the hotel stand out is its location. Walk straight out the door and you have several restaurants and convenience stores to chose from, and Hyde Park + the Lancaster Gate Underground Station are both within a five minute walk. This, in addition to its price, has me saying that this hotel is worth a stay if you're looking for a place to spend the nights, not live in. If you travel light, travel in a group of 2 or 4, and spend most of your time out looking at London, go for this one, since it's really worth the price.

If you come to London for business and need to spend a lot of time in the room, I'd tell you to look elsewhere. There's not much to do in the room, and the tv doesn't even work.

A good summarization is that you get what you pay for, which is a good location and a good place to sleep, not live.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank CptWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com

We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 12 nights in May and enjoyed our stay. Every day consisted of leaving early in the morning to sightsee and explore and returning late at night to shower and sleep. If, like us,you're in London as an eager and curious tourist who will use the hotel as little more than a place to rest at night, this is probably a great place for you. If you plan to hang out in your room all day and enjoy the hotel's amenities, you might want to go somewhere else.

The positives:
- Very friendly, cheerful, and helpful staff
- Clean rooms
- Excellent location (a five-minute walk to the Lancaster Gate tube station, 10 minutes to Paddington, Kensington Gardens, etc.)
- Tea, coffee, a mini-fridge, and a microwave in the room (wasn't expecting to find this at this hotel)
- Cozy and quaint

The negatives:
- The bathrooms might be a bit small. I'm 5'1, so this wasn't a big deal for me, but I can definitely see how others would find them uncomfortable
- The wi-fi doesn't really work unless you're sitting in the lobby
- The beds aren't very comfortable

Breakfast is a croissant or bun with butter and jelly, but that was enough for me (especially considering what we paid for our stay).

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuhlipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com

We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My mother and I stayed here one night when we first landed in London. It had a very convenient location, very reasonable prices, and the room was quiet and clean- even if it was a little small. They were skimpy on the towels, but the shower had plenty of hot water. It worked well for what we needed- a place to rest and recover from our flight before starting our British adventures.

Room Tip: We were on an upper floor facing the street- apart from the occasional motorcycle, the room was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhunsilval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com

We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Cheap and cheerful.
We arrived from Australia absolutely exhausted, at 9 in the morning and were able to check in immediately. Service was friendly and fairly fast.
Rooms are tiny but if the basics are all you need then it's fine.
The shower was very small but if you have a sense of humour it's fine! Water pressure was good and hot water was hot so that was fine.
Quiet as well and in a lovely part of town.
Heating good.
Great value for money.

Room Tip: No lift and several floors so request the group floor or 1st floor if you have a lot of cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlpianotruckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com

We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I recently stayed here with a group of friends and none of us were very impressed. We weren't expecting 5* luxury but for the price we paid we expected much better. The rooms were cold with a musty smell and the staff were unhelpful and rather rude. When we asked to speak to the manager we were told no-one would be available until that evening which was long after the check out time! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, the only thing going for it is the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

We very much value our client's comments and do our utmost to achieve client satisfaction.

We would like our guests to feel at home, and to come back again and gain, to recommend to their friends and family.

We aim to provide good quality bed and and breakfast, at a very budget price.

We are in hospitality, because we love it !

Be our guest !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Elizabeth Hotel
#797 of 1,068 in London
1,481 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#700 of 1,068 in London
349 reviews
Brunel Hotel
#751 of 1,068 in London
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#634 of 1,068 in London
454 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#817 of 1,068 in London
1,072 reviews
The Columbia
#533 of 1,068 in London
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 13-14 Craven Terrace | Lancaster Gate, London W2 3QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #919 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing