We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #125 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed The Cavendish for two nights recently and found the staff very helpful - especially the concierge at night who helped us with several minor problems - loved his British can do attitude! The electrical outlets in the room were a little scarce and a bit odd. But overall a good value and very staisfactory.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear James E,

Thank you very much for your great review about the team and especially Concierge. They are a great team and certainly the ones to know on your visits to London as they do know the hidden gems of the city.

We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,866 - 1,872 of 4,051 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Returned once again for a 2 night weekend break at the Cavendish - not disappointed. The room was fabulous, plenty of space and excellent facilities. All the staff were there normal helpful selves - nothing too much trouble. A hearty breakfast in the restaurant really sets you up for a busy day sight seeing. Will be returning again.

Room Tip: if possible go for an executive room - really good views - we could see the London Eye, The Shard, S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Stuart P,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that we are your choice of hotel in London. Our team are the ones that really make the Cavendish a great place to stay and I know they will all be very motivated by your comments, so thank you very much.

we look forward to welcoming you back

Best regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Travelling for business to London for years, I have stayed in a number of wonderful London hotels. The Cavendish is not only my favorite but a place I consider to be "home" when in London. The rooms are great, the bar is fun and yet quaint, the 2nd floor lobby is a perfect place to unwind in a calm space but lively when you want it to be. All of that is great but...it is the people that keep me going back. The bartender is the best - welcoming and kind. The bellman were always looking out for me on my evening dinners and late nights. I highly recommend this hotel for both business and personal travel.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the courtyard. Always lovely and fun to enjoy the parties they host...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kMoFinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear kMoFinds,

Thank you very much for your great review and that we are your choice of hotel in London and that the team make it feel like home when you stay. Thank you for your comments about our Green initiatives, as we keep looking for ways to improve and save energy so any suggestions from any of our guests is always welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great location, rooms were really beautifully decorated. Complimentary bath robe and slippers. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff were on hand to help. Waited a long time for room service though and it was really pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Tricia A,

Thank you very much for your great review and feedback. I am delighted to hear that you felt the rooms were beautifully decorated and so clean. Praxeda our Executive Housekeeper and her team place a key focus on attention to detail and will be delighted with your comments. Thank you for your feedback regarding Room Service and I am disappointed to hear that you waited so long for your order and will be sure to pick this up with our Food and Beverage team.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Cavendish London and highly recommend this as a great place for any kind of traveler (business/family/couples). This is a first class hotel!! Our room was fantastic, very stylish and comfortable. We were very pleased with the size of our room as well. It had plenty of space and everything we needed. The room was spotless! We could not have asked for more!

The staff was there to address any needs we had. Friendly, helpful and accommodating! They always made you feel important. We especially enjoyed the staff in the lounge! So kind and fun to be around. Plain and simple, this hotel is a cool place!!! Our trip was a combo wedding anniversary and milestone birthday. When we arrived we found cake, chocolates and Champaign waiting for us in our room!!! Thank you Neil! Our room was on the 11th floor and had a wonderful view of London!! Very nice and quiet too!

We also found the location fantastic, great restaurants and shops just steps away as well as access to the London Underground. Just a few minutes walk to Piccadilly Circus and other great sites!

When in London again, we will absolutely be staying at the Cavendish and suggest you do too!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great views of London!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roberts81498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Roberts81498,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that you gave us the opportunity to celebrate your special occasions with you. The team will be very happy with your great comments and that yo found them all so helpful and friendly and made you feel so important. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the lounge team as well.

Thank you for your kind recommendation it is really appreciated and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Spent 6 nights at this perfectly located hotel. Very comfortable room. Would stay here again next time. Very close to tube stations and many eating spots are within walking distance. Staff very helpful when needed.

Room Tip: Choose executive with king size bed and large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Russo2,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted that you had such a good stay and that you really liked our location and how close we are to so many of London's attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

just returned from our 3rd visit to the cavendish. emailed before we went and requested a high floor room. we were returning for our wedding anniversary treat and we were upgraded to a superior room. 1/2 bottle champagne a card and chocolates in the room were yummy.our room was on the 10th floor with great views of the shard, big ben and the london eye. we got a special offer rate on the hotels website for £179 per night including breakfast which was amazing and set you up for the day. we were there for 3 nights and never had to wait for a table for breakfast. the room was quite small but functional. the bathroom was quite large with a bath and an overhead shower. both rooms were clean. we were close to the lift but heard no noises at night. the air conditioning was great but a bit noisy. our friends room on the 12th floor had quiet air conditioning. our rooms were made up around lunch time every day. we only had cocktails in the bar once and we sat in the upstairs lounge which was very quiet. on checkout we were asked for £40 for the car park. i told the receptionist that this wasnt going to be paid as we had no car. ( we flew from Ireland ).she had a good laugh with us about this and was very apologetic. thankyou cavendish for another wonderful stay. we will return

Room Tip: request a high floor room for better views of london
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebeccaEnniskillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear rebeccaEnniskillen,

Thank you very much for your great review and I am delighted that you had such a good stay and once again stayed with us to celebrate such a special occasion. Thank you for your feedback about the air conditioning in your room and it would be really useful if you could let me know what room you were in, and I will be sure to have the maintenance team look at it immediately. My direct email address is neil.braude@thecavendishlondon.com

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion.

Best regards

Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,076 in London
1,185 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#94 of 1,076 in London
918 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#133 of 1,076 in London
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#172 of 1,076 in London
1,203 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,076 in London
1,332 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#81 of 1,076 in London
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £198 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing