We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Efficient and excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
hertfordshire
1 review
“Efficient and excellent”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I recently discovered the Egerton, the location is superb and the hotel is beautiful, it is charming and the rooms are nicely decorated. But I am here to tell you about the staff and the service. It is and deserves to be NO1. friendly, efficient and consistent, they took care of all my requests and made my stay comfortable and memorable.

I returned to my company and ask them to recommend this hotel to all of our colleagues and will recommend it to anyone! I look forward to returning in September.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csbaylis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    83
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
241
694
91
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I was completely misled by the Reservation staff (Yorrick). I was promised the best suite in the hotel. Two bedrooms with ONE toilet, not pleasant with two teenagers. When I asked Reservation why they didn't inform me about the toilet, they said that "it was not their job to make people aware of the negative aspects of the accomodation". I was due to spend the last night of our European holiday in London and cancelled the Egerton and stayed at 47 Park Street. It was similarly priced and litorally, 10 times as nice. I would highly recommend the latter hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank ozijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My wife, daughter and i recently stayed at the wonderful Egerton, each time we come to London. We stay there, the service is exceptional, consistent and the staff are simply wonderful and friendly, it is a truly remarkable hotel. Thank you Egerton for always making our London trip a memorable one!

We will see you soon and recommend you to everyone

Ozlem-Canan-Atacan

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lithuania
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I recently stayed at this Beatiful hotel with my girlfriend, This was on first time as two young adults staying in London.The hotel is not only beautiful, but the staff are lovelly and extrenly friendly.Everyone looked after us and spoiled us.Wonderful , Wonderful, Wonderful.........

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Both myself and my wife have stayed in many hotels around the world but we have yet to be made feel more welcome or more comfortable than we were here. None of the stuffiness you would expect of a hotel of this calibre, the place oozes charm, the staff go out of their way to help you and think of what you might need before you do. The candlelit turndown of our room at night was so thoughtful and the bar with Antonio at the helm has a mix of locals and guests that is always entertaining. This hotel is the complete opposite to box chain hotels and our king sized bedroom with original high ceilings was perfectly turned out. If staying in an 18th Century townhouse, in an aristocratic neighbourhood where your every wish is taken care of quickly and efficiently and above all with charm, then this is the place for you. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I chose this hotel because of it's No1 ranking on Trip Advisor. My expectations were therefore very high. Yes the service is wonderful, and the bed fantastic, and the attention to detail superb. And the hotel did give us access to our room at 7.30 am, for which we were very grateful. BUT there are some issues - whilst in a quiet street, you do get some traffic noise from 6am from Brompton Road, though the person taking my booking assured me that there was no traffic noise ( please note that I am particularly sensitive to noise) My daughter could not unpack her bag, as the cupboard space was small (though this may not be the case in other rooms, though we had one of the largest rooms); you could hear the people walking in the room above and the people watching TV in the room next door ( though they were reprimanded by the staff as the volume was on extremely high )...and finally the bathroom shower ( shower in bath) is not the best . Having said all of this we did have a wonderful stay at the hotel - and I would recommend it for its location, bed and service.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My wife and I enjoyed two nights at the Egerton House Hotel on 16th & 17th July. Although we arrived late our welcome was wonderful and we were shown to our room (43).

The room is one of the smaller ones in the hotel but offered plenty of room for our cases, work items etc and most importantly enough space to get ready and relax.

The décor is stunning, designed to the highest quality and very tasteful. The bathroom was full of Penhaligon products, soft towels, slippers and robes.

We ordered room service and enjoyed calamari (7/10) and rump steak (10/10).

Next morning we had a breakfast meeting and were looked after by super efficient staff. By super efficient I mean we didn’t have to wait for plates to be cleared, teapots to be refreshed or food to be served. It just happened with grace and style – very nice.

We worked outside of London for the day and arrived back just in time for a quick drink before getting ready for dinner.

I could write pages about the experience in The Egerton bar but let’s just say it’s worth a stay just to experience Antionio and his ‘performance’!

Enjoying a Gin & Tonic and a beer was fun but the real show began a little later when we went back to back to the bar for a pre dinner Martini.

We met with two friends, found a corner in the exquisite lounge, Anotino arrived and the show began. I say show because this is no normal Martini experience. I’ll leave it there because like a film review you don’t want me to reveal the plot but I’d give the performance an Oscar (and you couldn’t drink more than one!).

Then just when we thought it couldn’t get better we were introduced to Alex. He was known to us as the very polite and efficient young man who checked us in the night before. But for five minutes he left his post came over to our table and sang – and boy can he sing. His operatic performance was extraordinary – shivers down my spine and open mouthed stunned responses from our guests.

We enjoyed dinner at a restaurant a few minutes away (there a dozens on the doorstep) before heading back to the bar for a night cap – or two.

Saturday morning breakfast was relaxed and with the service open until 11 there was no hurry (we were still sat with papers and coffee at 11.45).

Our stay was completed with a visit to the Victoria & Albert Museum which is only a five minutes walk from the hotel.

At the time of writing Edgerton House is the No1 Hotel in London on Trip Advisor – well deserved and well judged.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Star_Service_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#2 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing