We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find, Convenient location, nice atmosphere, very expensive phone calls though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Egerton House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“Great Find, Convenient location, nice atmosphere, very expensive phone calls though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

I had stayed at the hotel in the past and have been very satisfied. the rooms are nice and comfortable. Great location near Harrods, nice staff. Fun bar (great for nightcaps). Good breakfast buffet. Free Wifi (in room too). The bed is very comfortable, nice touches include lighted candle at night in rrom, adequate lighting (although bedlights could be improved). I was very disappointed by the charges of 3 pounds per call from the room phone, for any outside call (even if tool free, free phone or credit card call). This is not clearly advertised, and in any event is a vastly excessive charge. For instance, if you make 10 external calls and you bill them to your telephone card, you will still pay 30 pounds to the Hotel, plus the actual call charges. Use skype or your cell phone instead!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
235
671
90
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We originally planned to just have a special wedding 'high tea' at this hotel, but based on their fantastic service and friendliness we decided to spend our wedding night there. It was one of the biggest highlights of the day. (Apart from the "i do's" of course)

The hotel staff is beyond fantastic. We came back to a hotel room covered in rose pedals and tea lights. The rooms are beautiful and every detail is considered. Every one (without exception) of our guests that was with us at the high tea commented on how amazing the hotel was and how friendly everyone there is. My husband and myself have already decided instead of anniversary gifts we will spend our wedding anniversary night in this hotel every year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Location of the Egerton House is perfect for shopping, bars, restaurants and museums -
all within easy walking distance.
Rooms are first class and tastefully furnished. Although close to all you would need to do and see (easy walk to underground stations) there was no noise from outside and the bed was supremely comfortable. OK, there is the occasional distant creak from the odd floor board but that is to be expected from such an old building.
There is parking available close by on the roadside but be sure to read the signs as the wardens are very keen on their duty !!
Breakfast is as good as (and better than) many 5 star hotels we've stayed at In the past We've always stayed in larger London hotels of high quality but we're so glad that we found the Egerton House & so will you be !!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Severnsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Staying at this hotel is like being in a private residence just steps from the main street where you'll find Harrod's, the Victoria and Albert Museum, et. al. And the staff couldn't be better. However, the room we had was tiny. Since it wasn't the cheapest room, we were a little surprised. There was really no room to walk from the bed to the closet. For your clothes, there were a few of the narrowest drawers that you might put handkerchiefs in plus a few shelves that were unreachable unless you stood on a chair. The room would be OK for solo business travelers, which the hotel seemed to attract.
If I were going to London alone, this would be the perfect hotel. You would feel comfortable eating alone or having a drink alone at the charming bar. And the staff is wonderful beyond words.
Now, if they could only make those rooms a bit larger...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fornovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, IN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

My wife and I just finished a weeks stay at the Edgertown House Hotel. The physical plant of the hotel itself is superb. The public areas are beautifully decorated and very functional. Our room was also very tastefully decorated, comfortable and equipped with all of the amenities. That said, however, the most salient feature of this hotel is the outstanding staff. We had stayed in many fine hotels and resorts but I would have to say that the staff at this hotel are the best we have ever encountered. It is obvious that the management here strives to select staff members who truly care about their guests. Each of the staff persons we encountered went out of their way to welcome us, make us comfortable during our stay and to assist us, in every way, in making our trip to London a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

My recent three night stay at the Egerton House Hotel was exceptional in every way. The staff are incredibly professional, positive, dedicated and hard-working. They deal with a very difficult airline for three days to help retrieve my baggage. This allowed me to see what I could of London. The food is exceptional and the room and dining room service is excellent. The bedroom was spacious; the bathroom a joy in space and amenities. The Egerton is within walking distance of much of London or a very short taxi away from other districts. The staff are attentivew without being intrusive. They made my Red Carnation Hotel stay perfect in every detail...I consider the Egerton House Hotel my 'home' in London, UK.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the wonderful Egerton in September we had a room on the 3rd floor, the room was traditional in Style but the Hotel is very 21st century. The service is wonderful, staff are efficient and friendly. We were made to feel at home and they looked after us so well that we were sad to leave.

We recommend this fantastic hotel to anyone who appreciate over and above a good service, attention to detail and glamorous 5*+ surroundings in one of the best parts of London!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cihandubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton House Hotel

Property: Egerton House Hotel
Address: 17-19 Egerton Terrace, London SW3 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in London
#3 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Egerton House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Egerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing