We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary.....”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #132 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
bologna
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Extraordinary.....”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A great 'Small Luxury Hotel' tucked in St James Place, a place worthy of Mary Poppins' imaginary London..... rooms are not so large, but everything is polished, refined, well cared for. You will feel pampered at the Dukes: reception, concierge, waiters are impeccable, English breakfast splendid and Alessandro Palazzi's Martini cocktail remains no. 1 in the world. If money is no object and you like classic luxury in an intimate setting, this is THE place to stay in London!

Room Tip: Buy the better room that you can afford, it will be worth the expense and effort.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanopasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for such a lovely post. Our team is working hard to ensure everything is as it should be. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    252
    125
    45
    20
See reviews for
239
595
73
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I truly love the Dukes Hotel in Mayfair, London. Classic, quaint, traditionally English yet totally refurbished and modern.

Larger than average rooms for the UK, ideal location right on Green Park, service unparalleled, it's truly like a home away from home. I love sitting in the drawing room, having a lunch and doing some work, and then in the evening, having the world's best martini in the Duke's bar.

If you've not stayed there, waste no time and do so immediately.

Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Green Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It was truly an experience staying at Dukes because of the friendly helpful staff, warm and cozy vibe of the hotel. Its an old establishment but very well kept, clean and nice. The rooms were tiny though, so hard with big luggages though i expected it already. I just didnt like the bed, they have to add a bed topper cause i could feel the spring already-this is only fault i found! The bar is awesome, speak easy but we managed to have fun especially with our bar tender alessandro who makes the yummiest coctail on earth but deadliest- vesper martini a must! The location is very central, close to all..shopping, good eats, close to busy areas. I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Couldn't be happier at Dukes. It was our second stay there. Service is perfect. Rooms are lovely, quiet and clean. Highly recommend. Like the package that included a room upgrade and full breakfast. It's a great launching point for museum and theatre lovers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Our team is working hard to ensure everything is as it should be. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a long stay in the penthouse at Duke's last month. We had very high expectations and Duke's managed to exceed them all! Where to start? From the wonderful service at the front desk, to our lovely room, through to the ultimate in staff training and service at all levels. On arrival, we asked for a number of changes to our room which were cheerfully accommodated immediately by an army of staff, led by manager, Emilie, who all arrived at once, so as not to inconvenience us more than one time.

The concierge, Iain and Majeur, were wonderful. They handled a number of theatre bookings for us prior to our arrival, and were able to meet our needs for specific type of seat and days. They also were invaluable in identifying great places to eat in the area and making reservations-from fine dining to gastropubs. A wealth of up to date information.

We breakfasted at the hotel most days, and the staff in the dining area, starting with Arthur and extending to all, was outstanding. We also dined at 36 and had great food, including the little extras, and terrific service.

Alessandro in the bar, and his staff were wonderful on the two occasions we were lucky enough to go to the world famous "martini bar." Intimate, so make a reservation!

Our housekeeper, daily food service to the room and all the other little details of personal service made it like at stay at Downton Abbey for us!

We hope to make it our London home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! Also, it’s lovely for our team to be recognised as we do invest so much in them to create and deliver memorable experiences. I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

On our second trip to London in two years, we decided to try this hotel. And it ended up being one of the best choices we made! The rooms are a tad small, but adequate, quite OK actually for London. The bathrooms are nice. The rooms are clean, well maintained, and well appointed. They have a nice little gym, and the Duke's Bar is THE BOMB! Drop in for the famous Vesper Martini, its strong and tasty. Great service by Alesandro and the rest of the crew there.
They also maintain two private rooms that can be used by hotels guests 24 hours a day, the drawing room and the champagne room, great for late nights since we were with a big group who liked to keep things going late at night. The service is top notch all around. And the location is possibly the best location you can have. A stones throw from the heart of Mayfair, easy access to transpo, and walking distance from a myriad of great spots, Green Park, Picadilly, Soho, etc.
There really isn't much more you could ask for in a small boutique hotel. Give it a try!
Room for improvement: the beds could be more comfortable and there aren't a lot of outlets if you have many electronic gadgets to charge each night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stingray1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed in London 4 times in the last month for business and always I choose Dukes as "home away home".
The location is perfect, central and but quite. The rooms are well decorated, confortable and bright.
I never had a breakfast as I am always in hurry in the morning but I like grab a "coffee on the go" in the lobby.
The staff is always polite and all are always smiling at the reception.
Definitely I will go back again on my next visit in London.

Room Tip: I always book a Classic Room, reasonable price and good size considering other hotels in London. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you very much. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#99 of 1,068 in London
823 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,152 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#119 of 1,068 in London
3,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,966 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,405 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,068 in London
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#112 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing