We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property, Great location, great pampering!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at the wonderful Egerton House hotel celebrating my birthday and our wedding anniversary. The managers,front desk staff, dining room staff, everyone were so helpful and friendly. I wasn't quite expecting such attentive staff and attention to detail. We had a wonderful cake delivered to our room for our anniversary, afternoon tea delivered everyday to our room served with melt in your mouth shortbread! We also had high tea in the drawing room and champagne and roses delivered to our room on our last night, yet another unexpected surprise! I highly recommend this hotel if you want to be pampered. We loved it!!
A special thank you to Annie and Rosalee, you were delightful!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Hockeymomofboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted to read that you had a memorable stay with us. It was a great pleasure for us to be able to share your birthday and wedding anniversary with you and I am so glad to hear that you were well looked after and treated to your birthday cake and a romantic turndown for your anniversary. We just love doing little things to make your stay special and memorable and it is rewarding to hear that we did just that.

I have passed you very kind words to all my team but especially Annie & Rosslee.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future special occasion and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is well located, has a helpful staff, and has lovely rooms. What really sets this place apart from other hotels, however, is the attention to detail. The was a bath pillow for soaking in the tub, the toilet had a brass handle so you did not need to touch the seat, there was water and fruit in the room, the toiltetries were from Penhaligons, there were two style of robes, the bathrooms floors were heated, there was heated towel rack, the towels were thick and luxurious, they had an extensive and unique pillow menu (try the buckwheat), etc. These details really set the place apart.

We had a "superior room" on the third floor - it is actually the one pictured on TA right now as I write this review. The room was small and if we had stayed more than a couple days we may have wanted for more space. That said, the room overlooked a private garden and included a desk, comfortable bed, two seats and a table. There also was a TV in the bathroom, which was unexpectedly fun! The bath is the typical UK bathroom - with the deep tub and half shower door.

The hotel was quiet and we slept peacefully. It is an easy walk from the Knightsbride tube stop (maybe 4 blocks). We have stayed at a sister property - the Milestone - and continue to believe Red Carnation Hotels are some of the best available today.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovehuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your visit to The Egerton and I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us. It is so nice to hear that the attention to detail sets us apart as we work consistently hard to make sure that we get it right.

We have an extensive pillow menu and indeed bath pillows in all bathrooms which are a big hit with our guests.We also have bathroom TV''s in all rooms, the renowned Penhaligon toiletries and thick luxurious towels. Everything one need to relax after a day of shopping and sightseeing.

The room you occupied one of our beautiful deluxe queen rooms which does indeed overlook the gardens.. While we are located in the heart of knightsbridge but in a residential area we are very lucky to have the garden view at the back of the property.

The Egerton is a very special little property, with very special quests and I do hope that when you next visit London you will visit us once again so we can welcome you to your new London home.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Egerton House Hotel is a small, intimate charming hotel in the most perfect and lovely area of the city, Knightsbridge.It is within walking distance to museums, fabulous shopping and wonderful pubs and restaurants.
The staff could not have been more accomodating and anxious to help in any way possible.
The hotel itself is beautifully appointed and the rooms are immaculate, furnished impeccibly and filled with every necessity. They seem to anticipate every need.
Breakfast is quite lovely and delicious and accomodates every palate.
On our second trip back we were welcomed like family.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in London!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your visit to The Egerton and I am delighted that you returned and got a warm and and family like welcome. We do take great pride in looking after our guests and are a very dedicated team so I am delighted that you found us accommodating and helpful.

Our rooms are very individual and beautifully appointed and do we try to anticipate our guests needs so I am pleased you felt that.

It is so nice to hear that you would not stay any where else in London and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back on your third visit in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was our fourth stay at Egerton House and, again, our expectations were met and surpassed! A hidden gem, a tranquil retreat just around the corner from Brompton Road in thriving Knightsbridge. I could write volumes about the excellence that this property eminates. The location is perfect for a visit to London and from the moment you enter into the front reception area you are swept away by the warmth and attention to detail that is the hallmark of the service provided. Accommodation is superb with high-end, decorator level decor, comfortable beds and luxury toiletries. Morning coffee service arrived in what seemed like mere minutes from making the call. The bar experience at Egerton is like none other - an intimate setting with a great choice of wines and light food - always delicious. In the end its the people who work there that add the finishing touches - gracious, thoughtful - anticipating your every need. Indeed, Egerton House Hotel and its people, Rock Stars, all!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to know that this was your 4th stay and that your expectations were met and even surpassed. Thank you so much for sharing that with us.It is wonderful to see that you return time after time and that we continue to make your stay memorable . It is always very rewarding to read reviews like this and I have passed your kind word to the team who will enjoy them with great pride. We are very proud The Egerton and want to make guests feel like they are in their own front room when in our little drawing room and bar. I am glad you got to experience this.

We look forward to welcoming you back on you 5th visit to The Egerton and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can assist with arrangements.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I had the great pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Egerton House Hotel during our 35th wedding anniversary trip to England and France. I will tell anyone and everyone, that of all the Hotels we stayed in, we both agreed that Egerton was the most comfortable place we stayed, in terms of feeling at home even though we were so far away. The room was impeccably clean. The bath tub and shower were excellent. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The location, relative to shopping and touring of central London, was perfect. We will,of course, chooose to stay at the Egerton House when we return for our next visit. Thanks to all the staff for your help and care during our stay at your Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read your comment about The Egerton House Hotel. We are delighted that you managed to spend your very special occasion with us and felt that you were in your home away from home. We take great pride on ensuring that is how are guests feel and it gives me great pleasure to read that we succeeded. I have passed your kind words to all the team who appreciate our guests taking the time to write.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home on your next visit to London.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Egerton House Hotel is situated a short distance from the busy Brompton Road but you would not know it from staying inside. Quiet and elegant, with attentive staff and a full range of services and amenities, it is a wonderful base for a visit to London. You're within walking distance of Kensington Gardens, the Victoria & Albert, Harrods and many fine restaurants. Staff helped solve a dining problem. A bartender came up with a brand of whiskey not available our first night. By London standards, the price was very reasonable. Our room, though nicely appointed, was small. The internal doorway served no purpose and kept getting in the way. Itmight be worth paying a bit more for a larger room but, otherwise, the Egerton is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your feedback on The Egerton House Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed very centrally located in a quiet residental area but close to shops, the Victoria & Albert Museum and many other attractions and some of the best restaurants in town.

Being that the property was originally two town houses the rooms do vary in size and all are individually decorated.

I am pleased to hear that our bartender sourced the brand of whiskey for you. We do pride ourselves on going the extra mile to make sure our guests go away with good memories.

I will pass you kind comments to all the team and we do hope we wil have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Egerton House Hotel on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our fifth visit to Egerton House was the best ever. The gourmet martinis and full bar service, the cornucopia of outstanding food at breakfast, prompt and friendly room service...not to mention the well stocked mini bar in the rooms...when it comes to food and drink, Egerton House stands with the best.
Personal service is above and beyond what anyone would expect. I refer to Egerton House as the Downton Abbey of London! Whether it was getting medicine for my husband, finding the best cleaners for my clothes (they had been ruined by housekeeping on our cruise line), booking reservations at the most popular restaurants, providing airport transfers, offering an excellent map of the city and suggestions on how to get around, Egerton House was at the ready to take care of all our needs.

Location, location, location! Egerton House is ideally suited. In upscale Knightsbridge, the hotel is easy walking distance to many excellent restaurants, boutique shops, and pubs. Egerton House is a half a block from Brompton Road, a major thoroughfare with 2 tube (underground) stations close by: Knightsbridge and South Kensington. These stations and connecting routes will take you anywhere you want to go in London. And last but not least, Egerton House is just a couple of blocks from Harrod's, the Victoria and Albert Museum, the Science Museum, and the Natural History Museum.

Accommodations at Egerton House are quiet, roomy, airy, and decorated with tasteful elegance. The sitting room and bar are cosy and charming. Guests as well as staff are friendly. I have stayed there alone as well as with my husband and felt very much at home in either situation.

Stay there! You will not be disappointed!
Julie Masterson
Mendocino, California

Room Tip: No fitness center or swimming pool, but the hotel offers in room spa services. Choose a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molliefreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,861 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,344 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £249 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing