We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in all aspects”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #141 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a long stay in the penthouse at Duke's last month. We had very high expectations and Duke's managed to exceed them all! Where to start? From the wonderful service at the front desk, to our lovely room, through to the ultimate in staff training and service at all levels. On arrival, we asked for a number of changes to our room which were cheerfully accommodated immediately by an army of staff, led by manager, Emilie, who all arrived at once, so as not to inconvenience us more than one time.

The concierge, Iain and Majeur, were wonderful. They handled a number of theatre bookings for us prior to our arrival, and were able to meet our needs for specific type of seat and days. They also were invaluable in identifying great places to eat in the area and making reservations-from fine dining to gastropubs. A wealth of up to date information.

We breakfasted at the hotel most days, and the staff in the dining area, starting with Arthur and extending to all, was outstanding. We also dined at 36 and had great food, including the little extras, and terrific service.

Alessandro in the bar, and his staff were wonderful on the two occasions we were lucky enough to go to the world famous "martini bar." Intimate, so make a reservation!

Our housekeeper, daily food service to the room and all the other little details of personal service made it like at stay at Downton Abbey for us!

We hope to make it our London home away from home!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! Also, it’s lovely for our team to be recognised as we do invest so much in them to create and deliver memorable experiences. I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

On our second trip to London in two years, we decided to try this hotel. And it ended up being one of the best choices we made! The rooms are a tad small, but adequate, quite OK actually for London. The bathrooms are nice. The rooms are clean, well maintained, and well appointed. They have a nice little gym, and the Duke's Bar is THE BOMB! Drop in for the famous Vesper Martini, its strong and tasty. Great service by Alesandro and the rest of the crew there.
They also maintain two private rooms that can be used by hotels guests 24 hours a day, the drawing room and the champagne room, great for late nights since we were with a big group who liked to keep things going late at night. The service is top notch all around. And the location is possibly the best location you can have. A stones throw from the heart of Mayfair, easy access to transpo, and walking distance from a myriad of great spots, Green Park, Picadilly, Soho, etc.
There really isn't much more you could ask for in a small boutique hotel. Give it a try!
Room for improvement: the beds could be more comfortable and there aren't a lot of outlets if you have many electronic gadgets to charge each night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stingray1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed in London 4 times in the last month for business and always I choose Dukes as "home away home".
The location is perfect, central and but quite. The rooms are well decorated, confortable and bright.
I never had a breakfast as I am always in hurry in the morning but I like grab a "coffee on the go" in the lobby.
The staff is always polite and all are always smiling at the reception.
Definitely I will go back again on my next visit in London.

Room Tip: I always book a Classic Room, reasonable price and good size considering other hotels in London. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you very much. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We visit London every year. This hotel ranks as one of our favorites. The location is second to none. Easy access to the tube, steps away from Green Park, and a 10 minute walk to the west end theater district. Now as far as the hotel itself....The staff is EXCELLENT. It was amazing how they recognized you as you approached the desk to get your room key. Never once did we have to say our name or room number. How is that for legendary service. There is no way you could single out one person for their excellent service and attitude. Everyone was just wonderful...
The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, quiet, and well laid out. Lots of nice details....
If you stay at this hotel you MUST visit the bar. The martini's are a bit pricey but who cares!!!! The service, presentation and memories are well worth the price!! If you don't visit the bar your stay will be cut in half.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TonyN76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Our team is working hard to ensure everything is as it should be. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Duke's Hotel in St. James in London is a very authentic British hotel situated in London centre. The hotel is located out of the way on a side street on St. James Place and away from the city traffic but within waking distant of Trafalgar, Oxford Street, Pall Mall, and Piccadily. The hotel takes a formal and more subdued tone with muted colors, dark woods, upholstered furniture and an elegant historical ambience. The staff at the front desk and entry are welcoming, friendly and very tuned to the needs of the guest.

My room was spacious by London standards. The room was very clean, quiet, well appointed with crown moulding and a plush carpet, with a formal dark wood writing desk and stuffed chairs that still made room for an ample, comfortable and firm bed accompanied by half a dozen pillows. Closets were well illuminated and spacious. WiFi was complementary. The room had the usual flat screen television. The bathroom was outfitted with a shower tub combination with a very spacious sink and counter.

Staff was very pleasant throughout my stay. I had room service one night that was delivered on time and was well presented and prepared. Morning breakfast was served in the lower dining room and was done with attention to all details. The hotel has tendency to go big for scented candles in the reception area which are personally not to my favor, but otherwise I was extremely comfortable throughout my stay.

A highlight was a reserved table at the intimate "Thirty Six" Bar with friends Friday night. Martinis are the specialty and are served to perfection. The bar was jumping most nights; a reservation is strongly recommended.

Have now been to the Duke's several times, and will return during my next visit to London.

Room Tip: Have a drink at the "Thirty Six" bar but please make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTravel4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well and we are now becoming your London home. Our team here at Dukes London are so pleased with your comments and support. We look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Do not lool further if you are planning to stay in London for business or with your family (I did or do both). This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spotless, the gym is great (with a steam bath) and more than anything else the team is just amazing. Do not forget to grab a cup of coffee before leaving the hotel in the morning. It is the best in the town..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Our team is working hard to ensure everything is as it should be and it’s lovely for them to be recognised. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Having stayed at Dukes a couple of days ago, I must say this place is amazing. The hotel use to be a house before, you really get the feeling that you are in a big house, not a hotel. From the moment I walked in I felt at home. The staff, friendly, efficient and always willing to help, the location, the food, the martinis...I cannot wait to go back with my family!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special time with us. We always aim to provide a home away from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,078 in London
866 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,078 in London
1,213 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#115 of 1,078 in London
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,078 in London
3,363 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#123 of 1,078 in London
4,094 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £221 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing