We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Griffin House Hotel
Ranked #865 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for the second time and was again pleased with what we got especially for the price, the location was brilliant (we were at the proms in the park) for Hyde park , the bathrooms are very small and need attention ( the receptionist when we arrived told us they are shutting down probably in January 2013 to update all the bathrooms), the rooms have been updated since we went last year and are all very clean and well fitted out. We will chose this hotel again and yes the breakfast isn't a full fried , but cereals, toast, eggs and tea or coffee is good enough choice for us and if you want bigger and better then there are plenty of places around this hotel. Staff are all friendly and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    56
    48
    32
    63
See reviews for
37
56
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I was planning to stay at Griffin House Hotel this weekend with a family member, but on tuesday I recieved an e-mail from the hotel telling me to cancel my reservation because we could not stay at their hotel due to plumbing issues. They did not bother to give us names of other hotels nearby or to move us to another hotel. Luckily we found another hotel ourselves (after a stressful morning), but I do not think it is acceptable to cancel our reservations by e-mail three days before we arrive! This hotel does not come off as serious or serviceminded and even if I have not stayed here I do not recommend it to anyone. You might find yourself in London without a hotel room before you know it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vib H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is à very good choice. The staff were friendly and serviceminded. À great location and it's was clean. The breakfast was surprisningly good . The only remark we have are that the room are little to small to have an extrabed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I have just spent one night at the Griffin House Hotel and thought it was great for the money. It has been refreshed....hastily and the paint job wouldn't pass close scrutiny, but now it is clean, bright and contemporary. The local Ikea must be rubbing its hands in glee because all the rooms feature Scandinavian styling. Our double bedroom was quiet, bright, small and comfortable. The refurb hasn't stretched as far as the bathroom but the shower worked well and there were good fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. I was amazed the breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, selection of bread and cheeses, jams, eggs and tea or coffee was included in the price. The hotel needs to update its own website to reflect the changes.For a short cheap stay in London, close to the tube and shopping you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PirateofPZCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I AM A POSITIVE PERSON AND WOULD LIKE TO SAY SOMETHING NICE....BUT....THE GRIFFIN IS PRETTY AWFUL!!!! The location is absolutely top! Security is superb! The staff was helpful, what can they do really?, not the best job...they DID try. I was tempted to offer my servicesfor a complete interior overhaul gratis!!! It would take really so little to improve this place! For crying out loud! this DUMP could be an absolute gold mine with just a minimum of effort!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#768 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#671 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#687 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Mayfair
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin House Hotel

Property: Griffin House Hotel
Address: Marble Arch 10 Connaught Street, London W2 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #865 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Griffin House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Griffin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing