We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #109 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Had a short stay at the Cavendish i January but we will be back. The location is pfect, in the centerr of everything but still a quiet and cosy place. The rooms are not large, but qiet, the beds are good and the bathroom well equipped. The service is super, kind staff. Large and excellent breakfast buffet, but a bit prisy if you haven't got it incl. The prize for the room, but the are several breakfast possibilities just round the corner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten_Holst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are all delighted that we are your favourite hotel, and that you found the service and staff to be so good.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,396
    1,147
    235
    66
    27
See reviews for
569
2,010
160
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I was lucky enough to have stayed at the Cavendish London for 3 times in the past 6 months. I trully enjoyed each stay and can highly recommend the Cavendish!

I've been staying in the standard and executive rooms and while I enjoyed the standard room on a trip by myself, I found the executive room to be better suited for a double occupancy (you have some extra space in the room and also the bathroom is much bigger and has a separate shower/bathtub).

Pros:
- very nice and helpful staff
- nice & modern rooms --> try to get one on the upper floors with views across London
- sumptous breakfast choice that you can have delivered to the room without extra charges
- perfect location, 3 mins from Picadilly and Green Park tube stations

Cons:
- no WLAN in the room --> please, please fix this asap!
- slight noise from the aircon

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review. I know that the team will be very happy that we are your preferred hotel in London.

Regarding the WLAN, unless I am misunderstanding all of our rooms have WI-FI so if you have any problems connecting please feel free to contact any member of the team during your stay and we will be able to get it resolved for you. If it is something else and not WI-FI that you mean I would be happy to discuss it with you and my email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com.

I look forward to welcoming yo back on your next visit.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I'd planned to stay at the Sofitel St. James, my favorite hotel in London, but it was booked. Instead, I stayed for the second time at the Cavendish, which was a solid second choice, not too far away. It doesn't have the Sofitel's fit and finish, and solitude, but it is still quiet. The restaurant is nothing to write home about, and the breakfast is pretty much a hostage situation--we've got you captive, and you'll pay the price. Still, I'd recommend it, with some specific guidance on the room selection in the tip area of this review.

Room Tip: The rooms directly across from the elevator bank are slightly larger than average, although I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerTraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you feel we are a solid second choice to the 5 star Sofitel. While we do charge a premium for breakfast we do ensure that we use all the best local produce that we can get.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here to celebrate my birthday in February and were well looked after. Staff were all very pleasant, room was clean, spacious and had a fantastic view and breakfast was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epowell240284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review and would like to wish you a belated Happy Birthday. I am delighted that you were so well looked after.

I hope that we can welcome you back when you celebrate another special occasion.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just spent the weekend in one of the Penthouse Suites on the 15th floor. The views were absolutely amazing and the room was beautiful. Our friends stayed in the other Penthouse Suite (1508) which was also fantastic and had a balcony. Our room (1507) is a larger suite with 2 two seater sofas, a chaise, a desk and a dining table that would comfortably seat 4 in the living room whereas room 1508 has a sofa, armchair, desk and a small round table for 2 in the living room BUT it does have the balcony which was fab for making the most of the view. Both were amazing but quite different which isn't obvious from the website. We had the best of both worlds with pre-dinner drinks on the balcony in 1508 and then after dinner relaxing in the larger living room of 1507.
The staff were extremely attentive and the room was stunning and beautifully clean. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. As the room is so high up we weren't disturbed by any noise from the street at all BUT our only complaint would be that there is a droning of air conditioning units in the room even though ours was switched off which is a constant. It's not loud but if you are a light sleeper or are not a hardened traveller who easily sleeps in a new bed without waking up lots of times in the night, then you may benefit from ear plugs to eliminate any disturbances. This didn't detract from the enjoyment of our stay at all though! Another slight issue is that there is no free wi-fi in the rooms which seems strange in this day and age. It appeared to be 10p per minute which is a tad steep. You can use wi-fi in the lounges and bars I think and there are iMacs that you can use too but when you've got a beautiful room you want to be in it rather than downstairs.
We had breakfast in our room having seen reviews that said that breakfast at the weekend can be very busy in the restaurant and you can often have to wait quite a long time. Our breakfast was fantastic with a huge selection of things to choose from on the menu so we were quite trigger happy when it came to ticking all of the boxes and ended up with an amazing array of cooked breakfasts, cereal, fruit salad, toast, croissants, muffins and danishes!
We had a FANTASTIC time and will absolutely be back again when we deserve another treat!

Room Tip: The top few floors would have a great view if you ask for the side that faces the London Eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsMillerBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good stay in our penthouse suites and that all the staff were attentive. I know that the chef will be very happy to hear about your great breakfast experience.

Thank you for mentioning the sound issue that you had in the suite as I will get the maintenance team to have a look at that immediately.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next treat.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Great Hotel, & great location

Would stay here again

Rooms very pleasent and staff very hepful.

Handy to have Fortnum & Mason just opposite. Handy for afternoon tea

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you very much for the excellent review. I am delighted that you had such a good stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a long weekend in the Cavendish Hotel, and found our room to be the best we have come across so far in the UK. Everything was modern, clean and very comfortable, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful at all times. Breakfast was delicious, and the location of the hotel meant that we were able to access all our favourite places on foot or within a few minutes' taxi ride. Can't rate this hotel high enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilDBraude, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review. It means a lot to me and the team to hear that you think we are the best hotel in the UK that you have stayed at.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the capital.

Best regards

Neil
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#85 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing