We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location. / Decent Rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Cromwell Hotel
Ranked #862 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Location. / Decent Rooms.”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This hotel is situated accross the road from Gloucester Road underground station so the location is very good and very convenient. Although the hotel faces a busy road the rooms are reasonably quiet.
They are also quite well appointed. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel does however have a number of stairs leading to some rooms so people with mobility problems or who have a lot of luggage could be challenged.
There is a Waitrose super market accross the road which opens at 7:30am from which breakfast items can be purchased at much cheaper prices than in a restaurant.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face Gloucester Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    45
    50
    32
    44
See reviews for
33
36
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner during November 2012 for two nights.

We paid £75/night which is very reasonable for London.

Pros:
- free tea and coffee
- walking distance to Earl's Court tube stn
- tv, hair dryer, shampoo etc all included
- lift available
- supermarkets close-by

Cons:
- needed a thorough clean ( but not terrible condition)
- overall some TLC required (broken tiles, fitting, etc)
- pillows like slices of bread
- very thin walls
- disappointing breakfast range

Overall, this hotel is exactly what it says on the tin: a two star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMikeWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

For London it may be a reasonable price, however it is very basic. I had a tiny room in the attic, you walked and were immediately faced with the toilet door, there was a small single bed and bedside table, and the pillows were about as thick as a laptop. Breakfast was very basic too, cereal and toast, cheese and cold meat.

As the heading says, don't expect too much, but it was warm, reasonably clean and hot showers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights last week. Its clean, reasonably priced, good location. I wouldnt rave about it, but it was ok. When asked for information, staff were helpful, even though they didnt seem particularly friendly. Breakfast pretty standard but ok, only gripe I had was that wifi is not free, it costs £5 per day which I think is ridiculous, especially when we have stayed places cheaper with free wifi & its often essential for long term travellers. When paid for, it didnt work in our room, after much walking around to find a spot where it may work, it still didnt work so my money was refunded. Ok for a few nights, not any longer.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back, the front is very noisy facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a budget hotel and so dont expect too much. The main thing is that, in my experience, it was clean and that I slept well. I read previous reviews and asked for a rear facing room that was not in the basement. I had a single which was small enough to give me coffin related dreams. It had an en-suite which was fine except that it would have been nice to have a more powerful shower. Breakfast is basic to say the least but was fine for a couple of nights stay. I thought it was rather quaint that the very pleasant east european waitress asked "tea or coffee" and when I replied "tea please" I was presented with a teapot containing coffee. It was nice coffee and she made me smile.

Room Tip: ask for rear room to get away from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

At the tail of our tour of United Kingdom we remained stayed in this hotel.Location wise the hotel is economical.The greatest hazard is its security.Only one receptionist remain during night.The room and food were average. The back side of the hotel is linked with private houses and if you are on the first floor be careful to close all rear windows although hotel staff claimed to have CC Camera.There is no lounge ,even the place is not suitable for the receptionist. If you have limited budget then this hotel could be your choice.

Room Tip: It is better to stay on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAEED S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

To be honest we picked this because of the price as staying in London is expensive. We paid 150 for 2 nights. The hotel itself seemed clean and the staff seemed friendly enough but the rooms are so dated. I felt we were more like in a student bedsit. The walls were dirty, the bedding was dated. These are things that dont cost a lot to rectifty and they desperately need to do that if they want people to go back. On the plus side its a short walk from Earls Court tube station,another reason why we chose to stay here. We never managed breakfast on either days because the breakfast room is tiny with only a few tables, it did seem clean enough though. This would be a better place to stay if they updated the rooms a bit (we didnt need a huge fridge in our room!) and found a bigger room to serve breakfasts.

Room Tip: Read trip advisor before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterbuggerlugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#725 of 1,068 in London
420 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#673 of 1,068 in London
194 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#545 of 1,068 in London
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#711 of 1,068 in London
451 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#686 of 1,068 in London
283 reviews
Earls Court
Beaver Hotel
Beaver Hotel
#727 of 1,068 in London
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cromwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cromwell Hotel

Property: West Cromwell Hotel
Address: 66 West Cromwell Road | Earls Court, Kensington & Chelsea, London SW5 9QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #862 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Cromwell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Cromwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cromwell London
Hotel West Cromwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing