We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in the center of London”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #141 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Dukes is a unique hotel secluded in a small square just off St. james Street very close to Piccadilly. Needless to say it is an ideal location for the London traveler and tourist who will be able to walk to amazing shopping, sightseeing and many theatres when pretty much everything is at a walking distance. The hotel itself is charming in an Old World sort of way, small enough that everyone will know your name, but well equipped with a good restaurant, a nice gym with spa services and a thriving bar with some of the best martinis in the city. A very cute feature: a little plush dachshund named Dukesy will wait for you on your bed in your room every day at your return to the hotel and you can take it with you when you leave!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very quiet, the junior suites are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Our team is working hard to ensure everything is as it should be. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were in a one bedroom suite at Dukes from 9/5/13 until 9/10/13 and again from 9/12/13 until 9/15/13. The accomodations were superb. We felt as though we had our own private flat in St. James. We have high stanfards for room service; room cleanliness and front desk service. In every case the staff at Dukes exceeded our expectations. The concierge service was invaluable and the room service staff were personable and perfect in their serving and clearing. We love London and top quality hotels. Our next trip will begin with another stay at Dukes.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are away from the outside cocktail area (cigar smoke was an occasional issue)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you very much. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just returned from the Dukes Hotel in London after spending 12 nights at this fantastic hotel. Front desk personnel were awesome( Divina, Eve, and the reservation manager(can't spell his name)..thank you for making us feel so special. The martinis!!!!!!! Awesome!!!! Special thanks to Alessandro and Antonino for making our Happy Hour very Happy indeed. We had a classic room with a king size bed, small room however, but comfortable and could need a little bit of a re-modeling and the bathroom was big and updated beautifully. All in all this hotel is great and we were truly happy with the service and location. Thank you Dukes, hope to see you again in the very near future!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimiMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. It’s lovely for our team to be recognised as we do invest so much in them to create and deliver memorable experiences. I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We pre-booked a stay at Duke's as a treat for our wedding night, having already become firm fans of their martinis some years ago. The lady I spoke to was really helpful and personable, without being overly chatty. When we arrived in the evening after our wedding reception, we found ourselves placed in a gorgeous suite bigger than our whole flat! We had to head out again shortly after, although I really didn't want to because it was so gorgeous. When we got back after 1.30am the front desk were great and we were able to order some food as I hadn't eaten all day. It did take a little while, but to be honest the fact we were even able to order some lovely food at that time of day was fantastic.

Sadly we had to leave by about 10 that morning, as I would have adored to stay until the very last minute enjoying the peace and quiet and comfort of the hotel. It is not the kind of place we would normally be able to afford, but I already want to book us in again for our first anniversary!

Thank you to Duke's for making us feel truly special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for such a lovely post. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special and memorable time with us. Our team here at Dukes London is so pleased with your comments. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely stay here although it could have been poor based solely on the room. Our room was small but..... The service we received overshadowed this greatly. From reception, to the housekeeper, to the most amazing cocktails!!!!! The staff do you proud and that is why we would return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austriancrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely for our team to be recognised as we do invest so much in them to create and deliver memorable experiences. I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Dukes Hotel in St james,London. I was pleasantly surprised at the very helpful front office staff members. The rooms were however small and not quite what I would classify as a 5 star hotel. The housekeeping staff werent as great as front office,often waiting outside the room tapping their feet waiting for us to leave! I had to ask for milk on a few occasions which I was told would be automatically supplied in my fridge daily. The best part however was the shower....quite possibly the best and strongest shower I have ever had in a hotel....I would go back even if it was for that reason alone! The worst was the very lumpy mattresses.....those need to be changed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our Lovely boutique hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities provided to all our guests. I was additionally pleased to hear that our Front of House Team looked after you and made your stay special..

In regards to the amenities in the room they are refreshed regularly throughout the day and if you do require more then we are always willing to provide them. In reference to your comments regarding the mattress, housekeeping have inspected this and we did not see any issue with the mattress as it was only approx one year old, as we do have a replacement programme for them in place , your comments have been noted and the mattress turned, we have a large variety of rooms to choose from classic rooms with a traditional feel to newly contemporary deluxe suites should you require a larger room next time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the nearby future

Sincerely
Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It is rare to find a great Bar in London like the one at the Dukes Hotel.
It is also rare nowadays to find such professional and knowledgeable Head Barman like Alessandro and his staff in one of the best Hotel in St. James.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at DUKES LONDON. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your time at DUKES Bar and that you loved the Martinis of Alessandro Palazzi and his team! Alessandro's expertise is renowned worldwide and he has a real passion for creating always new, amazing cocktails! We are pleased to know you had a great time.

We hope to see you back again at DUKES LONDON in the near future

Kindest regards

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#82 of 1,077 in London
856 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,077 in London
1,200 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#122 of 1,077 in London
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,346 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,077 in London
4,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#118 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £243 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing