We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cavendish London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #107 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leamington Spa, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stopped here again for a one night visit to London and the theatre. This perfectly placed hotel is always a good base for walking out and experiencing the joys of London at Xmas. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable, the breakfast good and the staff are unfailingly polite and helpful - well done! David Tennant was fantastic in Richard II as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenfaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Kenfaisey,

Than you very much for your excellent review and I am delighted that you had such a good trip to London and enjoyed Richard II as well. Our team are the ones who make the hotel what it is and I know that they will all be very appreciative of your great comments about their service.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next theatre break.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,325
    1,117
    226
    64
    25
See reviews for
552
1,951
152
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We decided to take a break between christmas and new year and to treat ourselves - a good choice even if we do say so ourselves!!! The staff were lovely, attentive and very helpful. The breakfast was lovely and a wide choice. The room we had was a good size and the bed was really comfortable. Thank you everyone at The Cavendish we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear t675,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first stay with us and hope that there will be many more to follow. The staff are a true credit to our philosophy at The Cavendish and we try to look after them well, hence we have been voted in the Top 100 best small companies to work for in the last 4 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place is all about the location. Brilliant place to stay for the main shopping districts of Regent Street, Bond Street, Oxford St, Piccadilly and of course Jermyn Street where the hotel itself is located. We were able to check in early which was great. Big bonus for us was the onsite underground parking at reasonable rates, especially as I drive a Hybrid. Very efficient front desk but we found some of the waiting staff less so, although this is not a major gripe. Food in restaurant was very good. Room was very small and no fridge but did include Tea and Coffee facilities. Overall a satisfactory stay but apart from the location and parking nothing really stood out for us.

Room Tip: Upgrade the room if you want something of a decent size. Classic room has shower only. If you drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Ian P,

Thank you for your kind comments about The Cavendish London.
We do indeed provide parking facilities onsite and as part of our green policy we offer reduced parking to Hybrids and electric cars.
We have different room types available and only our classic rooms do not have a fridge with all the other room types do, so maybe something to consider for next time.
Our location is great and much raved about by many guest and is one of our selling points.
Hope we can welcome you back again in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights & couldn't have asked for anything more. Room was clean and well appointed but best off all was in the perfect location. 5min walk to Picadilly Circus, 2min to a Green Park, 5min to Hyde Park and easy access to the Tube at two major link points.

Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schjumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Schjumes,

Hope you had a good flight back to Brisbane?
Thank you for choosing The Cavendish during your recent visit to London.
Our location as you mentioned is in close proximity to pretty much all you could look for in London.
Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down N Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

i and a friend stayed from late November to early December Five nights . and found the hotel to be excellent in all respects . Breakfasts were particularly good !!! The sliced fresh oranges and the Scottish smoked haddock and poached eggs and also the HOME MADE marmalade were a perfect start to the day We had afternoon tea on arrival , and dinner in the hotel that evening both were excellent . Staff were friendly and helpful . The bedroom on 11th floor with a wonderful view was excellent . Only comment : the wardrobe was poor in relation to the clothes we had brought.... too many !!! The only adverse comment we had was about the Rosa Lewis bar . It was strangely located in a sort of staircase lobby , cold in the evening despite being very busy . It has been recently redecorated but is still rather drab and cheerless reminiscent of a 70's airline lounge Something more cosy and 'Edwardian ' might be more attractive The staff were very friendly and my comments in no way reflect them or their service . Sandwiches were good . A delightful hotel VERY well located and quiet
PS I did not realise there was a fitness centre or swimming pool !!!!

Room Tip: Select a larger room than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charleyfarley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Charleyfarley95,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at The Cavendish London on tripadvisor.
It seems that you really enjoyed your stay with us together with your friend, we do indeed have some great views on offer from the 8th floor and above which are usually very popular so make sure you request a high floor upon making your reservation. We have recently rectified the issue in the bar which made it quite cold in the evenings this was due to faulty equipment. Unfortunately we do not have a Gym or Swimming pool, however reception can provide you with discounted vouchers for a gym close by the hotel.

Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

As a couple staying 3 nights in late December our experience of the Cavendish was of a particularly well managed and excellent quality hotel and surprisingly good value. All the staff were very polite, attentive and helpful at all times. Our Queen Superior room was large (wonderful bed), well maintained and appointed, quiet and had a lovely bathroom. However, to top it all, the view from the bedroom window was spectacular, particularly at night and sunrise. The panorama took in the Shard, Millennium wheel, Big Ben (which you could easily read the time off) and more. The hotel has a sustainability policy to source as much produce locally as possible. The buffet breakfast was excellent both in quality and variety (check out their own made marmalade) and if that was not enough you could select from an extensive menu of deliciously prepared food. Finally, the hotel is centrally located (10 minute walk to Piccadilly circus) whilst being set in the genteel splendour and calm of Jermyn street, just off Green Park and St James's Park. In my opinion and experience the Cavendish is a cut above the competition in being consistently excellent on all ratings. We shall certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATraveller327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Atraveller327,

Thank you for staying with us recently and we are all over the moon that you had such a great stay with us. Our Vision is to be the best 4 star in central London with special people creating special experiences and it seems that we have achieved that during your visit. Our location is fantastic and pretty much allows you to walk to all the mayor sites and shopping areas.
We keep improving our sustainability policy and have yearly reviews by the SRA and we keep increasing our rating year on year.
Wishing you a Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I booked afternoon tea at The Cavendish as a Christmas treat for my parents in law who were visiting London. What a disappointment it was. The music in The Lounge was loud and obtrusive. When we asked if it could be turned down we were told - rather abruptly - that we were not the only guests! There was a good choice of tea but the food was very disappointing - dried up and far from appealing even to a father in law who has a very sweet tooth. All in all a very disappointing experience and certainly not worth the money it cost. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Gillian D,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your disappointing afternoon tea experience.
We always believe our afternoon tea to be great value for money compared to many other venues out there. Clearly on your visit we did not show our true colours and usual high customer service levels. Please accept my apologies for the way you were treated on this occasion. Feel free to contact me on roy.sommer@thecavendishlondon.com to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#125 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing