We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Ranked #349 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Whilst it is v accesible from tube i arrived to no running water in my room.. Which was small and stuffy and miles from amywhere. Then i hadnt been made aware of the refurbs so nowhere to eAt and atemporary bar in the basement with no atmosphere and even less alcohol.. Grim. Sadly i have to return but sincerely hope things will be different by september!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Battie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,872)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,036 - 2,042 of 3,872 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Except the architecture of the hotel, the rest was not good . People working are not nice. The rooms very small. The breakfast in a room down without veiw. The people started to clean the corridors at 7h30 . Well nothing good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
1  Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed here with my friend for a trip to London for a wedding. The reception was being held at the Vanderbilt and I didn't need another excuse to stay!
It's a beautiful hotel and, for me, it was in an ideal location for any London stay. It is on the same road as the Natural History Museum and just across the road from Gloucester Road tube station and south Kensington highstreet full or beautiful looking bakeries, cafes, restaurants, and the odd shop. The Science Museum and Victoria & Albert Museum are 5 minutes away. Chelsea is a short 15min walk away, but also has great bus links. And kensington High street is one tube away or a 20min walk. Honestly, can't recommend this area enough.
It's in a really quiet part of the area and we had no noise at night at all. You couldn't even hear the other guests! We had a nice view of other equally pretty old Kensington town house buildings.
The room was impressively large. We had twin beds, a desk with a large flatscreen tv (we couldn't get the usb port to work tho!), a small table and chairs, a large wardrobe, and a beautiful bathroom. The bathroom was a little small, but really nice and has everything you need. Plenty of space in the room itself though.
Each room has it's own controls for air conditioning and heating. And also free wifi - a bit slow, but useful.
My only issue with the room was that there were no plugs near the beds. I had to plug my phone in to charge near the door!
The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to help. Even lending us a pair of scissors, taking our photo in the lobby, and generally having a chat.

The wedding reception itself was absolutely beautiful. It was an afternoon tea. And judging by our experience I can definitely recommend the afternoon tea if you visit and fancy a nice treat ;)

On our final day we checked out just after 10am and were allowed to leave our luggage for a day of freedom. We didn't pick them up again until 6pm, but again, no problems.

I will definitely return to this hotel. Considering a stay in May!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and had no noise issues. Room 244.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cheekychinchilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed M, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your five star review. We are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and I do hope you will be back very soon. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance with a future reservation.

Warm Regard,

Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for the weekend to visit friends in London. The location is excellent; Gloucester Road station is literally around the corner and Knightsbridge ten minute's walk. Check-in and check-out were very fast and taken care of by Bimal who was excellent at providing assistance and answering questions. The room was slightly small but it was a single and staying in Kensington will always mean sacrificing space. The bed and bathroom themselves were very comfortable. Also, free WiFi as standard! I didn't dine in the hotel but was told that the restaurant was being refurbished. My one regret is not being able to stay longer, however I will likely return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverTaylor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed M, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Radisson Blu Vanderbilt Hotel - it always nice to hear how much our guests have enjoyed their stay.The team and I look forward to welcome you back to the Vanderbilt hotel in the very near future

If I can be of any assistance with future reservations please do not hesitate to contact me via the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Super friendly and helpful staff! The singel room might be the smallest hotel room I have stayed in and in need of some refreshing but the bathroom was modern and clean. The AC made a sound (like a ticking clock) when it was switched off, so I had to leave it on at night with the normal AC noice. Wifi worked excellent for both my devices at once. The elevator was not designed for the hotel size, so you had to wait quite some time for it at times. The hotel is very close to the Underground with easy access to both Heathrow and the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordgloben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed M, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! The Hotel location is ideal for both business and leisure guests, especially from a transport perspective. I am glad to read that this was of great convenience to you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,
Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Highly recommend - this hotel has good size rooms for central London - has helpfull staff- close to Gloucester Road tube station and good eaterys! Dining room is being renovated currently but they have an area for breakfast downstairs - so many other choices close by thou

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
2  Thank Peter Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed M, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Peter,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel – it is very much appreciated.It was always wonderful to read that a guest has enjoyed their stay at the Vanderbilt Hotel.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Warm Regards,
Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Arrived in Lindon on a Sunday and straight to Hotel where we were greeted by very helpful and courteous staff who we able to assist us after a long flight from Australia. Hotel is ideally located to the tourist attractions and very comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend it to anyone needing fine accommodation at the right price. I would definitely stay again and probably will on my next trip. Louise Hill

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Louise2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed M, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Ms Hill,
Thank you for your glowing review! How wonderful to read that you were very pleased with so many different aspects of the hotel. It is an honour to hear that you would recommend our hotel to others; this means we not only met but exceeded your expectations and that is precisely what we aim to do.

The location of the hotel is ideal for all business and leisure transport needs, I am pleased this was of convenience to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I can assist at all with any future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#375 of 1,072 in London
1,156 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,072 in London
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#379 of 1,072 in London
996 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#344 of 1,072 in London
2,139 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#481 of 1,072 in London
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt

Address: 68-86 Cromwell Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Family Hotel in London
#232 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
#287 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £132 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing Georgian mansion in fashionable South Kensington, the four star Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt stays faithful to its past but espouses modern comfort in a classic London cityscape of porticos and leafy squares. Moments from London’s world-class museums, step into the frescoed lobby and take in a characterful ambience of open fireplaces, deep sofas for laid-back lounging and quietly stylish rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt Hotel London
Radisson Hotel Edwardian Vanderbilt
Radisson Hotel London
Radisson London
London Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing