We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good little hotel, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cromwell Hotel
Ranked #825 of 1,063 Hotels in London
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good little hotel, very comfortable”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I arrived at this hotel for one night, at about 8.45pm on a Monday. As I was a late check-in, I had to ring the doorbell to get in, but this was no trouble. I was greeted by a very friendly man who swiftly and comprehensively explained everything to me and checked me in. He explained that, although I booked a double room, he didn't have any, so he gave me a triple instead. This was fine with me.

Got into the room which was of a good size and very warm and cosy. The decor could do with some work but, hey, I paid £39 for a room in a Kensington/Earl's Court hotel for one night! The bathroom was of very good size and, whilst there were a few cracked tiles, this was very nice with plenty of hot water. Nice clean towels and even shampoo and soap as freebies, not normally seen ina very budget hotels like this one.

The hotel is situated close to Earl's Court tube station (about a ten minute walk) so is in a good location for commuters. The night's sleep was very comfortable and the bed was soft and cosy. There was a kettle and tea/coffee in my room, and a hairdryer which worked. TV had freeview with good reception. Good amount of plug sockets too so I was able to charge both my phones. :)

Checking out was fine as just gave the key back in. The reason I haven't given this hotel five stars is mixed. There was a fridge in my room - and whilst this was an excellent feature - it is not integrated so makes a humming noise constantly. This doesn't disturb sleep at all, and whilst quite a luxury feature, is a bit annoying.

I would definitely stay here again for the money I paid. Very comfortable and would be suitable for the lone business traveller (myself) or a group of friends visiting Central London and looking for a very cheap room for a few nights.

Room Tip: Give them a call when you have booked to enquire what kind of room they have actually got for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilGlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    45
    50
    31
    43
See reviews for
32
36
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I am just back from a girls trip to London, and we needed somewhere as cheap and central as possible. This hotel was perfect for us because there were 4 of us and this hotel offers a quad room which consisted of 2 double beds. Even with this, there was plenty of room for all 4 of us to get ready. The room was facing to the back which had a nice view of the surrounding gardens. We had a fridge, tv, kettle, plenty of room for all of our clothes and the bathroom was small but quite clean.

There is a Tesco 2 minutes down the road and earls court tube station is a short walk away. Plenty of restaurants/bars/shops nearby also so the location is great. However, it is situated on a busy main road so it could be quite noisy, but this wasnt a problem for us.

The breakfast room is really small and breakfast itself is basic (cereal, toast, yoghurts) but then again, we only paid £57 each for 2 nights so can't complain!

Absolutely no problems, would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for a cheap, central location - just don't expect 5 star quality!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstymac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Although the staff were friendly and helpful, they seemed powerless to put things right.
I took photos to back up what I am about to report.
There was no light over the mirror in the bathroom and no spare bulb available.
There was no soap in bathroom upon my arrival.
The hairdryer didn't work and there was no replacement.
The curtains were not fixed properly in the bedroom.
The carpet was dirty and not hoovered. The cups were not washed. There was a plaster on the shower support. I could never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muireall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

my son (8) and i stayed here for 2nights in may 2011. we arrived before the check-in time but were able to leave the overnight bag next to the office. its a short walk from earls court tube, tesco's is also close by. we found it a handy, cheap base to explore a few of londons attractions (you would def need more than 2 days). the room was grand, small but we were only there to sleep after our very busy days walking, tubing and busing. there was hot water, a kettle to make a cuppa and a nice bed oh and a tv, my son was delighted, a novelty watching tv in bed lol. breakfast was included and again grand way to start the day. the romanian guy at the desk was very helpfull and polite, even printing out maps for us. look its not the ritz but as someone else here said you get what you pay for. if you dont want to spend all your money on your accommodation (we didn't) then this is a grand place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed for one night. Location is ok as are the rooms. The reception guy from Romania was a great guy an loved a chat. Biggest issue was the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night for no apparent reason. In short you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaggytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

It is quite unexpensive, clean, staff was friendly, but my room was verry loud. If you are on a budget it's ok, otherwise there are better options in Earl's Court

Room Tip: Not facing the street!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviaFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I wouldn't stay here again because the noise from the very busy road at the front of the hotel was too much. I didn't get much sleep. My 6 year old son work at 5am and couldn't get back to sleep with the noise either. Aside from that, the staff were really helpful. The hotel is nice enough. My parents double room was tiny but they didn't mind. Breakfast was basic but did the job!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicec79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#669 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#732 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#726 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#690 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#525 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#730 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cromwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cromwell Hotel

Property: West Cromwell Hotel
Address: 66 West Cromwell Road | Earls Court, Kensington & Chelsea, London SW5 9QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #825 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Cromwell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your West Cromwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cromwell London
Hotel West Cromwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing