We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated Us Like Royalty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tarzana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Treated Us Like Royalty!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have the most wonderful travel agent - she has recommended so many great properties for us and this hotel tops them all! We were on our way to S. Africa and planned to stay in London for a couple of days before and after. We arrived in the morning after a 10 hour flights and were told that our room (upgraded with their compliments) was ready - Yay! We had a Jr. Suite on the top floor, overlooking a lovely park-like courtyard. The rooms were decorated beautifully, everyone of them different. We had a lovely, large bathroom, plenty of closet space and fresh fruit every day. They couldn't do enough for us! Breakfast was included and the dining room was bright and cheery. We ordered off their menu plus had a wonderful selection of fruits, pastries, breads, yogurts, cheeses and beverages. Everything was served on beautiful china and stemware. A martini was included with our stay, so we had a great time sitting at the bar with Antonio and conversing about horse racing while enjoying the best perfect martinis and Manhattans. On our last night, they left us a beautiful cake when they came to turn down our beds - I only wish that we could have taken it with us!

Since we were to return here from the S. Africa trip, they were able to store some luggage for us so we didn't have to traipse extra suitcases along.. When we checked in, they upgraded us to their best suite - the Victoria and Albert Suite. Beautifully appointed with its own patio...I was ready to move in for good. Unfortunately, we had a family emergency and had to rebook a flight and cancel the rest of our trip. The staff were so helpful in trying to contact the airline and our travel agent - they couldn't do enough for us and were so very considerate.

I felt like the Egerton was a home away from home and we will certainly return there on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on the site for us. We appreciate your time are delighted to hear that your overall experience was so positive. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate and indeed upgrade you with our compliments. When and if we get an arrival time we do always try to have the room ready, however this does rely heavily on the occupancy from the evening before. The studio suite are very beautiful and all individually decorated. They are very spacious with nice sized bathrooms and are hugely popular. So pleased that you managed to sample our breakfasts and of course one couldn’t leave without trying one of Antonio’s famous martini’s.

We are more than happy to store guests luggage when they are returning to us. It means that you can continue your vacation a little lighter and in the knowledge that your luggage is safe and will be in your room for your return and we were delighted to welcome you back to our Victoria & Albert suite.

We were sorry that you had to leave due to a family emergency which I hope did work out alright and I am pleased to hear that the team were considerate and helpful. I have passed you kind words to everyone.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Egerton House Hotel on a future visit to London and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    83
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
241
693
91
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Back again for a night to celebrate my birthday. Back next month and near to Christmas. Had a great stay. Always a warm welcome. Very comfortable. Lots of culture and shopping in close proximity. in my book still one of the best hotels in London.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so lovely to hear that you return time after time and thank you also for your continued support. We have a very supportive following of regular guests and warmly welcome them back throughout the year. It is so nice to hear that you believe we are one of the best and we will continue to work hard to maintain that reputation. We look forward to welcome you back for your birthday and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with any bookings for you.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have stayed at The Egerton House on many different occasions, and I would not even consider staying anywhere else in London!! The rooms, the staff, the breakfast and the location is outstanding! Harrods is just a block away, as are many good retaurants. A must at this lovely hotel is to have a Martini at the bar, served specially by Antonio!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your continued support of The Egerton House Hotel we are thrilled that you come back after time. It is of course our great pleasure to take care of you. We certainly don’t want you to stay anywhere else in London and will continue to work hard to make sure that remains the case. I have passed your kind words to everyone in the team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

How I love visiting this gorgeous little hotel - a favourite with friends from Across the Pond who insist on staying here whenever they visit London (and who can blame them?). Although I have only had the good fortune on partaking of afternoon tea in this delightful establishment, it is always a pleasure with sumptuous sofas and armchairs to sink into whilst attentive and friendly staff serve all manner of goodies on fine china with crisp table linens. It never seems to get very busy despite its location just a short stroll from the bustle of Brompton Road. Cosy and welcoming on a gently domestic scale, it is an ideal place even if visiting alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaynotoStarbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site and we are really grateful for your time. Thank you also for recommending your friends from across the pond we are delighted to welcome them also to The Egerton House Hotel. It is our great pleasure to take care of you and am delighted that you have enjoyed of Afternoon Tea with us. It is quite a treat. Our cosy Drawing room is just that, very cosy. We are centrally located close to Harrods and the wonderful shops on Brompton road, not forgetting the museums.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to The Egerton House Hotel on a future visit and I do hope that one day you will manage to stay with us for an evening. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Arriving at Egerton House one is greeted warmly and if you are a returning guest, it almost feels like home...on steroids. Your luggage is swiftly taken off your hands and should your room not be ready when you arrive,you can sink into the sofa in the cosy sittingroom, drink an excellent cappucino and recline in comfort while the elves and fairies prepare your bed. Service and guest comfort are paramount at this establishment. There are jars of cookies and other nibbles in the reception, luxury amenities in the bathrooms and rooms are stocked with everything a traveller might need...even scissors. Did I mention Antonio, the legendary barman who mixes a mean dry martini and makes the cocktail hour stretch into the evening in his cosy little bar. Michelle Devlin runs a tight ship. All staff change into black tie after 6 and her guests are all personally greeted and made to feel welcome. This is a great small hotel, in a very convenient location in the heart of Knightsbridge.....and it will be our home from home going forward.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on the site for us and I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay. It is so wonderful to hear that you were welcomed like a return guest and that you appreciated all the little home comforts. We do take great pride in our home away from home and want guests to feel just that. Our guests comfort are our priority and we want each and every person to go away with the feeling that they want to return and I do hope you will on a future visit. Antonio is a legend and mixes the best martini in town. His reputation precedes him but just remember that “one is not enough and two is to many” in his own words. Thank you once again for your very kinds words and please do not hesitate to contact me at any time if I can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013 for a special event locally to the hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was very clean, nicely appointed and pleasant to stay in, we had a meal here in the evening which was very pleasant and the food was great. My only criticism and this stopped it getting a 5 star rating was breakfast, this was not included in the room rate and was VERY expensive for what it was, the price was inline with an evening meal, you need to look at this if you want to get 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JY-and-PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our great pleasure looking after you on your recent visit to The Egerton House Hotel and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on the site. I am delighted that you had an pleasant stay with us and enjoyed all aspects. I appreciate your comment about breakfast and am sorry that you did not avail of our Breakfast inclusive rate but I do hope you will give us the opportunity of looking after you again on a future visit and please do contact me personally so I can take care of your booking and make sure that on this occasion you will have breakfast included.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

First, the accomondations are just wondeful as are the staff. It's a hotel but also feels like a bed and breakfast - very quaint very English. You'll enjoy the sleep and just hanging around relaxing in some of the common areas. The location can't be beat. Harrods is a short walk away as is Kensington station. You can walk to Hyde park (or take the bus), the palace. Havey Nichols is also a short walk where you can enjoy some night life. I have been to The Egerton House about a half dozen times over the past 10 years. It's my place to stay when in London. It's just off a main street (Bromptom Road) but it's in a residential neighborhood - you'll see the kids going off to school in the morning.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms in front provide a wonderful view of the egerton neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on the site following your stay with us in June last year and how lovely that you would still remember us one year on. Thank you also for returning to stay with us so many times. It is always a pleasure to welcome you to our beautiful property and I do hope you consider it your home away from home. We are indeed very centrally located close to Harrods and Harvey Nichols and of course some wonderful museums. We also have some excellent restaurants in the vicinity. As we are a hotel in a very residential area you will indeed see the kids going off to school. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing