We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #119 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Encinitas, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The hotel location is the best thing it has going for it. You can easily walk to lots of great shopping and Chinatown, but the hotel seems to play off the image that it is nicer than it is. The price was pretty steep for a really small room. We had a nice view since we were on the 12th floor, but only if you went behind the desk and looked out the window. Internet was extremely pricey, as were in-room movie rentals. The minibar was also ridiculous, but I was desperate for a drink so paid the 3 pounds for a water. We felt pressured to book a reservation at their restaurant when we already had reservations elsewhere, but did have a couple really expensive drinks at the lounge one night. All in all, for the money I don't think it was worth it. I'd choose another hotel next time around for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Thank you for your nice comments about the location of the hotel. With regards to prices, we regularly audit our pricing structure in comparisson with the local hotel market and indeed in August we reviewed 7 of our competitors to ensure that we were offering a competitive deal. I can assure you that in most cases we were either the same as or less than the competition in terms of internal products and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,426
    1,169
    251
    66
    30
See reviews for
576
2,050
165
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

In comparison with other London hotels in this price class I must underline three main elements: The feeling of updated technology combined with a relaxing athmosphere, the helpfulness and friendliness of all members of the staff and the quality breakfast.

We shall return!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Two words that describe everything that we aim to deliver - dream hotel! Thank you so much. We constantly watch the market place to ensure that we are up to date with technological advances and service initiatives and I am delighted that we have been able to deliver such a memorable experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

My partner and I spent 6 wonderful days in the London area and this hotel was an ideal base for all of our adventures. The room was of good size and had all of the modern features that one would expect for the hotel rates. They serve a nice hearty breakfast every day that was included with our price. This will be the location we will return to with each UK visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Thank you for writing such nice comments about the hotel. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, to give you another excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Seven of us stayed at this hotel for four nights in late August of 2010. The hotel was everything we could hope for, perfect location for walking to almost everything we wanted to see and very nice rooms priced well. Most of all it was the people working there that make the stay so special. Everyone went out of there way to help us. Most of all, Richard on the concierge desk was as good as it gets. His informational help and cheerfull spirit really helps make the Cavendish a very special hotel. Pat Holland

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank patnoload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Richard will very much appreciate your comments about the service that you received as he works extremely hard to assist guests in planning their time in London. I shall ensure that Richard is made aware of your excellent comments. Thank you ever so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel and have to say this hotel has everything right.The staff are all excellent ,friendly ,helpful and polite.The rooms are kept beautifully clean and have all the facilities you could possibly need.The meals are wonderful we would definately recommend the pretheatre meal option for its value and quality .It is the second time we have stayed at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.We hope to be able to return again as soon as we can.Thankyou to the cavendish.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Thank you for your kind words about your stay and in particular our staff. One of our touchpoints, that make up our customer promise, is that "our people are friendly, knowledgeable, professional and always willing to help" - I was delighted to see that you found them to be exactly this way. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We were at a nightmare of a hotel when I went walking to find somewhere else to stay. This was a crown jewel with a great location and close to two tube stations. We bought the breakfast option upon checking in. The food was great. The staff were wonderful. The rooms are a little small, but beautiful. We spent very little time in the our rooms so that was not a problem. Oh, and the staff are helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you found us! It sounds as if you were not having a great time beforehand. Thank you ever so much for the great comments about the food and the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Lovely hotel in a quiet side street full of beautiful boutique shops and opposite Fortnum and Masons. Green Park or Piccadilly tube stations are only a short walk away.
We stayed in a Superior Twin Room which was absolutely spotless and had everything that you could need.
Every member of staff was pleasant, helpful and cheerful.
The breakfast was amazing and set us up for the day. We also had a few bar snacks in the Lounge area on the first floor which were gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelAPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
What a great statement to start off your review - thank you so much. Hopefully one day, it will be the only hotel in the World that you would stay in! Thank you for the comments about the level of housekeeping and our team have broken all previous records this month with near perfect bedroom and bathroom cleanliness scores in our in room guest satisfaction surveys. The lounge is becoming more and more popular and I hope that you return to enjoy the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,068 in London
854 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#99 of 1,068 in London
823 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,068 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,720 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Property: The Cavendish London
Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing