We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location location location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cavendish London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #107 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Been here 5/6 times, will not be the last. Must be one of the best locations in central London. And in a relatively quiet position. Most rooms are not the largest you could get, but if you are not bothered about that, it's fine. Staff...very friendly and helpful, which they should be, but as we know not all hotels are! The hotel is not the cheapest, but definitely not the dearest in its class. The breakfast is not cheap, but worth it, excellent choice and good service. The Classic rooms mainly face Fortnum and Masons, the slightly more expensive Superior rooms on each side have great views over London. To sum up, the standards of the hotel are good, the staff are good, the location is good, the breakfast is good.....if you like 'good', stay here.

Room Tip: Superior rooms, high floor for fabulous views over London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Martin U,

Thank you very much for your good review and we are delighted that we are your choice of hotel in London and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's attraction. Nitin our Head Chef and his team will be very happy with your comments about breakfast as they try to source every item as locally as possible to ensure we are offering our guests the best quality produce.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,325
    1,117
    226
    64
    25
See reviews for
552
1,951
152
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in London over the years and the cavendish is going to take some beating! Firstly location location! Beautifully clean bedrooms, Bose dock was a nice touch for charging my iPhone. Breakfast was great and they happily make you toast and eggs to order. They day we left it was hot, in the foyer they had fruit flavoured water available, thought that was a great idea. Hotel bar was lovely, okay more expensive then your average bar but you got nibbles and great service so worth paying extra for.
My only fault would be the noise of bedroom doors closing, plus being on a road just of Piccadilly meant traffic noise, you can ask for a quiet room so might be worth it if your a light sleeper. It certainly wouldn't put me off returning.... In fact this will be the only place I stay in future! Thank you cavendish

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at back of hotel if your a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Kelly78,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that you feel we will take some beating and that we are now your choice of hotel in London. The team are passionate about delivering great service to our guests and have been working hard to ensure we keep improving and I know they will all be very proud of your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Perfect location, close to 2 tube stations (Green Park and Piccadilly). Within walking distance of many attractions, great shopping and restaurants. The staff was fabulous. They were friendly, helpful and accommodating. We had a comfortable king-size bed and the room was large. Included a nespresso coffemaker - a definite plus! I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Robin W,

Thank you very much for your great review and for letting other travellers know about our great location and how close we are to so many of London's sights and sounds. I am delighted to hear how helpful and friendly the team were and well you were looked after during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have been visiting The Cavendish for over 6 years now and have never been disappointed with the standard of excellence that the hotel provides. The staff are friendly and obliging. It's lovely to recognise certain staff members on returning visits and we receive the same warm recognition from them. In my opinion this is the best value hotel in Central London. The style is fresh and contemporary. Rooms are very comfortable and air conditioning is a pleasant addition to the facilities.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for a superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Gemma M,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that we have been your choice in London for 6 years, and that you always have such a great experience. We are very lucky to have the people that we do as they are passionate about looking after our guests and ensuring that they have a great time in London.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is modern and stylish from the entrance to the rooms. Great helpful and friendly staff to help with any requests you need. The location is 10minute walk from Leicester square. This hotel was great value and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluenoseJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear BluenoseJosh,

Thank you very much for your great review and I am delighted that you liked the hotel and that the team took such good care of you. We pride ourselves on offering our guests good value for money in a great location.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and would certainly recommend this hotel.
The hotel is lovely and spotlessly clean. Rooms are large and ours had a great view of London eye. The breakfast at the hotel is very nice with so much choice from cereal, toast, cakes and full English. Would certainly stay at this hotel again as could not fault it at all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayholic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear holidayholic1,

Thank you very much for your great review and I am delighted that you had such a good stay and that you could not fault anything at all.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just arrived back today after celebrating our wedding anniversary. Had a lovely weekend, the hotel is in a brilliant location and we only used the tube when we had to go to Kings Cross.

Our original room was right next to the lift shaft which was slightly irritating so we requested to move rooms. This was done without any fuss and 10 mins later we were in our new room.

Hotel was spotless and staff were all friendly, menus looked lovely although we didn't end up eating here.

Would highly recommend staying here and we will definitely stay here when we return to London.

Room Tip: Request a room that isn't next to the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiddler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Tiddler79,

Thank you very much for your great review and for allowing us to celebrate such a special occasion with you. The team will be delighted with your comments and for your kind recommendation it is really appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#125 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing