We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #114 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class from start to finish”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

From arrival to leaving, our 4 night stay in the Cavendish was superb. Every staff member was polite, helpful and eager to help in any way.
Excellent breakfast. Choice, surroundings and service perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oosterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,411
    1,154
    238
    67
    29
See reviews for
573
2,028
161
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

a friendly atmosphere, really helpfull staff and a warm welcome. the breakfasts were once again well up to standard.this was our second stay and it wont be our last.we upgraded to a larger room and it was well worth the small amount added to the bill at the end of our stay as the view from our room on a high floor was over the capital and along the thames. we both would highly recommend this hotel for its location and the efficient and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebaileys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Have just returned from an enjoyable weeked stay at the Cavendish. Firstly the rooms are clean and well furnished, we stayed in a superior room which was fairly well sized for a deluxe hotel in central London. Bathrooms are very nicely laid out and furnished. Check-in was good and efficient, staff helpful and atentive and concierge services are excellent. They managed to get us tickets to see a theatre show, which several internet companies has said was sold out, in fact we got the best seats in the house. Wicked is a must see show if you want entertainment. There are lots of good restaurants and pubs within easy reach of hotel as well as thearreland which is 10 minutes walk.
Would recommend hotel and plan return in near future. Will probably upgrade to executive room next time to give more space, but rooms are only used for a few hours per day as there is so much to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

we have stayed here several times, staying in the superior rooms/suite and penthouse. all have been outstanding, the staff from time of checkin can never do enough to help. if the room is ready even at 11am you can use. the main benefit for us is the secure parking which is a must for us. great location for everything, especially the west end shows and shopping of course.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankSandwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

There are many things about the Cavendish which just make it a great place to stay. I travel to London most weeks and whenever possible stay at the Cavendish.

It's a great location - minutes from Picadilly on foot and in the heart of the West End. Hard to beat. You can walk everywhere you want really.

Secondly, the staff are probably the most professional I have come across in London. They are pleasant, efficient and will genuinely go out of their way to ensure you have a great experience.

If you get a good rate this hotel is surely one of the best value hotels in London. Our company has a corporate rate which comes to under £200 including breakfast - almost impossible to beat. They also have a VIP scheme for regular guests which is a really nice touch and definitely drives loyalty.

The smallest of the rooms is definitely cosey, and that would be the only grumble but they are well equipped and the beds very comfortable..

And finally, the lifts are the fastest in London! It is a little thing but definitely makes a difference.

All in all a great place to stay for location, service, quality and value. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We came across a rare opportunity where Orbitz offered a much better package than direct booking from the hotel itself. Breakfast was included, which, for central London would have exceed $25 per person at most other hotels. The room was very nice, well appointed with indirect views of Parliament and Big Ben. Location could not have been better, in St. James, within easy walking distance of Picadilly Circus and the Theatre District. Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Words cannot express how much the Cavendish London provides the Royal Treatment and rolls out the Red Carpet for its guests! My wife and I spent an entire week at the Cavendish London celebrating our 10 year Wedding Anniversary. Months prior to our arrival, Fabricio Torres (one of Cavendish's finest managers) corresponded with us via emails ensuring our arrival would be seamless. From the moment we stepped on the property, Fabricio ensured that happened. Before beginning, let me state that I am a Major Airline Captain and on average stay in hotels 18-20 days a month all over the world. Who better to read a review from about hotels than a true road warrior? Our check-in was extremely fast...mere minutes!!! Fabricio and his staff welcomed us with smiles, personally took our luggage up to our room, and showed us the true meaning of First Class. The room provided to us was on the top floor with Postcard Views of both Big Ben and the London Eye!!! One cannot imagine how beautiful London looked from this room. The room was spacious, extremely clean, and contained a large flat screen television, refreshment bar, and all amenities one would ever need. Not even fifteen minutes into our room entrance, a knock at the door revealed room service. The Cavendish London staff presented us with a handwritten card and a large two layer chocolate cake garnished with shaved and curled chocolate and fresh strawberries congratulating us on our 10 year Anniversary! Wow!!! The Concierge was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful providing maps, restaurant suggestions, and taxi services. Room service was exceptional always ensuring our room was tidied, cleaned, and serviced without fail. If you book with the Cavendish, the add-on Breakfast option is an absolute must! The staff and the food quality and selection is the best on the planet! Every morning, we indulged in gourmet food which included fresh fruit (oranges, pineapple, grapes, melons, etc), bacon, sausages, fine cheeses, bagels, toast, cereals, steamed tomatoes, eggs, grilled mushrooms, coffee, milk, juices, and on and on! What a way to start the day! They also provided a cook to order menu which was out of this world....all included in the breakfast package!!! Do not miss this opportunity to start your day here! We enjoyed the morning papers eating breakfast here with even more beautiful views of the London landscape! The servers and restaurant staff are rivaled by none! Under the lead of Moses (manager), his staff provided countless smiles, warm kind service, and tended to us every minute. Fresh coffee, endless attention, and royal treatment must their motto. Out of five stars, they deserve 6 stars. The hotel has three elevators which are extremely fast for service. I don't think we ever waited more than 30 seconds....and we used them a lot during our seven day stay! The hotel is extremely convenient for access to the London Underground (Tube....subway) at two stations...Piccadilly and Green Park. You are only minutes away from the London Theater district, Hamley's 6 story Toy Store, and Buckingham Palace. Prior to leaving for the United States, we had our last breakfast the day before in the restaurant. While leaving, Amanda (one the staff leads) asked if we would return in the morning for breakfast. I explained that our cab to the airport would leave at 0530 am thus we would miss their opening at 0630. Without hesitation, she placed an order for fresh muffins (chocolate and blueberry), toast, marmalade, honey, butter, coffee, and orange juice be delivered to our room at 0445 am just after receiving our wake up call. Now that is top notch service!!! Prior to leaving, my wife and I ventured out to get thank you cards for the staff....for they truly deserved the recognition I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the absolute best in price, location, service, and memories!!! I would travel to London again just to have this royal treatment! No detail was left unattended! When you read reviews, keep in mind those who travel for a living and those who travel infrequently! My acommodations all over the world are in fine hotels and I have never seen service like this! They are out of this world. You will not be disappointed! It was like visiting a day spa....but for an entire week!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetstreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,067 in London
836 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#89 of 1,067 in London
815 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#131 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,132 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,657 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,067 in London
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing