We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #120 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place is all about the location. Brilliant place to stay for the main shopping districts of Regent Street, Bond Street, Oxford St, Piccadilly and of course Jermyn Street where the hotel itself is located. We were able to check in early which was great. Big bonus for us was the onsite underground parking at reasonable rates, especially as I drive a Hybrid. Very efficient front desk but we found some of the waiting staff less so, although this is not a major gripe. Food in restaurant was very good. Room was very small and no fridge but did include Tea and Coffee facilities. Overall a satisfactory stay but apart from the location and parking nothing really stood out for us.

Room Tip: Upgrade the room if you want something of a decent size. Classic room has shower only. If you drive...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Ian P,

Thank you for your kind comments about The Cavendish London.
We do indeed provide parking facilities onsite and as part of our green policy we offer reduced parking to Hybrids and electric cars.
We have different room types available and only our classic rooms do not have a fridge with all the other room types do, so maybe something to consider for next time.
Our location is great and much raved about by many guest and is one of our selling points.
Hope we can welcome you back again in 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,022)
There are newer reviews for The Cavendish London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 4,022 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights & couldn't have asked for anything more. Room was clean and well appointed but best off all was in the perfect location. 5min walk to Picadilly Circus, 2min to a Green Park, 5min to Hyde Park and easy access to the Tube at two major link points.

Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Schjumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Schjumes,

Hope you had a good flight back to Brisbane?
Thank you for choosing The Cavendish during your recent visit to London.
Our location as you mentioned is in close proximity to pretty much all you could look for in London.
Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

i and a friend stayed from late November to early December Five nights . and found the hotel to be excellent in all respects . Breakfasts were particularly good !!! The sliced fresh oranges and the Scottish smoked haddock and poached eggs and also the HOME MADE marmalade were a perfect start to the day We had afternoon tea on arrival , and dinner in the hotel that evening both were excellent . Staff were friendly and helpful . The bedroom on 11th floor with a wonderful view was excellent . Only comment : the wardrobe was poor in relation to the clothes we had brought.... too many !!! The only adverse comment we had was about the Rosa Lewis bar . It was strangely located in a sort of staircase lobby , cold in the evening despite being very busy . It has been recently redecorated but is still rather drab and cheerless reminiscent of a 70's airline lounge Something more cosy and 'Edwardian ' might be more attractive The staff were very friendly and my comments in no way reflect them or their service . Sandwiches were good . A delightful hotel VERY well located and quiet
PS I did not realise there was a fitness centre or swimming pool !!!!

Room Tip: Select a larger room than standard
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleyfarley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Charleyfarley95,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at The Cavendish London on tripadvisor.
It seems that you really enjoyed your stay with us together with your friend, we do indeed have some great views on offer from the 8th floor and above which are usually very popular so make sure you request a high floor upon making your reservation. We have recently rectified the issue in the bar which made it quite cold in the evenings this was due to faulty equipment. Unfortunately we do not have a Gym or Swimming pool, however reception can provide you with discounted vouchers for a gym close by the hotel.

Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

As a couple staying 3 nights in late December our experience of the Cavendish was of a particularly well managed and excellent quality hotel and surprisingly good value. All the staff were very polite, attentive and helpful at all times. Our Queen Superior room was large (wonderful bed), well maintained and appointed, quiet and had a lovely bathroom. However, to top it all, the view from the bedroom window was spectacular, particularly at night and sunrise. The panorama took in the Shard, Millennium wheel, Big Ben (which you could easily read the time off) and more. The hotel has a sustainability policy to source as much produce locally as possible. The buffet breakfast was excellent both in quality and variety (check out their own made marmalade) and if that was not enough you could select from an extensive menu of deliciously prepared food. Finally, the hotel is centrally located (10 minute walk to Piccadilly circus) whilst being set in the genteel splendour and calm of Jermyn street, just off Green Park and St James's Park. In my opinion and experience the Cavendish is a cut above the competition in being consistently excellent on all ratings. We shall certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATraveller327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Atraveller327,

Thank you for staying with us recently and we are all over the moon that you had such a great stay with us. Our Vision is to be the best 4 star in central London with special people creating special experiences and it seems that we have achieved that during your visit. Our location is fantastic and pretty much allows you to walk to all the mayor sites and shopping areas.
We keep improving our sustainability policy and have yearly reviews by the SRA and we keep increasing our rating year on year.
Wishing you a Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I booked afternoon tea at The Cavendish as a Christmas treat for my parents in law who were visiting London. What a disappointment it was. The music in The Lounge was loud and obtrusive. When we asked if it could be turned down we were told - rather abruptly - that we were not the only guests! There was a good choice of tea but the food was very disappointing - dried up and far from appealing even to a father in law who has a very sweet tooth. All in all a very disappointing experience and certainly not worth the money it cost. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Gillian D,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your disappointing afternoon tea experience.
We always believe our afternoon tea to be great value for money compared to many other venues out there. Clearly on your visit we did not show our true colours and usual high customer service levels. Please accept my apologies for the way you were treated on this occasion. Feel free to contact me on roy.sommer@thecavendishlondon.com to discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We celebrated our daughters 18th & 21st birthdays with a trip to London at a good hotel and theatre etc. The Cavendish came right up to the mark starting with a warm welcome by Reception and Concierge, who parked the car, hot apple and cinnamon in reception, champagne in the bedroom for the girls and it was all very comfortable. The hotel is situated on a relatively small site so the public rooms could not be called large and spacious but it makes up for it in all other respects. The rooms were very comfortable with all mod cons. Parking the car overnight was £40 plus congestion charge but we thought it reasonable value, the alternative being four rail and tube fares.
We had an excellent time at the theatre (Wicked) a short taxi ride away, pleasant overnight stay with a really good breakfast with everything one could have wished including buffet style hot and continental and specific items cooked to order. Finally, it would be difficult to find a better base for a stay in London as it is very central and just behind Fortnum and Mason.

Room Tip: The building is tall so I would suppose the higher floors have the better views. We were on the 7th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasprhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear JasperRHI,

We all do hope you are well and are very pleased that you had the "perfect experience".
To be located in central London and have parking facilities is a great benefit to us and I am glad that you have been able to us our parking. What a wonderful idea to spend your daughters birthdays at The Cavendish and to take them to a show, which is am sure they enjoyed. Our breakfast has been much raved about and often been said to be one of the best hotel breakfasts in London.
Thanks for your visit and I hope we will see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel is in a wonderful location right in the middle of the west end theaters and the London attractions like the London Eye, Buckingham Place and Trafalga sq. Close to Picadilly Circus and Green park tubes and the central bus routes on Picadilly.
The staff were all lovely and the consierge was brilliant and couldn't do enough to advise and help.
The rooms were of the highest calibre of fittings although quite compact.
I have visited London on business and cvacation on many occasions and this is the best overall quality experience I have had.

Room Tip: Don't go on the Fortnum and Mason side due to some noise of deliveries at night
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnsculptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Johnsculptor,

Please allow me to thank you for such a great review. It has been said many times before by other guests and I am glad you highlighted our location again. We are within walking distance to a lot of the mayor sights in London and close to the main shopping streets as well.
I am overall glad that you had such a good stay with us and that you liked the Atmosphere.
All the best for 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,073 in London
1,173 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,073 in London
900 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#133 of 1,073 in London
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#44 of 1,073 in London
1,288 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,073 in London
840 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,073 in London
4,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £216 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing