We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Cavendish!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #122 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I can't say enough nice things about my stay here. The hotel is in a great location directly behind Fortnum & Mason and very close to all London has to offer. We have stayed at the hotel a number of times now and are never ever disappointed. The rooms are very clean and well appointed and the staff is so very warm and welcoming to all. The morning breakfast is top notch to start your day with everything one could wish for and very good service. The lounge is a good stop for a cuppa, as well as just a place to relax, as well as the bar for a great Pimms. The concierge Mo, was a big help when it came to reservations and train directions even giving me a call at home prior to my departure to provide advice , NOW THAT IS SERVICE!!!! It is our place to stay when in London!!!!

Room Tip: If you would like a view our Room #1415 had an excellent view from the 14 floor of Westminster Abbey...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHERLOCKSanDiego_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear SHERLOCKSanDiego_ca,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that we are your choice of hotel in London. We have a great team who have put in a lot of effort over the last month to ensure we keep improving our service levels and I know they will all be very appreciative of your great comments especially Mo, and I will personally make sure that he gets recognised for his great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,020)
There are newer reviews for The Cavendish London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,019 - 2,025 of 4,020 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Having had a lovely stay in Feb 2013 we decided to stay again 5th to 7th April 2014
On checking in at 2pm we were told that our rooms were not ready despite 2 couples in front of us receiving their room key immediately. We had booked 2 superior rooms as we travelled with our friends. We received a call at 2:50 to tell us that 1 room was ready and did not get the other room until gone 3pm which was the official check in time. On getting to our rooms we expected the same type of room as our first visit. However, we were very disappointed at the size of the room as it was much smaller that the one on our previous stay.
On returning to the hotel at 10pm we went to the first floor bar area for a drink and were greeted by the waitress immediately asking us if we were paying by cash or room card as they were cashing up! Not the greeting we were expecting!
Buffet breakfast was OK however on our second morning we could not be seated together as they did not have a table for 4 available so we were told. This really is unacceptable for a 4 star hotel.
On returning to our room on Saturday afternoon around 4:30pm we were shocked to see the housekeeping team cleaning our room. After sightseeing all day all we wanted was to relax. This was particularly surprising as the housekeeper saw us leave in the morning and bid us a good day!
Whilst not the fault of the hotel, a nightclub caused considerable noise and sleep deprivation until 4:30 on Sunday morning, not the relaxing time we expected. This was made worse because our rooms were on the 5th floor and were not double glazed. (We had requested high floors on booking in January).
All in all it was not the stay that we had a looked forward to and will think twice before booking again which is very disappointing as the hotel is in a very convenient position just behind Fortnum & Masons.
The receptionist at checkout was apologetic. Sadly we will be thinking twice about staying again based on this experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Nigel H,

Thank you for your review and feedback from your previous stay and I am disappointed to here that you did not have a great stay and that you may not consider us for your next stay. I can assure that this is not the level of service that we offer and I will be speaking to all of the Heads of Departments concerned to ensure that we pick up the points that you raised immediately.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London so that we can show you our true service levels.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

From Mar 22nd until Mar 30th of this year, my spouse and I stayed at The Cavendish for the second time. Our first stay was in early September of 2012.

The Cavendish is conveniently located within minutes of London's sights, shopping and entertainment. We arrived from Heathrow via the Piccadilly Line to the Green Park Station, which is about three blocks east of the hotel.

Check-in was quick and pleasant. Using the hotel’s Web site, we had booked a superior room and were assigned room #1105. Having stayed in superior room #1005 on our last visit, we knew that this was a very quiet room, however, it wasn’t big on space because of the interior hallway from the room’s main doorway. We both liked the fact that the room’s bar fridge was now emptied of product and was available for our use, and that the room had free WIFI.

The next day having seen the size of superior room #1107, I requested that we be switched to a similar room and were given #1007. The closet doors could both be open at the same time, the bathtub was much easier to get into, and generally there was much more space that a ‘05’ room. Though the room had a connecting door to another hotel room, I initially wasn’t too put off having stayed in other hotels where such doors act as a sound barrier to the next room. The next day, we quickly realized that we could listen to our neighbours talking on the phone or to their favourite TV shows. Hopefully, the hotel will replace these doors with better soundproofing.

Breakfast was very good. Though the buffet is not that plentiful, guests may order additional breakfast dishes from the menu. Our daily requests were done perfectly.

The hotel staff is polite, accommodating, and helpful.

Aside from the non-soundproofing door between our room and our neighbours’, we once again had an enjoyable stay at The Cavendish.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear gpbc,

Thank you very much for your great review and kind comments about the team and their service levels I know they will be delighted with your comments. Thank you for your feedback and giving the details about which room numbers you stayed in and I will get our Maintenance team to have a look at the door and see the best way of ensuring that it is soundproofed. We are always looking at ways of improving our breakfast buffet and making it more plentiful to go along with the A la carte menu for breakfast, and we have a few new items being added in the coming weeks, but any suggestions of what our guests would like to see is always welcome and my direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is fine, but nothing to rave about. The staff is pleasant and trained to be accommodating, but not empowered to give anything beyond what is expected or go the extra mile when it comes to customer service.

We had a 2 false fire alarms the night I arrived. The first was bad enough when I awoke at ~ 12:30am out of a deep sleep to a blaring alarm. The second, nearly an hour later, was bordering on absurd as we evacuated the hotel and stood in the alley for 30-45 minutes as the fire brigade inspected the hotel and cleared us to return to our rooms. No explanation was offered. No compensation was offered. Just a mass-printed letter slipped under the door with a very simple apology - "sorry for the inconvenience." Many other hotels that would have taken this as an opportunity to ensure that their customer was well looked after - The Cavendish did not.

There are many great hotels in London in the same price range with nicer rooms, better trained staff, and abundant amenities.

I feel like the Cavendish is a fallback if your first, second, third, and possibly fourth choices in the area are booked. Unfortunately for them, they've lost a customer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manglwurzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear manglwurzl,

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are sorry to here that we have lost a guest, as we do everything we can to ensure that every guest has a great stay and time in London. The last thing that we want to do is disturb our guests especially at 12.30am when everyone is sleeping, however the most important thing for us is our guests safety and the team would only have made the decision to evacuate the hotel if they believed that their could be a risk to our guests. Thankfully in this case the Fire Brigade were able to isolate the risk very quickly and we allowed everyone back in as soon as we could. I would be happy to discuss this in more detail with you if you would like to and my direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com

I hope that you will give us a second chance so that we can show you our true service levels.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Another wonderful stay in one of London's finest, if not the finest ! We have just spent our annual 4 night stay for the 8th year in this great hotel. Staff are very smart, efficient & professional. This is not luck, it is all down to management skills. Well done The Cavendish, see you next time.
Kind regards,
Jeff Stewart.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, however as a special treat try one of the suites.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear robyn16,

Thank you very much for your great review and it is great to hear that you think we are one of London's finest hotels, that is a great compliment that we all really appreciate. As a Management team we do put a lot of effort and focus on working with the team as we know it is our responsibility to ensure that they are engaged and motivated and it is a great honour for us that the team have voted us into the Sunday Times Top 100 for a 5th consecutive year.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next annual trip.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It was absolutely wonderful to stay at the Cavendish. So close to all the London main shops and attractions and a delight to return to with lovely staff, ever helpful, a extremely comfortable room and a breakfast to die for.
I would without hesitation recommend this hotel to anyone and once you have stayed, you will never need to search for a Hotel in London again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DM_SM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear DM_SM2014,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions as well as shopping and theatres. The whole team are delighted with your kind comments about their service and kind recommendation.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

In the words of my daughter ' Fantastic' sums up her stay in the Cavendish. It was booked as a package along with a visit to the theater to see Matilda on the 5th April. Something she had asked for for her 16th birthday. She hasn't stopped talking about it. An executive twin was booked which was on the 14th Floor, but the girls where upgraded to a penthouse suite on the 15th floor! Then to top it all there was a knock at the door and a waiter with a birthday cake. View from room was 'awesome' Made to feel really welcome, despite feeling a little nervous when the taxi pulled up at the hotel. Wants to go back! so do I next time!.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eveok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear eveok,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are delighted that your daughter had such a great 16th birthday, and hope she enjoyed Matilda as well. We have great views from the top floors across London.

We hope that we can welcome you and your daughter back for your next celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#134 of 1,072 in London
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,874 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,072 in London
839 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,072 in London
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £216 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing