We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business stop overs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #125 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times,when needing to stay in the West End for business. SO just used the hotel for sleeping and preparation. The hotel is close to everything in the West End, but hidden away well enough to avoid the hustle and bustle. Rooms are generally a good size for London.

I was disappointed as on my last stay, my room was not ready and while waiting in the bar none of the bar staff came over and offered to take a drinks order. Other than this, very happy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Roger T,

Good to hear that you have stayed with us before on several occasions and please accept my apologies that none of the bar staff came to your table. I will follow this up with the team there.
We aim to provide the best possible service at all times and what you have experienced is not good enough.

We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,975 - 1,981 of 4,052 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the cavendish hotel last weekend and we had the best time. It was our anniversary so I emailed the hotel beforehand and asked for a room
With a view of possible as I read that there were great views of London. When we got there we were greeted with vey friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help you. They looked after our bags until we could check in at 3pm.

When we checked in we had a lovely surprise. We we're welcomed by a beautiful room on the 11th floor looking over London. We could see the gerkin. Shard, Big Ben, London eye and much more from window - it was beautiful!

We also had a lovely surprise of rose petals, swan towels, champagne, chocolates, and an anniversary card from the hotel! It was a really kind touch and definitely made our weekend more special.

Breakfast was lovely with a range of fruits, breads, hams and cheeses, full English, pastries, cereals and a menu to choose from on top of that!

The location was fantastic, we barely had to use public transport. And when we did we were only 5 mins walk away from Piccadilly Circus station so it was perfect! We could walk to Oxford street, carnaby street, trafalgar square, Westminster, leiscester square all easily from the hotel.

I would highly recommend the cavendish hotel - staff were very friendly and helpful - room was lovely and really comfy beds!, breakfast was great and it was the perfect location. We had a perfect weekend.

Thanks to all the staff at the cavendish for a lovely weekend :) we'll be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Amy B,

Happy belated anniversary!
We are very pleased that you had such an amazing time and that we were able to ensure that your weekend was that little bit extra special. We continuously work on our breakfast to ensure that we offer one of the best hotel breakfasts in London.
Also very good to hear that we were able to grant your request of a high floor with a view, we get a lot of requests and try to meet all of them.

Thank you and hope to see you back on your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A weekend in London at the Cavendish, new to me but will be returning.
Friendly efficient staff, good breakfast and an executive room large by London standards.
Above all the location is great 2 mins from the mall, 5 mins regent and bond street and 15 mins for theatres. No expensive cabs walk and enjoy central London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear David and Norman,

Thank you for your great feedback.
We are all pleases that you liked the room size and breakfast and that you thought our location was great.
All staff will be pleased at your intention to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed here quite a few times and have been impressed with just about everything. I'm finding the staff to be rather ordinary these days. I have been impressed in the past by their local knowledge and their can do attitude, but this trip and the last one has been less impressive. I can't put my finger on it exactly, but they are not in the same league as in the past. With the prices going up for their rooms and the service deteriorating its time to finds new London home for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aroundth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear ChillyAlbertans,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies if your last 2 stays have not been up to scratch. We are as committed as ever in delivering great customer service and do hope you are willing to give us another go to prove it. We are looking at making some changes to our product to ensure that your stay becomes more comfortable in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A solid choice, but not cheap.
Stayed here dozens of times.

Pros:
Fast check in
Comfortable beds
Well equipped rooms
Central and safe location
Room service is good

Cons
Breakfast is stupidly expensive
Only the most expensive rooms are not silly small
On a busy morning you can wait far to long to get the lift down to reception.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lifts - they can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sparts,

Thanks you for your comments on The Cavendish and how great to hear you have stayed with us many times before. In regards to your cons, Breakfast is cheaper if you book it in advance. We have 5 different room types which indeed differ in size, we are currently working with our lift company to get some if the issues regarding the lift resolved and this should speed up the lifts and overall running of the lifts.
We hope to see you back with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

we came as part of a Chelsea flower show package - 3 nights for the price of two - a good deal!
Great location - really handy. Lovely friendly staff.
Our room was on the 14th floor - amazing views! However, despite being so high up, when the nightclub ("Tramp") closed each morning (4 - 4.30am) we were woken by the noise in the street below - double glazing might have helped?
The room was not very practical - couldn't get close enough to a mirror to shave, and there was nowhere near a mirror to plug a hairdryer in. Also no drawers for clothes.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was lovely - although the toast machine must be the slowest in history.
If the deal was good enough we would consider returning, but have been in quieter hotels with rooms where the room was designed with practical use in mind and would probably choose to go to one of these first.

Room Tip: avoid rooms over the nightclub! but the top floor has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorfolkFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear NorfolkFrankie,

Thank you very much for your review and your feedback, I am delighted that you liked our great location as well as that you found the team to be so friendly and helpful. Regarding the noise that you experienced from Tramps, I will be sure to pick this up with the management as we have a good relationship with them to ensure that these types if incidents do not happen and I can only apologies that your sleep was disturbed. I would be happy to discuss this in more detail if you would like, my direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

service is perfect and the range of free gifts available after you get settled in your room are a great treat. rooms are beautifully decorated and come with all mod cons. super fast wifi also which is easy to connect to. breakfast is great also. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tachyonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear tachyonic,

Thank you for your excellent review and kind recommendation, we are all delighted that you felt the service was perfect and that you really liked the rooms.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,076 in London
1,185 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#95 of 1,076 in London
919 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#135 of 1,076 in London
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#81 of 1,076 in London
845 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#174 of 1,076 in London
1,205 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,076 in London
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £196 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing