We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #109 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Cavendish for 2 nights recently and were delighted with the hotel. The room was very comfortable, with a great bed. The "feel" of the hotel was boutique, even though the hotel is actually not that small. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. We even found a complimentary bottle of mineral water and a tin of mints in our car when we collected it from the car park (£40 per night). We really loved the position of the hotel in Jermyn Street and we spent far too much money in the various West End stores that were easy walking distance (whether Piccadilly, Bond Street, Oxford Street or Soho). We also bought some cheese from the specialist cheese shop a few doors along the road from the hotel. If we had a quibble, it was that the breakfasts were unspectacular - but they were fine - and the great thing was that you could have breakfast right up to 12 noon on the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delligill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear delligill,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that you had such a good stay and that you really liked our location. Thank you for letting other travellers know how close we are to so many of London's attractions and of course shopping.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,366
    1,139
    232
    65
    26
See reviews for
564
1,988
158
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (943)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Cavendish last Summer for our anniversary/30th birthday and found it to be a fantastic hotel. I let them know beforehand about the celebrations and they went all out to welcome us with chocolate truffles and champagne in the room and rose petals and swan shaped towels on the bed! The room was a lovely size and the bathroom huge! It is on the side street of Fortnum and Mason and a 5min walk from Piccadilly Circus. A further 5mins and you find yourself in theatreland. Great hotel, great location, great price.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Charlotte M,

Thank you very much for your great review and thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion at The Cavendish London. Our Housekeeping team make every effort to ensure that our guests have a great celebration.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a fantastic 2 night stay at the Cavendish Hotel. Staff were friendly and professional from start to finish. We arrived at the hotel approximately 2 hours before check in however, our room was ready straight away. We were greeted by a very helpful concierge and receptionist.
Classic rooms are small but perfectly formed; very tidy, well presented and comfortable. Great views from the 12th floor, were we were staying. Buffet breakfast was included each morning with our booking; good variety provided. We also had some desserts and cocktails one evening and these were also delicious.
The hotel is in a great location, minutes from Green Park tube station and about a 10 minute walk to Buckingham Palace. There are a vast amount of shops and restaurants within a minutes walk of the hotel. We were able to walk from the Cavendish, through Piccadilly and Leicester Square to Covent Gardens in approximately 30 minutes. We were also in walking distance of Harrods and Hamley's (about a 15 minute walk). Although, if you happen to be in a rush there are plenty of tube stops along the way! Madame Tussaud's is also easily located from Green Park tube station. We would really recommend one of the open top bus tours which were available from outside Green Park. We got the London by Night Tour. This was a great way to see the sights especially as we were only in London for a limited time.
On our final night the concierge was more than happy to recommend a restaurant in the local area and organise a booking for us. Checkout was speedy and straightforward.
Overall, we had a brilliant time in London and we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Megan M,

Thank you for your excellent review, and I am delighted that you had such a good time in London. We are very lucky to have the team that we do and I know they will be very happy with your review. Thank you for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great location on a very quiet street. Checkers pub is almost next door. Tesco under 5 min. away. Between two subway stations and less than 5 min. to transit. Chambermaid (Violetta) was outstanding! Not only cleaned the room but also tidied up after us! Got breakfast included in our package and it was well worth it. Was my husbands birthday and they sent up a card and cake! Concierge very helpful! Only negative - bed wasn't as firm as I'd like but it was still comfortable. Definitely would return!

Room Tip: Get breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Mary A,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and your great comments about Violetta and I will ensure that she is recognised for the great job she did looking after you.

We are delighted that you will return on your next visit to London and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a really comfortable stay at the Cavendish. Everything from check in to checking out went very smoothly and the concierge was very helpful in booking theatre tickets and getting a taxi for us on departure.. the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious. The hotel was ideal for walking to the theatres and down to Westminster Bridge and surrounding attractions. Lovely parks were also nearby, and of course Fortnum & Mason's just across the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-Zina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Alex-Zina M,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and kind comments about the team. I know Richard our Head Concierge and his team will be particularly happy with your review. They are the people in the know for anything you need to do or book in London.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

After looking through hundreds hotel websites, we were really impressed by the hotel decor and its amazing location to every attraction we wanted to see, were then further amazed at the price as everything else we had looked at were charging almost double! After being greeted at the door and our suitcases taken off us we were swiftly checked in and in our rooms ( which were ready early). The decor was amazing with superb views across the London skyline, it was clean with luxurious White Company toiletries. We would defiantly be coming here again and will have no problems recommending it to friends, thank you for making my birthday weekend more amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for one higher up to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Sophie W,

Thank you very much for you excellent review, and on behalf of the hotel would like to wish you a belated Happy Birthday. We are delighted that you chose us over all the other hotels that you looked at and that we did not disappoint. Thank you for your kind recommendation it is really appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for 4 nights,room clean and comfortable,staff very friendly. If you like a big breakfast this is definitely the place for you. Our only gripe was the street noise in the early hours of Sunday morning, overall a lovely hotel and we hope to return in the future if my credit card can cope with the nearby shoe shops.....

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Agueroooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Agueroooo,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and I am delighted that you had such a good stay. Jermyn street is the perfect place for men's shopping and of course Regent Street and Oxford Street is just around the corner.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#84 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#127 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#88 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing