We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Best Hotel and Staff on the Planet....hands down!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #121 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Words cannot express how much the Cavendish London provides the Royal Treatment and rolls out the Red Carpet for its guests! My wife and I spent an entire week at the Cavendish London celebrating our 10 year Wedding Anniversary. Months prior to our arrival, Fabricio Torres (one of Cavendish's finest managers) corresponded with us via emails ensuring our arrival would be seamless. From the moment we stepped on the property, Fabricio ensured that happened. Before beginning, let me state that I am a Major Airline Captain and on average stay in hotels 18-20 days a month all over the world. Who better to read a review from about hotels than a true road warrior? Our check-in was extremely fast...mere minutes!!! Fabricio and his staff welcomed us with smiles, personally took our luggage up to our room, and showed us the true meaning of First Class. The room provided to us was on the top floor with Postcard Views of both Big Ben and the London Eye!!! One cannot imagine how beautiful London looked from this room. The room was spacious, extremely clean, and contained a large flat screen television, refreshment bar, and all amenities one would ever need. Not even fifteen minutes into our room entrance, a knock at the door revealed room service. The Cavendish London staff presented us with a handwritten card and a large two layer chocolate cake garnished with shaved and curled chocolate and fresh strawberries congratulating us on our 10 year Anniversary! Wow!!! The Concierge was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful providing maps, restaurant suggestions, and taxi services. Room service was exceptional always ensuring our room was tidied, cleaned, and serviced without fail. If you book with the Cavendish, the add-on Breakfast option is an absolute must! The staff and the food quality and selection is the best on the planet! Every morning, we indulged in gourmet food which included fresh fruit (oranges, pineapple, grapes, melons, etc), bacon, sausages, fine cheeses, bagels, toast, cereals, steamed tomatoes, eggs, grilled mushrooms, coffee, milk, juices, and on and on! What a way to start the day! They also provided a cook to order menu which was out of this world....all included in the breakfast package!!! Do not miss this opportunity to start your day here! We enjoyed the morning papers eating breakfast here with even more beautiful views of the London landscape! The servers and restaurant staff are rivaled by none! Under the lead of Moses (manager), his staff provided countless smiles, warm kind service, and tended to us every minute. Fresh coffee, endless attention, and royal treatment must their motto. Out of five stars, they deserve 6 stars. The hotel has three elevators which are extremely fast for service. I don't think we ever waited more than 30 seconds....and we used them a lot during our seven day stay! The hotel is extremely convenient for access to the London Underground (Tube....subway) at two stations...Piccadilly and Green Park. You are only minutes away from the London Theater district, Hamley's 6 story Toy Store, and Buckingham Palace. Prior to leaving for the United States, we had our last breakfast the day before in the restaurant. While leaving, Amanda (one the staff leads) asked if we would return in the morning for breakfast. I explained that our cab to the airport would leave at 0530 am thus we would miss their opening at 0630. Without hesitation, she placed an order for fresh muffins (chocolate and blueberry), toast, marmalade, honey, butter, coffee, and orange juice be delivered to our room at 0445 am just after receiving our wake up call. Now that is top notch service!!! Prior to leaving, my wife and I ventured out to get thank you cards for the staff....for they truly deserved the recognition I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the absolute best in price, location, service, and memories!!! I would travel to London again just to have this royal treatment! No detail was left unattended! When you read reviews, keep in mind those who travel for a living and those who travel infrequently! My acommodations all over the world are in fine hotels and I have never seen service like this! They are out of this world. You will not be disappointed! It was like visiting a day spa....but for an entire week!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetstreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,020)
There are newer reviews for The Cavendish London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,198 - 3,204 of 4,020 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Cavendish for 10 days while celebrating our anniversary with our first trip to London. Our trip started with a wonderful cake and card from the staff delivered to our room! We stayed on the 12th floor in a Superior room, the size was just fine and we had a great view of both the London Eye and Big Ben. The bed was so comfortable and very welcome after a long day of walking everywhere! The bathroom was small but nice, and the shower was fantastic. The hotel was clean and the staff bent over backwards to assist with any request, particularly the guys at the concierge desk. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was good and plentiful. The lobby bar is also convenient for drinks and snacks. The location of The Cavendish was perfect - one street off Piccadilly but on a quiet block, right between 2 tube stops. (Piccadilly and Green Park) The next time we return to London (not if but when!) we'll definitely stay at The Cavendish - they made our special trip even more perfect!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

excellent hotel in a convenient location. Been here a few times and it is always a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgowgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I booked this hotel on recomendation for our 2nd wedding anniversary. Intially it was a surprise for my husband, but he found the hotel confirmation and telephoned to arrange flowers and champagne on arrival!! these arrived within 1/2 hour and were a wonderful surpirse and well presented. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble, our room wasn;t ready which initally was worrying, but we were made to feel welcome and given a drink at the bar , we did'nt wait long. Our room was on the 11th floor ( superior) and the veiws across London were second to none, the London Eye at night was fab, the high floor was a request which, I understand if can be accomodated the hotel will try, I would recomend asking. Our room was a good size and had a desk, tub chair and small table. I cannot comment on the standard rooms as did not see these. As noted before , the beds were sooo.. comfortable and the bathroom small , but first class. On the first night we had the pre-theatre meal which was good value at £15.00 per person . If you can take the breakfast option, it is definately worth it, the choice will not leave anyone hungry! The downstairs bar is small but very comfortable and the bar staff are very freindly. I am quite fussy and have been know to poo poo hotels in the past as being unfrendly and stuffy. I have stayed in higher class hotels but this hotel takes some beating for its classy , yet freindly service, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxyExeter_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This was our eighth stay here, as we use this hotel whenever we come down to London to see a show. I must confess to us having a great degree of fondness for the Cavendish.

The reception staff are invariably polite and friendly, the concierge is brilliant, the contemporary decor and cleanliness are faultless and it has all the amenities that you'd expect from a hotel of this standard. Our standard room was a little on the small side but the views from the twelfth floor (we were in room 1204) were great, and the bathroom was lovely.

If you're staying at the Cavendish, don't pick a room on a low floor (no view) or next to the lift, because this can be a little noisy, I'm told, and not conducive to a good night's sleep if you're a light sleeper.

There used to be an issue with breakfast service at weekends as most guests would pitch up for breakfast at the same time and waiting for a table could be a long and drawn out process. They've addressed this issue by extending breakfast service up until 11.00am which seems to have solved the problem and eased the pressure on staff. Breakfast is excellent, with all the usual fare you'd expect from a hotel of this calibre.

We paid £190 for the night, bed and breakfast. I felt this was about par for the course for a London hotel and it was (as always) money well spent.

Plus points: great location. Jermyn Street is a haven of tranquility (by London standards, anyway). Nonetheless, Regent Street, Piccadilly Circus, Haymarket, Soho, China Town, Covent Garden and Oxford Street are all within easy walking distance, so once you've arrived, shopping and seeing most shows is easy. The concierge is excellent and the staff are friendly. It's a very relaxed place to stay. The beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in in an hotel - bar none! They're great!

Drawbacks: some rooms are a bit small (but still quite adequate) and some rooms have showers only so if you prefer a bath, then you need to specify this. Early check in can be an issue - we had to wait until quite late before we could use our room, though it didn't worry us unduly as we went shopping. They have no loyalty scheme for repeat guests which is a shame, seeing as we use the Cavendish so frequently. Breakfast service is pretty good but sometimes catching the waitress's eye can be a pain. Free internet is available for guests in the lobby but using Wi-Fi in the rooms isn't cheap.

On the whole, a great little hotel. The drawbacks are pretty minor and the overall experience is excellent. Well done, Cavendish!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

In the center of high-class british shopping in Jermyn street: 5 minutes to Picadilly Circus. 5 minutes to Bond Street. Just at the back of Fortnum & Mason and Dunhill.
Hotel itself is newly renovated. Room - I had a "classic room" extremely small. Cannot imagine to stay with a companion. Space for cloth extremely limited- never adequate for 2 people. Excellent TV screen.
Minimalist decor with limited taste. Bathroom extremely small.
For 1 person ok as luggage can be placed at the floor where the other person would step out of her side of the bed- but otherwise??
Quiet location after closure of shops at 6 PM.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special, not bad, not good.
They try to bill from all possible sources: Internet fee 15 pounds a day; each hour after check-out : 10 pounds and so on.
As a summary: for a single guest because of location ok, not for couples. Try out elsewhere - and that is not easy in central London.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Wonderful 3 night stay. The staff is very attentive and helpful, with every little detail! The room (Superior Twin) is on the small side, with not much storage, but the beds are very comfortable. Get the rate with breakfast included, it is very good. The location of the hotel is the best thing. It's an easy wallk to almost all the major attractions. We only used the "Underground" one time, to go to The Tower of London. I've stayed in 3 other locations in London and this is the best one. When I return to London , The Cavendish will always be my choice hotel from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvs2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,072 in London
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,868 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,072 in London
838 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,072 in London
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £217 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing