We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #109 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in April on our babymoon. From the moment we arrived I was impressed. I travel to and stay in London a lot for business and this was my first trip to the cavendish and not my last.
All staff were lovely and super efficient and we were given an absolutely gorgeous room - 1015 - with fabulous views. White Company products in the room too, lovely!
The location is great, opposite Fortnum & Mason and near Green Park and Piccadilly Tube stations.
We used room service and the restaurant for breakfast and both options were fab, the OJ and pastries were lovely.
I would absolutely recommend the Cavendish and their staff. It stands up against many of the 5*s I have stayed at in London but offers better value.
Perfect!

Room Tip: Room 1015 has FABULOUS views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixster722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Vixster722,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are humbled that you have compared us to many 5 star hotels in London. Our team are the key to our service levels as we are a 4 star hotels they all strive to deliver a 5 star service and ensure that our guests have a great stay in London.

We are delighted that you have said you will return and we hope we can welcome you back for both work and pleasure.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,396
    1,147
    235
    66
    27
See reviews for
569
2,010
160
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Second time at the Cavendish and really enjoyed the central location and friendliness of staff, we will stay again but next time perhaps on a higher floor, we were on level Five but higher ones must get better views and be quieter. Liked the Nespresso machine, makes a change having a decent cup of coffee in the room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gables28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Gables28,

Thank you for your great review and we are delighted that we are your choice of hotel in London. The next time you book directly with the hotel please let us know your preference to be on a high floor and we will do our best to ensure you get a room with a great view over London.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Cavendish hotel during the weekend of the marathon as a base to see the FA cup semi-final at Wembley.

I was very impressed by the location, which was central and meant we could walk to most places we wanted to visit - and take in the atmosphere of the marathon.

The hotel was really well decorated and comfortable, which was great but it was the service that really wowed me. Nothing was a bother to the staff, the concierge, those on reception and in the restaurant & bars. They made us feel very special and welcome. I would definitely recommend the Cavendish to friends and will be returning in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsylouiseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Emsylouiseb,

Thank you very much for your great review and we hope that you had a great day out at Wembley and that your team won. The whole team will be delighted with your comments that they made your stay in London and we all hope we can welcome yo back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent location all parts of London easily accessible , drinks and food a bit pricey but excellent quality so worth it.
Cant really say any more other than for a special weekend or break we would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greens35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Greens35,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are delighted that you felt the food and drinks were excellent quality. Thank you for the kind recommendation to other travellers it is really appreciated.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived to the greeting of a friendly and helpful concierge and his staff who helped us in with our bags. The interior was striking, very beautifully decorated and open with easy access to everything. The rooms were perfect, with lovely comfy and spacious beds, bathrooms stretching on with a shower AND bath as well as the room having a wonderful view of the London skyline. The bar was only small but fit enough people into it that came to have a drink, with extremely friendly bar staff who did their utmost to make us feel welcome and relaxed. The breakfasts were organised very well as being such a busy hotel, there is a slight wait before you can be seated but once you get in the selection of food is great with very well cooked English breakfasts on the buffet as well as cold meats, fruit, toast, cereal and the general breakfast foods you get! The room service menu was very extensive and my brother ordered a simple sirloin sandwich which arrived very well presented on a silver tray with everything you would find on a regular dining table! The sandwich itself was delicious, definitely recommend it! The staff on the desks were very helpful and patient with our requests, we were made to feel welcome, cared for and relaxed throughout the whole weekend from everyone in the hotel. I would most certainly recommends The Cavendish to anyone who wants to stay in surety of comfort, relaxation and above all, lovely staff! Thank you for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg2892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear jg2892,

Thank you for your brilliant review and great comments about the team, I know that they will all really appreciate it and delighted that they had such an impact on your stay. Thank you very much for the kind recommendation it is really appreciated.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Location of the hotel is great. Shopping, sightseeing and metro stop are close by. The room was nice (although small as they are in London) and had everything you would need. One minor minus was that the bed is really soft. It depends how you like it but for me the bed was absolutely too soft. However, I would stay in this hotel again. Personnel was noce adn made you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask a room from as high as possible. Better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJLhki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear TJLhki,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions. Beds can be a very personal thing and in some cases guests do find our mattresses a bit soft, but we do have bed boards which are available from housekeeping which will make the bed a bit firmer while still ensuring the same level of comfort.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on two previous occasions and enjoyed the hotel and its location. Our third visit over Easter was a really good experience again.

On all three occasions we have taken a penthouse suite on the 15th floor. This time we had 1508 which has a balcony onto which you have access – having signed the health and safety disclaimer! Nanny state huh!

Based on admittedly the best rooms the hotel has to offer, I thoroughly recommend this hotel for its value, location, staff and accommodation. I can’t vouch for the breakfast as we didn’t take it. Preferring to spend the money in a restaurant rather than hotel. Stands to reason you get better food this way. We ate breakfast at Fortnum & Mason, which is a 60 second walk from the hotel. I’ll be writing a review on the breakfast there as it was superb. Give it a go when next in London.

So if you need a West End hotel and don’t want to spend over £400K but do want great service, location and accommodation – make sure you consider the Cavendish.

Room Tip: Go for the 15th floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear simon l,

Thank you very much for your great review and hope you enjoyed the views from the balcony on the 15th floor. The team will be delighted with your comments about service and the quality of the accommodation and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#85 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing