We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another Cavendish rave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cavendish London
Ranked #124 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 October 2010

If you're waiting for someone to buck the trend of rave reviews for this gem of a hotel, keep waiting. Our recent 11-night stay was magnificent. I'll echo the other reviewers in that, unless you have a reason to be in another part of town, you'll be hard-pressed to find a better location. We walked virtually everywhere in London. I advise taking the breakfast option when you book. It's a marvelous breakfast and the service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinCitySlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

I was concerned at first when I read your title that you may have organised a party at the hotel that I was unaware of!! Thank you so much for some great comments and I am pleased that the trend was not bucked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,223 - 3,229 of 4,094 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

I've stayed at The Cavendish at least 4 or 5 times on business, including the entire month of February 2010. Most recently I stayed 5 nights in late September. Despite all the times I've stayed here I somehow never managed to write a review! Well, I'll make it short and sweet: this is hands down my favorite hotel in London. The location is fantastic - it's on a quiet street just off Picadilly, the staff is very helpful and more willing to accommodate room change requests, upgrade requests, etc. And the breakfast is fantastic. It's a perfect base for a sight-seeing trip or a business trip if your business is in Mayfair or other parts of central London. I've already got reservations made for a couple nights over the x-mas holidays en route to Italy! I staying at The Cavendish will be almost like home away from home.

P.S. the pub just next door (Chequers) is a great place to have a pint or glass of wine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

It is an honour to be classed as your favourite hotel in London and thank you for taking the time to write a review after so many stays at the hotel. Chequers is indeed a great pub and is always packed full of people wanting to get a real ale or glass of wine in a traditional environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Fantastic location behind Fortnum & Masons only a 2 minute walk to Eros. Very welcoming staff at Reception and Concierge particularly helpful. Restaurant staff coped exceptionally well with a full hotel all coming down to breakfast at the same time! Rooms comfortable and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Our location is indeed right in the centre of all of the tourist attractions of London and this clearly aided your sightseeing and event planning whilst you were at the hotel. Thank you so much for the positive comments about the staff - it can be difficult to cater for all guests coming down to breakfast at the same time and it is great to hear that you were well looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I loved this hotel!! Very close to Piccadilly Circus, public transportation, and many London attractions, bars, & restaurants!! The rooms were very nice & the concierge was extremely helpful...he made some great dinner recommendations. Also, our room rate included a full breakfast...anything that you wanted off the menu. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank traveler10095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Some great comments and I am delighted that you loved the hotel. Thank you for the excellent comments about the concierge and the breakfast - we very much believe in transparent pricing and avoid the nasty little extras that can sometimes appear in hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is our 4th stay at this hotel just off Piccadilly and it seems to get better and better.

Apart from a minor hiccup with our bookings we got into the room of our choice ( the higher up the better the view ( above 8th Floor )) had a great Executive room with views towards the London Eye and Westminster. Decor and furnishings were very good with a huge 7ft bed. Staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfasts were very good ( don't worry about being on a diet , you can always lose the lbs by getting in some extra shopping at Fortnum & Masons which is just across the road from the hotel. We have already arranged to go back in the spring of 2011

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinatrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

It is very pleasing to read that you feel that the hotel is getting better and better each time you visit and that you enjoyed the large bed. I am delighted to hear that you have already booked to come back in Spring 2011 and we very much look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We've stayed in London for 6 nights for mixed leisure/business purpose. Location is simple wonderful, right opposite is my favourite Fortnum&Maison, chaotic Picadilly is just few steps away, but Jermyn street is tucked and quite. Asked for high floor room and for room upgrade, reception staff was willing to help, specially Lucy.

Breakfast is wonderfull, tables have wonderfull street view. Restaurant staff were so nice to prepare for us sandwiches to bring along, since our Belgrade flight was very early.

We will come back! Home away from home

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Thank you for the lovely comments and particularly for personally recognising Lucy as being especially helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Very enjoyable stay - the room was first-rate - very comfortable beds and squeaky clean throughout. The location can't be bettered - straight across the road to Fortnum and Mason for afternoon tea and just round the corner for theatres and restaurants, and the cocktail bar still open when we got back in late, from the theatre. Really can't find anything negative to say - will stay here every time I am in London. Staff were in every way as good as every other aspect of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranLondon, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Thank you for such positive comments about your recent stay and I am glad that you were able to make use of the late bar after your visit to the theatre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#60 of 1,078 in London
3,387 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,078 in London
3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#115 of 1,078 in London
1,887 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#55 Family Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £168 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing