We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #138 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Within easy walking distance of the Green Park tube stop on the Piccadilly line, Dukes Hotel is centrally located near Buckingham Palace, Green Park & Hyde Park in a fashionable part of London (which made walking in the neighborhood pleasant and interesting). The service at the hotel was exceptional, the public areas were very attractive, and the room we stayed in was nicely furnished, comfortable, and modern. Amenities included a daily newspaper, afternoon turndown service, and efficient, helpful and friendly concierge and desk staff. When we returned from our daily activities, we were always greeted in a very friendly way by the doorman. The breakfast at the 36 restaurant was delicious, and the waitstaff was especially attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear that you are very satisfied and truly enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to provide a home away from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 930 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We chanced upon the Dukes and it will be our base for further trips to London. The recommendation was to try their martini (reportedly the best in London) and it was the inspiration for Ian Flemming to write Bond into a 'Shaken not Stirred' man. Room service breakfast, and lunch in the lounge were also fantastic. The rooms are well appointed and functional. The staff were all fantastic, and a late checkout of 2pm was much appreciated, before a late flight out of Heathrow. Positioned next to Regents Park and a short stroll to Hyde Park, where we went to see Tom Jones in concert, made it ideally located in central London.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GRANT AND LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well and we are now becoming your London home. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I booked one night at this hotel via secret escaped for £191 including breakfast and a late check out until 4pm. The arrival was perfect, quick check in and friendly receptionist. Our room was on the first floor and easy to find.
Here's where the problems started... the air con was very loud but didn't have much of an effect on the heat in the room. Our view was a brick wall. We were only given one bathrobe despite there being two of us. We then went down for a quick breakfast at 10:40 as the website stated Monday-Saturday it was available until 11 to be told it is only open until 10:30. I then complained and advised the website said it was until 11 so they squeezed us in. Check out again was very quick as I had already paid for the room. I had high expectations for this hotel that were not met.
Great location and very pretty setting though!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank chaz281188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback on our beautiful little boutique hotel in the heart of St James. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotels excellent service, fabulous location and terrific setting!!!

I was however disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your rooms air conditioning. If you had mentioned this to us we would have naturally asked our maintenance department to address this issue immediately. In reference to the bathrobes we have 2 in each room, one in the bathroom and another in the wardrobe. I am pleased that our Restaurant team were able to seat you for our delicious breakfasts and I hope that you managed to join us in the bar for one of our world famous Martinis.

We at Dukes London look forward to welcoming you back in the nearby future.

Kind Regards
Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A first class hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in a lovely area of London. We stayed for one night whilst visiting family and found the staff welcoming and efficient. The room was well appointed and more spacious than the majority of London hotels I have previously stayed in. The attention to detail was evident and the staff projected a sense of pride whilst carrying out their duties. There was a great deal of choice on the breakfast menu and all freshly prepared and served in elegant surroundings. I would not hesitate to book again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that even with just a brief visit, you were able to experience our special atmosphere.Our team here at Dukes London are so pleased with your comments and support. I hope next time your stay will be longer.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is my 3rd stay at the Dukes and it a now my go-to hotel in London. Truly a hidden gem - the driveway is almost impossible to see from the street and only a London taxi can easily turn around inside - it is worth finding. The Dukes is a boutique hotel. The staff get to know you by name and will cater to your every desire. My trave agent knew that I like diet coke in the morning, mentioned it in the booking, and my mini-bar was stocked with complimentary diet coke before I arrived.

Of course the "James Bond" martini bar is the part of the hotel that puts it on the map.

If you like personal service, at a boutique hotel with an interesting history, choose the Dukes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Dukes' impeccable service was the perfect way to start off our London adventure. I emailed the concierge prior to our visit to set up a car pick up at the airport and to have champagne waiting for us in the hotel room. Everything was perfect! An absolute must is to get a Vesper martini at the Dukes Bar. My only little complaint was that you had to make a reservation for the bar since it is so popular. Overall, Dukes is a wonderful place to stay: large hotel rooms, perfect service and convenient to many top tourist spots - Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, National Gallery - we were able to walk to all these spots. Highly recommend Dukes!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely post. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Dukes hotel has an impeccable pedigree reaching back more than a century which may bring to mind a certain ambience - but it is wrong. Dukes is a 'boutique' hotel, meaning that it is not vast and impersonal, indeed it is the essence of personal. From the cosy reception to the discrete staff approach to their guests it has a welcoming aura that pervades one's stay. Yes the bedrooms are small - go to the chain restaurants for vast spaces (the ONLY criticism is that the sofas are rather low for the general clientèle to rise from). Here you will find refinement. The cosy little spaces for sitting, reading and having afternoon tea are encountered, not pushed into your face. They are your havens, not putting you on display to others. And the staff, oh they make the place you home from home. It is a hotel experience where the staff do not regard themselves as either superior to the guests nor are they subservient, they are interested in you and discretely eager to ensure your stay is to YOUR satisfaction. Brittiant!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nBtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for such a lovely post. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#102 of 1,081 in London
898 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#20 of 1,081 in London
1,246 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#124 of 1,081 in London
4,168 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#118 of 1,081 in London
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#116 Luxury Hotel in London
#133 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £226 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing