We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet central location worth staying at” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cavendish London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #106 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Barstow, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Quiet central location worth staying at”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

We searched different properties for months before deciding on booking here. With the exchange rate, this was probably the most we've spent on a hotel. This was my first time to London and not knowing if I was going to make it back anytime soon, I felt the need to splurge, especially to adjust to a different time zone.

I booked us one of the penthouse suites. It was spacious, comfortable, and inviting. Take a look at the pictures. There were a few things that I felt were questionable in regards to the room. One would think that if you are staying in one of the penthouses, the WiFi would be complimentary, but it wasn't. When I pulled out the sofa bed there were no linens. When I called housekeeping, I was told it was an additional 40 pounds for linens. What? One would believe that if there's a sofa bed included with the room, the linen would be included as well. So I went down to the front desk, explained my situation, and luckily I e-mailed back and forth with one of the sales reps. The manager at the time, Toby I believe, waived the added fee, which I appreciated. When housekeeping came up, they even wanted to make up the sofa, but we declined. We're really laid back, so it was no big deal to do it myself.

There was a nice balcony but the doors were locked so you couldn't use it, which was a shame. There was no door between the bedroom and lounge area. My partner felt the carpet was a little worn and soiled in a few areas. And the last thing was that the shower stall leaked water at times. These are all really minor things, but with the price you're paying, you'd expect everything to be pretty close to perfect.

Those issues aside, the place was very quiet since you need to go up a flight of stairs to the penthouse section. I only heard the other guests when they left in the morning. At any time of the day, if you laid down on the bed, you were sucked into slumber. It was that comfortable. The front desk and concierge staff are friendly and very helpful. Checking in and out was easy. We didn't go to the bar or restaurant because there was too much to explore. I loved Caffe Nero about a block away. Much better than Starsucks.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. I would consider coming back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heuster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
Thank you for writing on Tripadvisor and may I say that you were right to splurge! Often customers will make the mistake of staying further afield for slightly less and the related travel costs can certainly add up! I am delighted that Toby was able to demonstrate great service recovery and organise your sofa bed linen for you. Thank you for mentioning the couple of maintenance points that we will address immediately and for your positive comments about your sleep quality and the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,323
    1,116
    225
    63
    25
See reviews for
551
1,948
152
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed for only one night to enjoy the city as part of a business trip.
The location was outstanding and so was my all staying.
Room was great and the service was always with a smile.
The only downside was the price and my room's floor (3rd of 14).
I was searching a lot in here for an hotel and this one stood up in aspect of price-location-reviews.
I certainly recommend and undoubtedly will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H7H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
I am sorry that you could not stay any longer! We pride ourselves on our customer service and won a Visit London Award last year for it, so it makes me proud to read your comments. Please do contact us with regards to your floor preference so that we may update your profile and ensure that you are allocated as you would wish on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 537 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Our train arrived at London Euston, where we bought Oyster cards and after a short tube journey to Green Park we just had a short walk to the hotel which has 2 entrances - one for pedestrians only on Jermyn Street and the other on Duke street St James has a drop off zone for taxis.
We were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist and were checked in quickly even though it was only 1pm. Our room on the 8th floor was clean and had a huge comfortable bed, large flat screen tv, tea/coffee making tray, hairdryer, in room safe, iron and board and an umbrella. The bathroom was very modern and clean with a range of toiletries. The over bath shower was a little awkward to get on shower mode until you got used to it! We had no problems with any noise during the nights we stayed here.
Breakfast was served from 7-12 Sat/Sun and 0630-1030 Mon-Fri and was well organised as you got shown to a table and served with tea/toast and anything from the menu. There was also a great selection on the buffet - fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, smoked salmon, juices, cereal, pastries and a lovely hot food selection. I tried the haddock with poached eggs and hollandaise sauce from the menu one morning which was delicious. We found that after eating such a substantial breakfast around 9am we weren't hungry until around 5pm which worked out great as we were going to shows in the evenings and could hike around London all day with just drinks to keep us going. There is a Tesco at the end of Jermyn Street which is handy for cold drinks and water.
Due to the great central location we walked a lot and although we had an Oyster card with £10 on we only used £7.20 over 3 days so got a refund at Euston underground on the way home.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel or drink in the bar as we were so busy sightseeing and going out!
On our last day we weren't getting a train from Euston until 1930 but it was no problem to leave our bags with the Concierge for the day.
We found all the staff in the hotel were very pleasant and helpful and treated all guests with great respect. We felt very welcome and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maisymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
We do our best to allow guests access to bedrooms prior to the advertised arrival time and clearly this created a good first impression for you upon arrival. Thank you so much for your positive comments about our breakfast. Arguably, it is the most important meal of the day and the kitchen team work hard to source the best sustainable produce and a wide range of choice for the menu - we regularly find our guests making it through to dinner after our wholesome breakfast! Hopefully you will try Petrichor for lunch or dinner next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

At The Cavendish i was most impressed by the excellent breakfast, possibly the best I have ever had. Remember to check the list at breakfast, the Eggs benedict was wonderful and the staff seemed to accommodate even challenging requests by others.

Location was as good as you can get in London. A walking distance from Piccadilly / Regent St. / Soho. You can easily get here from Heathrow by Tube.

Rooms were small but sufficient.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarvold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
Thank you for your positive comments particularly surrounding our breakfast. We actually won a breakfast award from Visit Britain this year and firmly believe that guests should be able to choose anything they like with no hidden extra charges! We will also be upgrading the buffet itself later this month, so you will have to return and see the improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We had been in London for a week staying at the Montague on the Gardens, which was a quaint hotel near the British Museum, travelled to Paris for a few days and came back and stayed at the Cavendish. We had King Executive rooms which were very nice. We had a queen bed though but had a smaller room with a pull out sofa for our son. They had a nice bag of goodies for our son, complimentary milk and cookies, and a kid size robe.
The location is great! Just a block off of Picadilly and lots of great shops. Actually it is right next door to an amazing store, 5 stories of assorted foods,etc.
The breakfast was nice, eggs, meats, pastsries, etc. It has a modern feel, nice lighting and decor. I would stay here again!! I would have enjoyed free WiFi though, but we had 2 tvs with lots of channels to entertain our son.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasKatdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

From arrival to leaving, our 4 night stay in the Cavendish was superb. Every staff member was polite, helpful and eager to help in any way.
Excellent breakfast. Choice, surroundings and service perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superloob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

a friendly atmosphere, really helpfull staff and a warm welcome. the breakfasts were once again well up to standard.this was our second stay and it wont be our last.we upgraded to a larger room and it was well worth the small amount added to the bill at the end of our stay as the view from our room on a high floor was over the capital and along the thames. we both would highly recommend this hotel for its location and the efficient and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebaileys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#124 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#82 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing