We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Staying with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent one week at the Egerton Hotel and could not have been more pleased with the hotel or the staff. The hotel is in a charming neighborhood where quiet streets of homes turn into streets with shops and or restaurants. Imagine turning a corner and seeing a small church in the middle of homes!

The location is close to the South Kensington Underground, Harrods’s and the Victoria & Albert Museum. We walked to Buckingham palace for the Changing of the Guard and did some great window shopping along Brompton Road.

The facilities were impeccably clean. Turn down service included tea or chocolates on the bed and a card with the next day’s weather. There was a lovely continental breakfast served every day consisting of fresh juices, croissants, pastries, smoked salmon, cheeses, meats, cold cereals and fresh fruit. A larger menu of hot foods is also available. Be sure not to insult your hosts and order a hot breakfast because the proper start to a good day is a full English breakfast! Meals are available throughout the day in the drawing room, bar or in your room. Afternoon tea is a must. The coronation chicken is very good and the scones with clotted cream are yummy! Add a glass of champagne to your meal and feel like a royal. Stop by the bar for a martini and a good story.

The staff! OMG…words cannot describe how awesome the staff is! Kind, considerate, professional, warm, and welcoming are some of the words that come to mind. Each day we were greeted with smiles and genuine caring about how we were spending our day or how we enjoyed our day. They are helpful regarding dinner recommendations/reservations, suggestions for entertainment or museum visits. We found the overall staff to be widely knowledgeable on a variety of topics and felt as if we were catching up with friends. They open the hotel door for you when you are leaving for the day and make sure you have a bottle or water or umbrella with you before you leave for the day.

We truly enjoyed our holiday. It was sad leaving people who had become part of our family. We encourage you to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodeye34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our great pleasure taking care on you on you recent visit to The Egerton House Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site on your return home. It is rewarding to hear that you could not have been more pleased with the hotel or the staff and that you also loved the neighbourhood. We are in a wonderful location just off the Brompton road with its iconic shops, close to South Kensington, Harrods and the Victoria & Albert museum but also but also located on a very quiet street.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the Continental breakfast. The full English is also delicious and a great way to start the day. Maybe next time we can tempt you? Our Afternoon tea is a wonderful treat and a must when visiting and add a glass of champagne to make it even more special. The martinis are not to be missed either and are indeed accompanied by some very interesting anecdotes.

We have a very dedicated team of people who are a fountain of knowledge when it comes to the best shows, restaurants, where to go, what to see and do, so I am thrilled that you appreciated their assistance and that you thought everyone was kind, considerate warm and welcoming at all times. We all love what we do and we want to do it to the best of our ability. It is our aim to provide all our guests with a memorable stay and I am so pleased that we did this for you and you were sad to leave.

I have passed your kind words to everyone who appreciate your time and wonderful feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully next year.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,


Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
235
671
90
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was lucky that my company booked me into this hotel on my last trip to London. My room was a bit on the small side but not a problem as I was traveling solo and it had everything I needed. Staff was extremely helpful. The location (near Knightsbridge) was great and really felt like home. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 362juliannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site following your stay with us in March and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry to hear that you felt that the room was a little on the small side but equally pleased that you felt it was it was not a problem and that you had everything that you needed. The location is indeed great and thank you for your kind comments about the staff which I have passed on to everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on a future trip to London and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Egerton House Hotel is definitely one of the best hotels I have stayed in London. The location, friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, the luxury elements are just perfect. Every little detail is thought of.

Only down side could be that the rooms are a little small. But it did not bother us much because we did not spend so much time in our rooms, and the rooms were equipped perfectly. The bar of the hotel is so nice that I don't think anyone would sit in their rooms.

I'm afraid what they need to work on is their breakfast. The continental breakfast is limited but normal although it costs 21 pounds. But the scrambled eggs and hash brown I have ordered to my room were a total disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zrekkal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us following your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you thought that it was the best hotel that you have ever stayed in. I am pleased that you liked the location, friendliness and attentiveness of staff and that the luxury elements were perfect.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that room was a little small but pleased that it was not an inconvenience and that you took advantage of our beautiful Drawing room and bar. I am also disappointed that you did not enjoy your breakfast and that you feel that it needs some work and I have discussed your feedback with our Food and Beverage Manager.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our recent stay at the Egerton was as if a friend with an elegant townhouse invited us for a visit and took care of the details. The location is a short walk to the Knightsbridge Underground station where one can connect with trains to points of interest(buy an Oyster Card). Each room in the house is uniquely appointed with antique pieces and art. The mattress and beddings are quite comfortable. Room amenities are excellent quality. The staff is very professional but not detached from the service that they provide. They are well-informed on restaurant recommendations, museum schedules, theater and sightseeing options. The only negative is having to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasteful_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site following your stay with us and I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and that you only negative was that you had to leave. The Egerton is indeed an elegant townhouse and our guests do become our friends.

We are very centrally located in the heart of Knightsbridge with goods links to buses and underground stations.

And our rooms are very comfortable and very unique and we do have a very large art collection. We also have a very knowledgeable team of dedicated people who are on hand to answer any questions you may have whether it be the best restaurant, the latest exhibition or the hottest show in town. Thank you for your very kind words which I have passed to everyone.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Gem of a hotel, fantastic staff, super comfy, relaxing and vibrant bar/lounge, and best afternoon tea ever! Thank you for making everything perfect right down to candlelit baths and the lovely little scented pouch for our luggage! We will be back

Room Tip: The rooms we had were small (35 & 45) , but so well appointed it didn't matter! There are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debiwhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you much for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us and The Egerton it is indeed a little gem. I am delighted that you felt that your overall stay was perfect and that you enjoyed the extra little touches. I do hope that the scented pillow will bring back nice memories of your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance in the meantime.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this hotel because of its close proximity to the Royal Albert Hall (around a 15 minute walk). It is seconds off Brompton Road and a very short walk away from Knightsbridge (Harrods etc) and in the opposite direction the museums (V&A, Science and Natural History) so we thought the location was excellent. We also strolled to the Kings Road which was a pleasant walk and afforded the opportunity to admire the many beautiful buildings along the way. The staff are really lovely and very attentive even though we were only there for one night. They kindly offered to book us a table in a local restaurant for dinner and offered us bottled water when we ventured out the next day as it was so hot. Breakfast was very nice. We had two rooms which were adjacent and had an additional door closing them off from the main landing; effectively making them interconnecting and we could prop each bedroom door open to give an added feeling of space. We did feel that there was a lot of furniture in each room but accepted this as the style. Best of all was that it was very quiet at night which is very important to us and I had a wonderful nights sleep. All in all a very good hotel; clean, comfortable and with excellent attentive staff. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site following your stay with us this month and I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that you thought the location was excellent, the staff were really lovely and attentive and that you were well looked after even though your stay was short.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast with us and that you liked your room combination. They are very comfortable and very quiet and I am delighted that you had a good nights sleep.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I use to come to this hotel when I came for holidays in London.
Everything was always perfect from the moment you come in to the moment you check out.
I still come to the bar for vodka martinis (which are the best in London to me) served by Antonio-
If you want to impress a girl for a cosy drink, this is the place of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, General Manager at Egerton House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of The Egerton and I am delighted to hear that while you do not have the need to stay anymore you still come to visit for one of Antonio’s vodka martinis. They are the best in London. We do hope that you will continue to return time after time and we thank you for your continued support.

Warm regards,

Michelle Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing