We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cavendish more than lived up to our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #114 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles ((Westwood), CA
2 reviews
“The Cavendish more than lived up to our expectations”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Cavendish Hotel for 8 nights starting in early May 2014. From the moment we appeared until we left, we were treated as if we were very special guests. The concierge and desk staff were always cheerful and helpful. Early in our stay we called for help on how to use the in-room espresso machine; the person at the desk whom we called arrived in minutes and solved the problem (and the espresso was great). Although the Hotel seemed fully booked, the staff accommodated our request for early occupancy around noon on our arrival day--that was a very welcome gesture after a 10+ hour flight.
We understand that some of the guest rooms are on the small size, ours was reasonably spacious. The twin beds were comfy. The maid service was up to high standards. The bathroom was well equipped and quite functional., The towels and bathrobes were perfect. Our room was directly across from the three elevators (which by the way responded quickly to the call buttons) and we were absolutely unaware of the elevators when in our room. We were on the 5th floor which meant not much of a view although we got a peek of the London Eye. Despite not being on an upper floor we were not aware of street noise.

Our room price included breakfast--wow. The big downside of returning to our home is that we were then deprived of a wonderful bountiful breakfast. You name the food item, it was there well prepared and in abundance--from slices of English salmon to individually prepared egg dishes (including delicious hollandaise sauced eggs Florentine), breads, pastries, fresh orange juice and fresh fruit, hot cakes, English porridge, and on and on.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat, near great restaurants, art galleries, boutique clothing stores, easy walking distance to Piccadilly Circus, the National Gallery and Portrait Gallery,some Mayfair theaters, across the street from Fortnum and Mason, close to Green Park, not far from Buckingham Palace and fairly close to the underground.

A few suggestions:
As with many hotels, the bathroom could have used a little more shelf space for personal toiletries (an easy fix under the sink) and for my wife, better lighting for makeup etc., and how about a night light. When you closed the door from our room to the hall, it shut with somewhat of a bang and it took some effort to avoid that noise (I did not notice that type of noise from other people's doors when we were in our room).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Jerry2010,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are all delighted that you had such a good stay. We truly believe that our team are the ones that make the hotel such a great place to stay and we are lucky to have the team that are so passionate about looking after our guests. Thank you for the great comments about the choice of breakfast, and I know Nitin our Head Chef will be very happy as he has been working on the selection recently to make sure we offer our guests the best option possible.

Thank you very much for your suggestions and feedback, and we will be sure to have a look into additional shelf space. As for the door to your room I will get the team to have a look at it this morning and make sure that it is closing as it should.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,412
    1,156
    238
    67
    29
See reviews for
573
2,031
161
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was looking for a good hotel in a central location in London for my partner's 40th birthday weekend so as to soak up all the sights without having to spend too much time on travelling to each location etc.
We stayed on the 12th floor and had fanastic views overlooking london. The food in the restaurant was very affordable and very tasty. The breakfasts were outstanding.
When going for a drink at the bar, the bar staff were excellent and very friendly and helpful.
We had a perfect weekend and will definitly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_mcginley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear joe_mcginley,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are delighted that you had a perfect weekend to celebrate your partners 40th Birthday. Thank you for the great comments about the bar team, and I will be sure to pass it on to them.

I hope we can welcome yo back for your next celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

There is much to commend the Cavendish - the staff were all very efficient, polite and focused on us as customers, the room was a superior twin (on the small side) and I had asked for a room with a view so we were on the 10th floor, so could see across the rooftops, which was good. The beds were very comfortable - probably amongst the best I have experienced in the UK. The location is so convenient and we walked to most of the places we then went to for bus tours, restaurant, theatre etc, the Ritz for cocktails as a special treat! I felt there was something missing, however can't really put my finger on what it was. The breakfast was superb (and included in the deal) with plenty of choice although I felt the restaurant was a little on the tired side - carpet was clearly well used and not that clean in places - typical of a busy hotel, however in a 4 star, I would expect a better standard. Overall, it was very convenient and it met most of my expectations and was the right location for this particular trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR2baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear MR2baby,

Thank you very much for your great review and kind comments about the team, and I know Praxeda our Executive Housekeeper is delighted that the beds were the best you have experienced. I am sorry to hear that you felt something was missing from our rooms and any feedback is always welcome. We have made a few changes recently to our breakfast and we are delighted that you liked them and thought the whole breakfast was superb.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We really wish that we could keep The Cavendish our very own secret hotel and not let anyone else into our secret. Having stayed in various 4 and 5 star hotels in London over the last 30 years or so, they could all learn a thing or two from the Cavendish and its staff. The attention to guest needs is second to none and makes staying a pleasure. So much so that we have stayed five times in the last two years. Our last stay being in March to celebrate my husbands 70th Birthday.
From arriving and collecting our theatre tickets, to breakfast and a birthday cake and card in the room (this was a total surprise and not ordered by me), the little finishing touches made a memorable weekend even better. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEB00150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear SEB00150,

Thank you very much for your great comments and we are honoured that you feel other 4 and 5 star hotels could learn from our team. We have a great team who are passionate about delivering excellent service and that our guests have a great time in London, and we know that attention to detail is a key part of that. Thank you for making the Cavendish your choice of hotel in London and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future for your next celebration.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Didn't stay, but had a great meal in the restaurant. Food and service were fantastic.

The Cavendish is a bit of a hidden gem, behind Fortnum & Mason's, but well worth visiting. Only a few minutes walk from Green Park tube.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie_Sundowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Bertie_Sundowner,

Thank you for your great review and I know the Food and Beverage team will be delighted with your comments especially as they have just launched their new menu, so the feedback will be greatly appreciated.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future for a meal and perhaps an overnight as well.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex. UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel was excellently located and the porter was very helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy however they were quite small. The TV reception was very bad, and the shower head needed a good clean.

Parking was very expensive. The matress was poor quality. No fridge.

Overall a good stay but one receptionist was quite rude and abrupt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jason B,

Thank you very much for your review and your feedback as well as your comments about the porter who was very helpful. I am however disappointed that you felt it could have been better and it would be really useful if you would be able to let me know what room you stayed in as that way I can have the bed checked immediately to ensure that it is to the standard that we set, My direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com. I can only apologies about one of the receptionists being rude and abrupt and I will be following this up with the team as that is not the culture of the hotel as we pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful.

I look forward to hearing from you and hope that we can welcome you back to show you our true levels of hospitality.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Beautifully renovated hotel located right behind Fortnum & Mason's in St. James. Great location - walking distance to Bond Street, Oxford St, Piccadilly, Soho, West End. Rooms are nicely furnished good size bathrooms, Nespresso machine, a range of teas, and delicious shortbread. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was very nice and came with a choice of freshly made eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc. We stayed twice over a 12 day period, and both stays were great. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby, walking distance to Green Park, Buckingham Palace, and access to two Metro stations. Strongly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilatesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Pilatesboy,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that you had such a good stay at the hotel, especially Nitin our Head Chef who has recently been working on some changes to our breakfast to ensure that we offer our guests the best breakfast possible.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#101 of 1,067 in London
840 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,067 in London
815 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,670 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,137 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing