We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dukes Hotel really sparkles!”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #134 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We wanted a special place to stay in London for our 25th wedding anniversary. The Dukes Hotel was a perfect fit. It's a small hotel in the center of London We stayed in a refurbished room on the 5th floor. What really sparkles here is the staff --- they are just superb! They are all bubbling with energy, very friendly, and very helpful; they really put this hotel over the top. Serene experience. Great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. They also have great suites available, which would work really well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momsters_inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Best wishes

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was looking for a welcoming and intimate venue for a special afternoon tea, and I must say that it certainly lived up to expectations. After booking online through afternoontea.co.uk, we were warmly welcomed and taken into the drawing room, which is in fact a series of several comfortable interconnecting rooms, reflecting the age and style of the original building,
We were offered a choice of several afternoon teas,but chose the traditional tea which comprised a selection of sandwiches, as many as one can eat! An interesting choice of teas which were served piping hot and in silver tea pots, again replenished regularly with fresh pots, not hot water!
The cake selection included a selection of pattiserie, two miniature panacotta, fresh and warmed scones, both fruit and plain, with clotted cream and jam, and six small, warm jam doughnuts which were undoubtedly very fresh;all absolutely delicious. Despite being ravenous we weren't able to eat all the cakes, but we made a pretty valient effort.
We enjoyed a long and very leisurely tea and were never made to feel hurried. The service was attentive and efficient throughout,and for all the above reasons, I would definitely recommend Dukes afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc3824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our delicious afternoon tea.
We look forward to welcoming back for another experience such as dinner in our award winning restaurant, Thirty Six by Nigel Mendham followed by a Vesper Martini in our Cocktail Bar.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was quite fazed as to where to hold a small dinner for my 50th birthday, as there are so many options in London. However, the choice was actually very easy once I had been to see Dukes Hotel off St James's. Not only is it in a great location, and quaintly old fashioned, but also all the staff were brilliant. I had a meeting with Lester Bamford, who certainly knew his stuff, and he helped me through the plethora of choices available to me, from wine and menu matching, to table layout, and decorations. We found the perfect formula, and the night could not have been better. Sannat and his boys in the Marlborough Room, looked after us superbly, I can not recommend Dukes highly enough.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for such a lovely post. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special and memorable time with us. Our team here at Dukes London are so pleased with your comments and support.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A cute hotel, tucked away in the a small cul de sac. Perfect location and the staff are extremely friendly. If you're looking to stay in London any time soon and would like a unique, cosy boutique hotel, i would definitely choose the Dukes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in August of this year.
We are all delighted that you loved your time with us and if you returned to London you would only consider another night with us.

With warmest wishes,

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Conveniently located and with a country house ambience this was a wonderful find. One test of good management is how they deal with it when something goes pear-shaped and there were a couple of glitches with heating and the shower, all sorted out most pleasantly and promptly. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts, with a buffet table and an excellent selection of freshly cooked fare were quite special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PBSLDWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank for you taking the time to share your views. I am delighted that you enjoyed every element of your stay from the staff who looked after you, to your room for the night and of course your breakfast.
We all hope to welcome you back at DUKES HOTEL.

Kind Regards

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As far as I'm concerned there is no other place to stay in London. The service and atmosphere are impeccable. The location, at least for me, is perfection. You are in the heart of London, yet in an oasis of sophistication and tranquility. The rooms are on the small side, by American standards, yet well equipped and serviced twice a day. The pillows and linens are first rate. The bar, where Ian Fleming frequented, is worth a visit. Be prepared to spend the equivalent of $30 for a martini that by American standards is on the smaller side, but they are made table side with gin or vodka kept in the freezer, served in a chilled glass accompanied by fresh lemon peel that is truly out of this world. My husband opted for the Vesper martini, what Mr. Fleming was fond of, and ended up with a second. I went with a Mai Tai that tasted like I was in the islands. We will absolutely be back.

Room Tip: If you can try to book at least a superior room, otherwise prepared to be cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillr162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well and we are now becoming your London home.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Your Sincerely

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This quaint boutique hotel is located near Green Park in the Mayfair district. A perfect location, as many touristy sites are within walking distance (and the Underground is close by). We arrived very early in the morning and we only had a wait a couple of hours for our room. Room was as expected-not too small, but not large. Queen size bed, couch, table and chair filled the bedroom, shower/tub combo in the bathroom. There was also a "closet/armoire" in the hallway between the bedroom and bathroom. Nice extras such as robes, slippers. turn down service, heated towel bar in bathroom. Breakfast was included in our package, and was good. My husband loved the eggs benedict.
We had drinks in the bar two of the nights we were there. I have to say they are pricey. It is a nice convenience to be able to grab a drink from your hotel, but I wouldn't have made an effort to go there otherwise.
Overall, we had a very nice experience. Everything was very good. I would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at DUKES LONDON.
We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed our fantastic location and that you loved the hotel and the small touches we give to our guests.
We are delighted to hear that our team looked so carefully after you and that you had a great time!

We look forward to welcoming you back at DUKES LONDON.

Kindest Regards

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#81 of 1,075 in London
845 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,075 in London
1,182 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,075 in London
4,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#124 of 1,075 in London
4,044 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,075 in London
1,444 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £263 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing