We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Faultless in every way. Guest Service levels at their very highest. Perfect attention to detail.
Wonderful that such a hotel still exists in central London - all the care and charm that one could ask for. Chris and Karen.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldandintheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Chris & Karen,

"Faultless in every way"

What an amazing statement. Thank you from all of us here at The Egerton. We are thrilled to have made such and impression and continue to work hard to make sure that guests service levels remain at their highest. The Egerton is a little Gem.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back on a future visit .

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
235
671
90
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We have stayed at the Egerton House several times and cannot recommend it highly enough! Every detail is attended to with great attention. Every staff person is warm, friendly and helpful. The decor is lovely and the atmosphere wonderful and relaxing! Scott, Rosslee,David and Annie were partcularly kind to us. Everyone helped make arrangements for us for tours, meals and theater, and were especially flexible when our plans changed. The staff thoughtfully arranged for a homemade cupcake for our daughter's Birthday while we were there. The room furnishings are exquiste and the hotel is impeccably maintained. The continetal breakfast (included with the room) was delicious. Complimentary snacks are available in the lobby, unlike larger hotels were you feel "nickel and dimed", the Egerton House's generousity makes the guests feel at home! The lobby bar is a delightful place to refresh after a day of London site seeing. We hope to continue to return often!

Room Tip: Every room is a little different, individually furnished-you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Regular Guest,

It is always our pleasure to have you staying with us and thank you for your continued support. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and it is very motivating to know that we continue to exceed your expectations.

We have a very friendly, warm team who are always ready and willing to make any arrangements you may require and to make your stay as relaxing as possible so I am pleased that we took good care of you. I will share your wonderful feedback with them.

I am glad we were able to share your daughters birthday and delighted that she enjoyed her cupcake. We love to add little extra touches to make the stay more memorable.

Our breakfasts are very popular as are the treats we offer throughout the hotel.

I do hope that the rest of your vacation was exciting and we look forward to welcoming you back to your London home on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a special, special place in London. Tucked into a cozy yet exclusive Knightsbridge neighborhood, the hotel exudes charm, courtesy and care. The staff, from the maids and waitpersons to the thoroughly professional competent desk crew looks you in the eye as they deliver extraordinary service. If it is sewing a button on a sports coat, booking a ticket at Prince Albert Hall or a west end theater, recommending an exhibit at The V&A Museum, suggesting a restaurant down The Brompton Road, discerning the differences in a Saturday stroll of either the Portobello Market or the wacky Camden Market, or simply discussing the best King's Road shopping opportunities, the desk crew is beyond compare. I could offer pages on how graceful Antonio, the mixologist supreme, is in the adjoining bar. But, that would be redundant since he is famous in London and deserves all of the kudos already bestowed upon him. My only reservation with Antonio is that he never seems to lose a sporting bet. It is uncanny how he seems to win each time. I only wish that he worked seven days a week. All that said, this hotel will be our only stop in London for years to come.

Room Tip: We have stayed twice. Be aware that the rooms overlooking the garden are very peaceful, however our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

The Egerton House Hotel is a very special place in London with very special guests and a highly motivated and dedicated team. We have an abundance of information on London and what it has to offer and I am delighted to hear that we were able to assist with your requests in a highly confident and professional manner . I shall pass your wonderful feedback to to the team who will feel very rewarded by such a positive review.

Antonio loves what he does and indeed has been doing it for a while. He thrives on a buzzing bar and is most definitely the Captain of his Ship.His martini's are legendary and hugely popular.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and I am so pleased to hear that you will be coming back to visit us on a future trip. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancovuer bc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Arrived early morning into London and after a beautiful walk following a long flight from Canada we arrived at the elegant boutique Egerton House Hotel. G

We were greeted by a lovely gentleman with a "Canadian" accent who looked after everything while we sat for a well-earned tea. We were given an early check-in and upgraded, luggage promptly taken to our room. All amenities explained to us.
Absolutely sublime.
The hotel was emmaculate, well appointed, with fresh fruit and biscuits in our room.
Lovely soaps and toiletries, bathrobes and plush slippers.
Quiet, with a view of a groomed private garden and chirping birds when we opened the window.
All the small things really made the hotel a delight. From suitable electrical plugs, to bags of treats in the foyer, to umbrellas, to beautiful flowers, architecture of the house of 28 rooms, to professional personnel, soaker tub and shower, tv ( but did not work consistently) in the bathroom. Bottled waters available, both bubbly and plain were complimentary.
Maps available and staff knowledgeable about the best places to eat and such. Magazines of all kinds. Good air conditioning and mild scenting was refreshing in the halls.
Everything an experienced traveller would want.
Rooms in London are of course small but nevertheless, it was power packed.

Usually would not take the time to comment but had to. It was just too good.
Lots of nice touchs. Even a good bye note.

Room Tip: In room 26. It was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madaboutNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Egerton House we are thrilled that you had a memorable stay with us. I am indeed pleased that we were able to offer you an early check in and upgrade after your long journey. First impressions are lasting impressions and with your wonderful review we have proved that it is very true.

We have a very dedicated housekeeping department who take great pride in our rooms so they will be pleased that you found the room to be immaculate. We provide only the best amenities and we like to think that we have everything you need to make your stay comfortable with us.

We also like to offer lot's of little treats and added extras throughout the hotel. Our guests love them so we are constantly thinking of new ideas.

We have recently completed an upgrade on all bathroom TV's and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I will pass all your lovely feedback to the team who really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your London home on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My partner and I recently returned from a one week stay at Egerton House Hotel, our third stay there since 2009. This is an exceptional hotel and earns my highest recommendation. The staff is the best I have encountered: friendly, capable and absolutely committed to providing exceptional service. They go out of their way to be helpful. The rooms vary in size but all are elegantly appointed and extremely clean. Breakfast, afternoon tea and lunch sandwiches are delicious. The overall ambience is warm and inviting and the location in Knightsbridge is unbeatable. All in all, a gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlachterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear loyal guests,

Thank you for returning to The Egerton time after time and taking the time to write a review for us. It makes me very happy to know that we are living up to your expectations on every visit.
The team do work very hard and are very committed and it reassures us that we are doing a good job when we recieve wonderful reviews as yours.I will pass your lovely comments to each and every one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home on your 4th visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance with future bookings.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liphook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I treated my Mother to afternoon tea at The Egerton House Hotel. I had not been before so was a little nervous that it would not live up to our expectations. It was my Mother's 70th Birthday and I have to say that the service we received we exceptional and way beyond our expectations. The food was delicious and the ambiance was so nice that my Mother actually got emotional. I cannot recommend highly enough our experience, we will be back. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review of our afternoon tea and I am so touched to hear that your mother celebrated her 70th birthday with us. Our afternoon tea is a delightful and very special experience and we take great pride to ensure that it is delivered with the highest possible level of service.

I do hope your mother had a wonderful 70th birthday and that we will have the pleasure of celebrating her 71st with her here at The Egerton next year.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encino, Ca.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Spent four nights at the Egerton House Hotel (Room 42). The hotel more than met our expectations: elegant, spotlessly clean, individually decorated rooms, FABULOUS staff to take care of your every need. While some of the rooms can be on the smallish side, they contain every amenity and, in this case, less is more! Wonderful breakfasts. In passing, I had said something to a member of the staff about celebrating our anniversary on this trip. The next night we returned from our evening out to find that our room had been decorated in rose petals and candles and there was a delicious bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries on the coffee table. The recommendations made by the staff were all first rate and every single staff member was eager to help us with our most mundane request.
We have already booked our return trip next year, selecting the same room. It will be like returning to family.
This is the first time in many many years when I felt sad about leaving a hotel. My husband and I highly recommend the Egerton House Hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was on the street and it was very quiet. No problems and great light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review on The Egerton. I am so pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that we ticked all the boxes. We have a very dedicated team of people here who are very passionate about our little gem and go out of their way to make sure that our guests go away wanting to return to their new home away from home.

Thank you for letting us know it was your anniversary and I am glad we could be part of it. We do like to treat our guests and am pleased that you enjoyed the romantic turndown with our compliments.

We very much look forward to seeing you next year and please do contact any member of our team for assistance with restaurant, theatre, transport or any other arrangements that we can make for you to make your trip as smooth as possible. In the meantime I will pass on all your wonderful comments to the team.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing