We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with a sweet atmosphere”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #126 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with a sweet atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel was a wonderful little part of heaven. We loved the room, the area where it was located (.5 miles from Buckingham Palace), the convenience to the tube, the breakfast, and the front desk/porters/bell hops were spectacular, always willing to help! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyGB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    249
    121
    41
    18
See reviews for
238
584
73
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We came here with friends in March 2012 who raved about their martinis and James Bond references - apparently this is where Ian Fleming found his inspiration for "Shaken, not Stirred" and he was a frequent visitor here. We had to wait a few minutes for a table in the bar area (it was a Friday night) but it was worth it. We were shown to a cozy round table in the back of the bar - the atmosphere was delightful and felt very antique-y. We all had martinis; if you order it James Bond style they bring it out on a cart with different types of liquor, shake it in front of you and add a delightful little orange peel. It is a great experience and the drinks are fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleH736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Dukes is little bit like my second home. I stay there two or three times a month. I like it because it is small and very welcoming. I always have a smile of "welcome back". The rooms are not big but efficient and very British as we could expect. The gym is fantastic. you have a steam bath. Perfect to end a busy day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

In London for a tough round of meetings and wanted to treat myself for a good week's work. Heard that the Dukes had the best martini in town - and that couldn't have been more true. But what made it memorable was the staff, the location and the ambiance - everything was right on the mark. It felt like a private club where every person was treated as if they were the only customer. A highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tymmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Booked as corporate (travel agent guarantees), worked and travelled the whole day long. Arrived at the hotel tired from work + small plane noise and welcome is..."Credit Card, please", "you wish to pay Pounds or initial currency", "price does not includes 20% taxes".... is it that a 5 stars hotel ? They are really lucky to be amazingly well situated as I am not impressed by the small room, high price and this overall priority to pre-register payment.. Have I ever left an hotel without paying ????

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our lovely boutique hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been even though you enjoyed the location.

I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience further with you and hence would be most grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh
iainhaigh@dukeshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Great and very attentive service - e.g. relaxed about late checkout; tiny gym but well equipped; small rooms (welcome to London) but adequate; has real character and feels boutique; food and wines excellent

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaystravelling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed there in a two room suite with my wife May 28 - June 5, 2012. Everything was wonderful: location, personnel, room, food, ambiance, etc. Sort of expensive ($950 per night plus tax), but you get an outstanding quality for every dollar paid. Besides, Alessandro in the lobby bar makes the best martini in the world. Seriously.

Room Tip: Two room suite gives you enough space. Ask for a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#84 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#108 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#110 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing