We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, albeit a bit girly for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely, albeit a bit girly for me”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Here for one night on business, it certainly lives up to its tripadvisor rating, everything is faultless - lovely hotel in great location at reasonable price, service was great, room was great and quiet. Purely personally is was a bit girly for a business trip, much more suitable for couples - flowers everwhere, four poster bed etc - but thats just personal taste.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us earlier this month and for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be faultless in a great location, reasonably priced ,that the room was great as was the service. We value our guests feedback and I do understand that you feel that it might be a bit girly for you. I have passed your kind words to all the team who genuinely are grateful.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    83
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
241
693
91
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Egerton. The location was great (about an 8 minute walk to the subway station) and the staff was constantly going above and beyond in every way. The room was beautiful. Small by American standards, but not for European. The room was nicely made up each day for us and one night we came back to rose petals on the bed and candles everywhere (no special occasion, just for no reason). On our last night, they left a Bon Voyage cake in the room with a card. Those little touches really helped make our stay especially memorable. We had a full English breakfast each morning that was delicious and while the dining room was small, I didn't find it at all off putting. We had afternoon tea several times, which was also very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawbooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us and I am delighted to hear that you could not have been more pleased with your stay that you enjoyed the location the room the room and of course the staff who take great pride in the level of service they provide for our guests.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the romantic turndown, it was just a little treat and we hoped that it made your stay more special and memorable. Our Afternoon tea is delicious and I am glad that you managed to enjoy it on a few days when you were with us. It is quite nice to have in the afternoon especially if you are going to theatre. I have passed your kind comments to all the team and we certainly hope that you will stay with us again.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first 3 nights of our 2 week trip to London, the English countryside and Ireland to celebrate her birthday and we both wished we had stayed at the Egerton House Hotel two more nights. The location, service and accommodations were terrific. The staff arranged for us to be greeted at the airport. We were then pleased to be upgraded to the Victoria & Albert Suite for our entire stay. It was lovely. The suite was eloquently decorated in red and the bed very comfortable for sleeping; there were 2 well-appointed bath rooms and a large parlor room with a a small patio. Michelle and her staff were cheerful and very helpful. On the night of my wife's birthday, much to our surprise, a wonderful Chocolate mousse cake was waiting upon our return from Phantom of the Opera! Such a nice touch. without any request on our part. And, of course, Antonio at the bar simply prepares the best MARTINI's, as many prior guests have already noted. Another vote of confidence here from 2 Texans who truly enjoyed several of his exceptional libations and the atmosphere of this quaint and homey bar. Thanks Tony! The proximity of the Hotel to Harrod's and Sloane Street by foot is another great attribute. In summation, we really enjoyed our stay, wish we had planned our trip where we could have spent more time at this awesome boutique hotel and highly encourage each of you to to put Egerton House at the top of your list when visiting London if you want to be treated to outstanding English hospitality and accommodations. I know we will on our next trip to London!

Room Tip: Although on the first floor the room was very private and quiet for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoagmanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us and I am delighted that your expectations were exceeded and that your wife enjoyed her birthday and cake. I am also pleased that you felt that the location service and accommodations were terrific and that you wished you had stayed longer. It certainly was our great pleasure taking care of you and I am glad that you enjoyed our Victoria & Albert suite. It is very beautiful and spacious. The Egerton would not be the Egerton and your experience would not be complete if you did not get to sample one of Antonio’s famous martini’s. He takes great pride in the production, we call it the martini master class.

Overall it is rewarding and reassuring to hear that you had a memorable visit and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed for my special birthday treat and the staff certainly made it special. Service was 1st class. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much bother for them - was there anything they didn't have on offer? Location is good, within easy walking distance of V and A, Natural History museum and Knightsbridge shops but the hotel is so quiet. We didn't hear a sound from our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed your special birthday with us and that the service was first class. I am thrilled that you felt that nothing was too much bother and that breakfast was also excellent. We are very lucky to be in such a wonderful location close to the V & A and all the wonderful shops on Brompton road.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Went there with my girlfriend
Had the best time excellent & clean hotel service & food perfect
The whole experience of the hotel was just amazing will recommend to my family & friends hope to visit u guys again when visiting London next can't wait

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Burnett66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review on the site and I am delighted that you and your girlfriend found the whole experience amazing and that the hotel was excellent, clean and that the service and food was perfect. Thank you also for recommending us to friends and family.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was my 3th trip to London and 2nd time I have stayed at the Egerton. It is a small boutique hotel with lovely rooms. Although small rooms, hey are each decorated differently. The baths are adequate size. The staff is always very helpful and the hotel is small enough, they always know you when you go in our out. The location is very convenient with many restaurants, shopping and one block from Brompton Road. Harrods is only a five minute walk away. I love this small hotel, with superior service and great location. It also has a great parlor with an honor bar and fireplace, which is great for relaxing and feeling at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRGVofficiel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us and I am thrilled that you returned for the second time and it was a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Our rooms do vary in size and are all very individual and we have 5 different categories. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a third visit when we will be more than happy to show you a selection of rooms that may better fit your needs.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff location, drawing room and I am very happy that you were relaxed and felt at home.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights with family and had a wonderful experience. The room that we stayed at was elegant and clean. Interior and decor is very nice and top notch (not to mention antique and expensive). The food was great and the service was excellent all through out our short stay here. If you got the money, stay here. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us and I am thrilled that you had a wonderful experience. I am also pleased that you thought that your room was elegant and clean and that the interior and decor was top notch. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the food and that the service was also excellent. It is what we pride ourselves on.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing