We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martini's with Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Martini's with Antonio”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Did not have the opportunity to stay the night, but spent a splendid afternoon at the charming Egerton. Was travelling with 3 lady friends, with one who is living in the UK presently who frequents the Egerton when she & her husband spend time in London. She rang them up, mentioned we would love to "drop by" for Martini's and we were welcomed with delicious nibbles, hot cheese toast and the incomparable Antonio--who brought his trolley out to where we were lounging and made the Best Martini bar none I have ever had. The attentiveness I noticed, the warmth and lovely decor were outstanding. I had the opportunity to meet the staff, watch guests come and go and realized what a priceless and special place the Egerton is! When I return to London I will make it a point to stay at this Oasis in London!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

How kind of you to review your afternoon at The Egerton House and we are delighted that you enjoyed Antonio’s martini’s the nibbles and our signature cheese toasts. Our little bar is an Oasis and Antonio is the master. He loves the theatrics of bringing his trolley to you in order that you experience first class how a good martini is made, not forgetting the “twist”.

I am also pleased that you noticed the attentiveness and warmth of the team and that you hope to visit us on your next trip to London.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    84
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
246
713
91
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband & I visited London In September to celebrate our 33rd Wedding Anniversary. We wanted a very special place to stay. Using Trip Advisor Reviews, I selected The Egerton House Hotel. All I can say is WOW! We were thrilled with the hotel, location and staff. They went above & beyond our expectations, spoiling us everyday that we were there ... Wonderful Breakfasts each day with selections of Eggs Benedict, Eggs Florentine, Eggs Royale, Porridge (Oatmeal), Fruit, etc. Delicious Snacks available in the lobby... Fresh bottles of water & tea in our room along with a crumpet each day. The hotel is within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping (Harrods is a 5 minute walk), museums, two tube stations (Knightsbridge & South Kensington) and bus stops. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. To celebrate our special anniversary the staff signed a card and decorated our room with rose petals & candles ... Extra Special Touches that really made our visit an AMAZING experience that we will always remember. THANK YOU SO MUCH .... HOPE TO SEE YA'LL AGAIN REAL SOON !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s0belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your 33rd Wedding Anniversary and I am so pleased that it was a memorable one for you and that you were WOWED at The Egerton House Hotel. We want you to feel spoiled and I am pleased that we did. Delighted that you enjoyed the hearty breakfasts and appreciated the complimentary snacks provided in reception as well as the bottled water. Our beds are indeed very comfortable and the rooms very quiet.

We are very centrally located close to Harrods, museums, restaurants, tube stations and the fabulous shops on the Brompton Road so are definitely spoiled for choice.

It was so nice to be able to surprise you with a romantic turndown which I hope you will have made you celebration even more special and that said I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Thanks you for your lovely feedback.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the wonderful Egerton House. We arrived in the morning, tired after our overnight flight from the States--but our room was ready for us--and it was the same room we stayed in two years ago. It truly felt like returning home. The staff welcomed us like family, and continued to attend to our every need for the entire week. We have never experienced such a level of personal service.
We discovered more restaurants within easy walking distance, including The Good Earth, just a stone's throw away. The location can't be beat--how wonderful to "walk home" from a concert at Royal Albert Hall. A short walk to Harrod's and the tube stations. We would never consider staying anywhere else in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for staying with us and it was our great pleasure to look after you on your second visit. I am pleased that we were able to have your room ready for your early arrival. It makes for a good start to the vacation if you can rest and freshen up. I am thrilled that you felt welcomed like family and that your every needs were attended to for the entire week and that you have never experienced the level of personal service anywhere else. It is a great reward to receive such positive feedback and we are truly grateful.

We do hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left this was one of the best stays ever. The room was small but perfect with the attention to detail the best we have seen. Turndown service prepared the room perfectly (with the addition of a lighted candle in the bathroom) for a great night's sleep. But it is a must to visit the bar to witness Antonio's unique service and Martinis - worth every penny. This is a great change from corporate offerings. We will be back to be spoiled and feel very special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarneyCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us and I am thrilled to hear that from the moment you arrived until the moment you left that it was one of your best stays ever. We do want our guests to have a memorable stay and I am delighted that we did this for you.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is an intimate and elegant hotel with fabulous staff who can't do enough for you

This was our second visit and we definitely return

The location is wonderful and the rooms, although small are perfectly formed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site and we are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with and thank you for returning once again. I have passed your kind words to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Was sent to the Egerton after arriving at the Crown Plazza, St James to find that they had double booked my room. Having been initially unhappy about being relocated I was absolutely delighted from the moment I arrived to the moment I left the Egerton. The service was the best I've ever experienced at a uk hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and the standard of everything was truly 5 star. I will definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us and I am thrilled that you were absolutely delighted from the moment you arrived until the moment you left The Egerton House Hotel. We do take great pride in the service that we provide for our guests and it is very rewarding to hear that it was the best you have ever experienced in a UK hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed for only one day and a night but glad we did . We got caught running late and missed our connecting flight to the states which at first seemed terrible and then we went to book our usual place when in London and they were full so needless to say the day was turning into a nightmare or so I thought.

We were suggested by the concierge of our regular hotel to try the Egerton as a nice alternative and something that my wife and I would enjoy and after a quick phone call we were on our way over and boy was he right.

The decor throughout the entire hotel is lovely and not your "typical hotel" furnishings. Nice to be in a room that is not cookie cutter furnished, exquisite in every detail with the most comfortable bed.

Location wise very nice and must say I found it to be somewhat more pleasant and relaxing than other locations we have stayed while in London nice and quiet in the evening so you can take a stroll and enjoy the park which is just a stone throw away.

Close proximity to some great dining too.

All the staff were excellent and could not do enough to make sure we enjoyed our stay even though it was just for one night. i guess they were informed of our day and predicament since the welcome basket and cold Champagne was a very nice touch and definitely took the edge off our already frazzled nerves.

Next time I or we are in London will definately stay again to experience all the hotel has to offer in a longer time frame but from the short time we had can definitely say it is .....Top-shelf.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Top floor have fantastic views and are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following you short stay with us and I am delighted that we were able to make your bad day great. I can well imagine how stressed you were to find that you had not only missed your connecting flight to the states but then to also find that your regular hotel had no place at the Inn.
However it was our great pleasure to welcome you to The Egerton House Hotel.

I am very pleased that you liked the room the decor, the comfortable beds the location and most of all that you felt that the staff were excellent and could not do enough for you. Of course a nice glass of champagne and a pamper basket to soothes away the stresses of the day will definitely help and I am glad it did.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Egerton House on a future visit and under better circumstances so we may take care of you once again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,


Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,732 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
1,904 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing