We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well situated for galleries and West End”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #121 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“well situated for galleries and West End”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A comfortable hotel at an affordable price, The Cavendish is well situated in an attractive part of London, very handy for galleries, restaurants and theatres. Our room was comfortable and spacious and the staff were incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Judy K,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and great comments about the team, I know that they will all really appreciate it. Thank you for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many attractions.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,422
    1,168
    250
    66
    30
See reviews for
575
2,047
164
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week on business. I chose it as it was easy to walk to my offices. The staff where incredibly friendly and very efficient . My only grip would be that as I arrived late I decided on room service . The food was not that great . In fairness I was given every opportunity to complain but chose not to . Partly as the staff in room service etc where very efficient and friendly and I wasn't expecting cordon Bleu . The location is excellent I only had a classic room but it was very comfy . The white company products were a nice touch and the room was spotless . Would I stay here again definitely it's less than 20o yards to the back Doors of Fortnum's one of my favourite stores. If you are using the tube , green park was easier and less busy than Piccadilly Circus . 5 minute walk if that from green park station.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilybuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Lilybuttons,

Thank you very much for your great review and I am delighted that you had such a great stay. Thank you for your great comments about the team, I know that they will all really appreciate it and for letting other travellers know about our great location. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your room service food and it would be very useful for me to get your feedback on the food so that I can follow it up with Nitin our Head Chef. My direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel, with attentive and knowledgeable staff. BUT, when we entered our room 319, I should have walked right out again and requested another. Wife stopped me and we remained. MY TIP TO ANY READER IS THIS. If you are allocated a room with the last two digits of 01 or 19 then be aware that the lift shaft is in your room. There are three lifts and the staff will inform you that the two outer lifts that go through rooms 01 and 19 are turned off overnight and only the centre lift is used. But when asked what the strange metallic noises were in our room during the night we got no valid explanation.
The restaurant serves excellent food and breakfast was very good and cooked to perfection.
The facilities in the room were good.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms with the last two digits of 01 or 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear nejbiii,

Thank you very much for your great review and comments about the team as I know that they will all really appreciate as they make every effort to ensure our guests have a great stay in London. Nitin our Head Chef and his team will also be very happy with your comments about breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you had a disturbed sleep from the lift noise, I can assure that this is not always the case and we have had our lift company look at that immediately to ensure that our guests are not disturbed during their stay.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I booked this hotel initially for it's location. I was treating my wife for her 60th Birthday to tea at the Ritz and also to the theatre at night and this hotel was ideally situated for both of these which were in easy walking distance.When we arrived at 10:30 am we were able to go to our room immediately which was a pleasant surprise. Also there was a lovely cake and flowers waiting for us in the room. The room was very clean and tidy and was very welcoming. The staff were very courteous helpful and polite. We had an evening meal before going to the theatre which, although my sirloin steak was a touch tough, was well presented and enjoyable.Overall the stay at this hotel was very enjoyable and relaxing and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in London.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a better room if you want a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentMitchell52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear BrentMitchell52,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and thank you for letting us celebrate you Wife's 60th Birthday with you and I hope she had a great time. We are very lucky to have the team that we do and I know that they will be very appreciative of your comments.

Thank you for your recommendation that is really appreciated and we hope that we can welcome you back for your next family celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I love the location of this hotel, the beds are comfortable and the view from our room on the 14th floor was amazing. Plus, in general, it's quiet.

However there are a few reasons why I was less than happy with my stay and I promise I am not being a grumpy reviewer who only sees the bad things.

If you are staying for any length of time, be prepared not to have too much space. Most of the hanging space in the wardrobe is taken up with the ironing board and if there are two of you there isn't much space in the bathroom either. They could easily have put up a shelf or two. On the subject of bathrooms, the water pressure in the shower was so feeble, I couldn't even shampoo and rinse my hair (thick and long) twice - a little frustrating. There was also no extractor fan, nor window, so ventilation was zilch in the bathroom. And given the windows in the bedroom didn't open either (and I know it's a safety precaution but a little would be nice) it was less than desirable.

On one occasion at 4 am during our stay, the deafening fire alarm sounded for several seconds. Not knowing what was going on, we got up and then went back to bed, as it had stopped, so we assumed it had been an error. Having been deeply asleep, we actually didn't question it and just wanted to get back to sleep as we were attending a conference and were tired. The next morning we received a note through the door apologising and explaining that the evacuation - which we knew nothing about - had been necessary. I'm sorry, but this just didn't go down too well with us at all, knowing we could have burnt in our beds on the 14th floor and nobody checking on us, and I do think the Manager should have gone to much greater efforts a) to ensure all guests were actually evacuated and accounted for, if necessary, and b) to make up for having woken everybody up so rudely in the event that it was a technical error (which it was). It's no harm to have this happen, but at least carry out the procedure thoroughly. Flowers, chocolate, a personal call, whatever. They should have done FAR more.

There is a note beside the bed saying that a turndown service is available on request and to ring Housekeeping to request it. One early evening, we did this and the Housekeeping lady said she didn't know what we meant and that the concept was something she was not familiar with!

On the day of checkout I asked if I could check out a little late, the lady on reception confirmed that they were not fully booked and indeed they did not need our room, but wanted to charge me extra for this after 1 pm (I had asked for 1.30 pm). Unimpressed they would not let me stay the extra 30 minutes without charge when they don't even need the room. Added to this, a very persistent lady who didn't understand much English came to service the room before 9 am on the final day, I told her I was leaving today but would hopefully do so later than normal checkout time. She then came back 2 hours later, not waiting for me to actually answer the door but just walking in on me, ready to service the room. Aren't there any channels of communication in this place?

We didn't take full advantage of the facilities so I don't really want to comment on them (although we had tried the pre-theatre menu on a previous stay in London, not as a guest - it was ok, but service very slow and the atmosphere in the restaurant a little frosty).

So would I stay here again? I'm not sure. I wanted to like it as it is in a really good location but you don't live in the view, so I think I'd rather have a bit more space and feel comfortable with staff who communicate and put the comfort and safety of their guests first. I really didn't feel this was the case with The Cavendish.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear MrsSparty,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback from your most recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your room and especially that you felt the water pressure was to low and that your extractor was not working. If you would be able to let me know the room number that you stayed in I will be able to get my maintenance team to have a look immediately as either should not be the case, and I can only apologies for this. Thank you for feedback about the incident with housekeeping and reception as well and this feedback has been passed on to both teams as a training priority, as this is not the level of service we should be delivering.

Our guests safety is our number one focus and as a management team we practice our fire evacuation every 2 weeks, to ensure that in the event of our guests being in any danger we all know the procedure to work with our team and the Fire Department to ensure our guests are safely out of the hotel. While safety is our number 1 priority we also do not want to disturb our guests during there stay if we can handle a situation without doing so and still ensure their safety at all times.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London to show you our true service levels.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First off I give this hotel a 10+ for location if you want a centeral location that you can walk to lots of attractions. Close to both underground stations and bus stations. I personally walked everywhere. It is right off the beaten path of Piccadilly Circus where there a tons of people, shops, restaurants etc., HOWEVER it is just a block or so away tucked into a cute little street, so not much noise. The room is great although small in American Standards, not a lot of walking space around the bed or places to put clothes and suitcases if you are staying more than a few days. The bed was comfy. We did have a tripped fire alarm in the middle of the night, and a VERY loud neighbor the first night, but I can't quite knock the hotel for that, they were apologetic. I can't comment on the restaurant since we never ate there, but the concierge is helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. My husband plans on coming back again for business and he wil be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear bendreview,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions. We are delighted that your husband will be returning when he comes to London on his next business trip, and hope that we can welcome you both back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at The Cavendish for 3 nights and had a marvellous time. The concierge and his staff were very helpful and efficient, and all of the staff greeted us with smiles. We have stayed in the vicinity before and know the area well but what marked out The Cavendish was the view from our room (fabulous!) and the fact that breakfast was in a room with windows and daylight! The choice and quality of food at breakfast was excellent. The only slight downside was the size of the room - but if I had to choose I'd go for the view over the size of the room anytime. Although small it was well designed and had everything one needed. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Rosemary W,

Thank you very much for you excellent review and great comments about Richard and his team, they are certainly the go to guys for all information about things to see and do in London. Thank you for your great comments about the quality and choice and breakfast as I know the Chef will be delighted.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,068 in London
853 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#100 of 1,068 in London
822 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#137 of 1,068 in London
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,709 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,171 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing