We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, the extra star is for location. Small rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #122 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were styling in this hotel for a few days in the end of February 2012. Generally a very good hotel in an excellent tourist location, but with very small rooms.

+++
+ Located close to everything you may need as a tourist. Shopping, theatres, tourist sttractions, restaurant are just a few steps away
+ clean hotel and rooms with new furniture
+ friendly staff and helpful concierge service
+ good quality breakfast
+ wifi
+ free use of iMacs business center

- - -
- the rooms are very, very, very small for the price (payd appr. $600 for a superior room per day).
- sewage is no good. We've stayed in two rooms and water doesn't go away fast. The problem seems to be evident for the whole hotel
- please someone clean the keyboards on the iMacs

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmitryV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review and mentioning our excellent location. I have spoken with our maintenance team who are going around the whole hotel and checking all the plumbing to ensure that we do not have any blocked drains.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Cavendish London on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,001 - 3,007 of 4,166 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed 1 night for a weekend in February and we choosed the Cavendish based on TA's reviews and the location of the hotel. It's within minutes of Green Park tube station, Piccadilly Circus and St James's Park for a nice walk.
In fact the hotel is near everything. And we like very much Fortnum&Mason store which is next door if you want to buy tea.

Hotel is a large building (like tower) and was nicely decorated.
The staff is very polite and nice. Service is attentive from check-in to the check-out, even with the help for the luggages to the taxi.

We had booked an Executive King room and it was room #811 with a nice city view. Hotel is non-smoking and this is perfect to us. Room was big with a sofa and a all the modern amenities you would expect from a 4*hotel in London. The bathroom was large with separate shower and bath. But it wasn't very clean so I suggest to improve the cleaning of the bathroom. Turn down service in the evening very nice.
King bed was comfy.
Nespresso coffee machine in-room was a plus.

Noise was due at night because of a night club situated in Jermyn St so people were shouting in the Street at Club's closing time. Windows are not soundproofed against this...And the walls of the rooms were thin too (you could hear next door watching TV or discussing)...So the sleep wasn't perfect.
Another complain is no free wifi in the room. I would have appreciate that even I could use the free computers in the lobby.
We didn't eat there as there are so many options in the aera.
All in all, a very nice hotel with a high price (£199 + VAT) and some issues. We might go back if the price is right.
Ask for a high floor room with view.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, with Big Ben view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you liked the location and that the staff were friendly and professional. We pride ourselves in our cleanliness and I can only apologies that this did not live up to your expectation and I have already spoken to my Executive Housekeeper about this.

Regarding the noise at the nightclub that you experienced I have personally addressed this issue with them to ensure they do everything to ensure their guests leave quietly.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We loved staying at the Cavendish London. It is beautiful and the location is perfect..an easy stroll to theatres, restaurants, shopping, museums, Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square. So much to do so close by!

The hotel staff go out of their way to be helpful. They alerted us to a problem with the Heathrow Express that saved us time, money and aggravation when we needed to get to the airport.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerWithOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you very much for your excellent review. Thank you for mentioning our perfect location I am sure many readers will find that very useful when making travel plans especially to a city they do not know. I am delighted that the staff were able to help you with travel plans and save you time.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Everything went well, but my friend went on Breakfast time to drink tea and they charged him as a breakfast package for a cup of tea!!
They lost my respect since that time, though we depent on trip advisor review and booked there.

I called 4 times and claimed to clean others dirt in a toilet.

you can hear people shouting outsise in the middle of the night, and the vacum Cleaner noise in the morning.

Room Tip: Use their Concierge... they are fast and good for booking Theatre's Tickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rawanrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you very much for the review. I am sorry to hear that our housekeeping department did not live up to your expectation and I will be picking this up with my executive housekeeper to ensure that the area is addressed.

I am delighted to hear that you had such good service from our concierge team, Richard our Head Concierge will be delighted.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We visited London to see 'Rock of Ages' and staying at The Cavendish is a bonus. Hotel very welcoming, staff pleasant, rooms lovely and excellent breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANZ8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you very much for another great review. I hope that you enjoyed the show, and it is great to hear that staying at the Cavendish London is a bonus to going to the theatre.

I hope that we can welcome you back the next time you go to the theatre.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a great 5 night stay at the Cavendish last week. The location couldn't be beat...very close to shops, restaurants, and easy walking distance to major attractions. Staff was very attentive and friendly. We used the Concierge to book a day trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge, and Bath which was wonderful. We had an Executive King room and it was spacious and well maintained. A little pricey for the full stay, but the location and service made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmama98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am delighted that the staff were very attentive and friendly and that you had such a good stay.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently stayed here for a long weekend, We was lucky enough to stay in one of the Penthouse Suites where the room and views are both excellent. We had stayed in an Executive room on a previous visit which was also very good, but if you can go for one of the 15th Floor rooms, then do so as the views alone are worth the cost. The hotel is within a 5 minute walk to the West End and 10 minutes to Oxford Street. The breakfast was very good with a set menu or buffet option. If you are looking for a centrally placed for a theater or shopping break at a reasonable cost you will not go wrong with the Cavendish.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAPTAINBUDHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you very much for your great review. I am delighted that you liked the views from the 15th Floor and that you found the location so central for everything you wanted to do.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#103 of 1,081 in London
897 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#137 of 1,081 in London
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#387 of 1,081 in London
2,322 reviews
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#508 of 1,081 in London
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Family Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £186 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing