We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in Chelsea”
Review of San Domenico House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Domenico House
Ranked #563 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Certainly the location is not to be faulted, just steps from Kings Rd and. Sloane Square tube. Checkin was efficient and speedy. The room, a deluxe at the rear of the hotel was spacious. Disappointingly the TV was very small, and too far away from the bed to facilitate viewing once au lit. To watch it comfortably required moving the small chairs to the centre of the room.
The bed could have been bigger, and poor quality pillows with no substance gave me a stiff neck.
The bathroom was functional, but needed upgrading in terms of decor. The flooring looked as though it was unfinished and was somewhat harsh on the feet. The decorative finish needed sprucing up, as did the chipped doorframe paint.
Breakfast was fine, although the room was a little chilly in atmosphere with an overwhelming chintziness not to my taste.

In short the accommodation was acceptable but somewhat characterless, lacking that warmth that would make me feel I would return.
One tip if staff prefer their office messy, best keep the door shut so guests can't see it.

Room Tip: 106 faces a quieter road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwenllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Wanted a romantic hotel in the heart of London. We stayed for 2 nights. Paid £264 per night not including breakfast for a Junior Suite . Ended up feeling as if it was a huge waste of money with really bad value. Here is why:

1. Room way too small to be categorized as a Junior Suite. We stayed in room 303
2. Bed was two queen mattresses combined - not one big king. How is a huge uncomfortable gap in the middle of the bed considered romantic?? and especially in a Junior Suite!
3. Room service managed to mess up our order, providing a salad instead of a sandwich, and without even providing the cutlery to eat the salad.
4. Disgusting smell of fried eggs in the morning from the kitchen . We were on the 3rd floor (!!!), and it came from the stairs inside of the hotel! Every morning the most horrific smell all over the room. made us both feel sick. again, how is this romantic??
5. Bathroom was tiny, with a shower in a bath that was for one dirty with black marks in corners, as well as a really nasty shower head and with no curtain, resulting with water all over the place and feeling really disgusted by the whole state of the room. Again, is this supposed to be romantic?

At the rate we paid we could have ended up with way better value for our money than this place. As it was a short stay, we decided to keep our thoughts to ourselves and simply make the best of what we were offered.

We will not be returning, and I can not recommend this hotel to anyone. stay away if you value your money and want real quality!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lorien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Booked a couple of rooms at the San Domenico for myself, fiancée, mother and sister to take advantage of some Christmas shopping and a show in London for a birthday.

Upon arrival, the warm and cosy reception with a roaring fire really helped to warm us up, the staff were very attentive and even upgraded our room.

Both rooms were fantastic, clean, just the right temperature, with even fruit and chocolates for my fiancée for her birthday. The little things had been well thought through.

We had some coffee's in the lounge, and the next morning a lovely breakfast.

I would urge anyone thinking of staying, do it, you will not be disappointed. It's literally a stone’s throw from slone square, great for shopping and the tube into Knightsbridge.

We will be back, thank you San Domenico for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This warm and welcoming hotel is amazing! I stayed there by chance as I needed to be within the Chelsea area. I have to say it was a pleasant surprise. The hotel has so much character and is run by the most exceptional team. The rooms are spacious and very well decorated. The bed is comfortable and the bathrooms are pristine! I recommend this hotel if you'd like to spend a lovely weekend in London with someone special. The only minor con is that it is a bit too pricy. However, you do get the occasional offer every now and then.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We sold an apartment we had in central London as it was just too much effort and cost to maintain whilst living abroad, much better to check into the very "swish" San Domenico House.
Located minutes away from Sloane Square and in a quiet side street it couldn't be more central. The Kings Road is a block away, Harrods close by as is Victoria Station and the Gatwick Express and taxis pass along all the time, so getting anywhere is no problem.

This Boutique Hotel situated in what once was a private house has retained a personal charm and intimacy. The rooms have been decorated in a very chic manner and are warm and friendly though small. Everything is clinically clean, rose petals in the loo and fine toiletries in the bathroom. The shower could do with a booster as the water, though hot exited only as a firm trickle and some form of hand grip is lacking. Standing in a bath with shower gel on one's feet and trying to balance while washing can prove lethal.

The small lounge in the entrance is cosy and welcoming, service is sometimes a little slow but this really is because the hotel is small and does not run with a huge number of staff. Many of the staff are from Puglia Italy where the (mother) Masseria is situated, from good families and in London to learn the language and do their utmost to serve clients well.

The delightful little Breakfast Room in the basement is beautifully furnished and well worth a visit. The Continental Breakfast comes with fresh warm breads, pastries and croissants and invigorating hot coffee, perfect for starting the day and does not cost the £14.00 which is being quibbled about, only if it is Room Service. A full English Breakfast is served too.

Shortly before leaving for London I read a vitriolic review written by the ex-house owner who sold to San Domenico. 'Fiona' must have had a mouthful of sour grapes because the San Domenico proved to be quite an enchanting find and somewhere I will readily recommend and use again on my next visit to London.

Room Tip: The doors are Fire Doors so many guests are not considerate enough to close carefully without bangin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scorpioLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great staff, a very different and boutique hotel in the heart of London. we had a lovely room on two levels and a four poster bed. it has a very Italian feel and the service is excellent and very personal - they had even scattered rose petals in the loo!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Hotel is very convenient as it is in Central London. A short walk Sloane Square Tube Station.The Kings Road is just around the corner. The rooms have a lot of character and are very spacious. would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie_bird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#32 of 1,081 in London
733 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#86 of 1,081 in London
917 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#213 of 1,081 in London
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#530 of 1,081 in London
652 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#277 of 1,081 in London
483 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico House

Address: 29-31 Draycott Place, London SW3 2SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in London
#183 Romantic Hotel in London
#343 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £171 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico House 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Hotel housed in a red brick Victorian terrace dating from the 1860s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Domenico House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Domenico House Hotel London
San Domenico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing