We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #125 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked for afternoon tea at Dukes through an external website. When we arrived they had not received our booking. The Manager was very apologetic and although he was not expecting us we were quickly accommodated, made welcome and seated in the beautiful drawing room where they served afternoon tea. The setting and ambiance was nothing other than perfect. Service was impeccable and staff very professional. The food was fantastic with an array of different sandwiches. We were offered a complimentary glass of champagne and a selection of fine teas. Once we had had enough sandwiches (and they keep bringing them until you have had enough) we were presented with the most fabulous cake stand I have ever seen! Pastries, macaroons, freshly cooked donuts (still warm) scones served with jam and clotted cream! Just wonderful. Absolutely fantastic value for money, perfect setting and wonderful service. Highly recommend a visit and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased that even with just a brief visit, you were able to experience our special atmosphere. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    239
    119
    39
    18
See reviews for
230
565
70
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

2 houses joined together over a century ago. Totally unique. Not your average, boring chain hotel. Our room was small but quiet and comfortable. All together a lovely hotel and so well located.Walked 10 minutes through a secret shortcut tunnel. Brought us right to Buckingham Palace. Had drinks in the bar - lively! Dinner in at hotel restaurant "36" - had the John Dorey - it was perfect. High Tea in the drawing room was divine. Front Desk staff very helpful and friendly. Recommended "Rules" for a traditional English dinner. It was perfect! Oldest restaurant in London. Saw Matilda at the Cambridge Theatre. Excellent play. Very crowded and impossible to get a cab after the show. Special thanks to the night manager for helping me to straighten out a problem I had created by mistake with the car service. Dukesey Dog is alive and well in Ottawa, Canada.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for such a lovely post. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special and memorable time with us. Our team, here at Dukes London, are so pleased with your comments and support. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home from home.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Location was easy to find and not far from green park underground. Staff were really friendly our room was not ready when we arrived but were offered complimentry drinks which were most welcomed. Room was large with king size bed bathroom spacious with dressing gowns and slippers. breakfast was in thirtysix the room was a little small for the hotel as we had to wait in the sitting room next door for 10 mins while a table came available. food was hot and plentiful and staff attentive. Overall a very enjoyable weekend and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryseDePover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well. Their dedication to you, the guest, makes me extremely proud to be part of such a wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back to DUKES LONDON in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlingen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved the location, right off New Bond Street. However the rooms are suffocatingly small. It was bad enough being on my own in the room, I cannot imagine staying there as a couple. Bathroom was ridiculously tight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Located in a secluded spot just a few minutes walk from Piccadilly and the West End theatreland. Ideal for business or personal stays with very comfortable accommodations and the "Best Martinis in London" but don't have more than two!! This is central London, so don't expect spectacular views from your room but take advantage of the location to see all the sights, enjoy great restaurants and see some plays.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_and_Ken_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking you time to provide your feedback regarding our lovely boutique hotel. Our team are working hard to ensure everything is as it should be. I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Due to a computer error with our original hotel, they arranged for us to stay at the Duke, the location was good, out of the way. But the rooms are small (we should of had a superior room, which im not sure we did, the window looked onto an alley way, there are no drinks available in the room till they turn down the bed in the evening unless you want to pay way over from the mini bar. This was a birthday treat for my friend, i was told she would get a card and cake left in her room for when we arrived, there was nothing in there so i asked at reception and got told it would be there by 6pm, but nothing then when we went for breakfast she was given a card a day late!!. It was a shame we got moved to this hotel, if i was to book another 5* this would would not be on my list.

Room Tip: We had room 116 change if they give you this one, if you want to look out of the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mickeysue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sue,
I was concerned to read your remarks regarding your recent experience at DUKES HOTEL.
Unfortunately we were not advised it was a birthday celebration for your stay with us no one advised us as such pre your arrival
I would like to ask you to contact my Operation Manager, Emilie Polastron, at a convenient time, she would like to discuss your feedback further, Emilie’s contact is: emiliepolastron@dukeshotel.com

We look forward to hearing from you to discuss further

Regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked the travel zoo brunch for four people on a Sunday we were told there was two sittings 12.00 and 3.00 we arrived at 12.00 were told to wait I'm the bar because they were not ready the food was a small buffet with nice quality food and the main course was served the dessert was a buffet with a glass of prosecco . I was a bit surprised to find a large bone in my ham hock I told the waiter I nearly broke my tooth and let us know what the chef said it was cleared away after five minutes the waiter came up and asked if we would like tea or coffee which was part of the traveloo voucher I asked him what the chef had said his reply was it was the first time anything like this had happened paying the bill for extra drinks I was a bit surprised that the head waiter did not apologised overall quite nice food good

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Rita,
I was concerned to read your remarks regarding your recent experience at THIRTYSIX.
I would like to ask you to contact my Food and Beverage Operation Manager, Roberto De Vivo,
at a convenient time, he would like to discuss your feed back further, Roberto’s contact is: robertodevivo@dukeshotel.com or 0207 318 6575
We look forward to hearing from you to discuss further.

Kind regards

Debrah Dhugga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#93 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#106 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing