We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #134 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed at Dukes Hotel over a wedding weekend and had superb treatment. The staff were delightful and made our stay something special along with all the other guests staying. It has an air of elegance which you rarely see these days in Hotels. We would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special and memorable occasion.

Our team at Dukes London are so pleased with your comments and support. Lester Bamford, our Events Co-Ordinator was delighted that your stay was a success and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
There are newer reviews for Dukes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

My sister and I chose Dukes because it has always been a favourite meeting place, the bar and it's staff are a treat - but we had never stayed there. We were planning a Christmas shopping trip and the shops we needed were close by so it seemed a perfect choice. The suite that we booked on arrival wasn't what we expected but the hotel immediately and very kindly moved us to a suite which was a delight, we were thrilled with it. The staff looked after us beautifully, the management were exemplary - we had a very pleasurable stay and were glad that we had chosen Dukes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jugsholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are indeed ideally is situated for all our guests shopping needs and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another superb shopping experience!!!

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Very posh and old fashioned hotel. Will reccomend it for any couple visiting London, or for a weekend in London.
Very centrally located, yet it is very secluded from the busy London roads, and very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiampiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed all our lovely hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I'm in London regularly on business, and have of late been staying at Duke's. Brilliant old school boutique hotel tucked away in St James, around the corner from the Ritz and St James Park. Just walking in the front door takes you back to the days when air travel was the preserve of the wealthy, and people stayed in the same hotel every single visit - before the days of loyalty programs. Plush, luxurious, quiet and calm oasis in the middle of St James, this is definitely right up there on my list. Don't forget to try the martinis at Duke's Bar either!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I had a little hard time finding this hotel but once I did I was very pleased with the peace and quite of the location.

This hotel made an impression on me. The hotel design is classy and very cozy. My room was great and due to the location I had good sleep.

The service was impeccable. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A recent trip to London for a combination of business and pleasure found a colleague and I at the Dukes Hotel. We arrived exhausted and mentally cobwebbed after an overnight fight, only to be quickly ushered into a larger than anticipated room followed shortly after with the arrival of a tea tray. Heaven . . . Consequently, our stay at The Duke's included afternoon tea, breakfast trays in the room, dinner in Thirty Six, along with multiple tea trays and champagne in quiet corners all over the hotel. My colleague and I were made to feel like we were staying at our home away from home. The concierge was able to produce tickets to a sold out performance to Swan Lake at the Royal Opera House, along with dinner at the Crush Room - an experience not to be missed! Each member of the staff anticipated our needs (umbrellas, taxis, yet another tea tray) and discreetly attended to us during a week of heavy business demands interspersed with relaxing joy at being in London. I look forward to sharing the Dukes Hotel with my husband in the near future.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room was charming, quiet and full of light.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhmc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We met friends for a drink here. Wow. What a great bar. They have an excellent selection of gins (try the Botanic) and Alessandro makes a great Vesper cocktail, but he will not serve you more than two.

A fabulous location for a meeting, for either business or pleasure.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Jethrosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,072 in London
839 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,072 in London
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#122 of 1,072 in London
4,020 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £267 - £565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing