We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A spur of the moment treat!”
Review of San Domenico House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Domenico House
Ranked #532 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A spur of the moment treat!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I didn't mean to stay here! I had booked somewhere else but didn't like it and fortunately managed to get their last room here at the last minute!

What luck. This is a super place to stay, just off the Kings Road in Draycott Place. It is Italian owned with charming Italian staff and elegant decor. On a cold, wet London night a roaring fire and candles makes for a great welcome.

The gallery bedroom was large and comfortable with everything one could wish for. Good selection of toiletries in the bathroom. Only thing missing for me was a make-up mirror!

Unfortunately I did not get a chance to have breakfast but I'll be sure to rectify that on my next visit. There definitely will be one. What a great find.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theglossy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    47
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
75
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very conviently located on a side street between Sloane square & Kings Road perfect for visiting Chelsea area.
This hotel is owed by an Italian family and you could tell with all the nice little touches scattered around amongst the what would be a classic historic English building.
Not a great check in though, the receptionist, never stood up while going through the usual formalities,not even when we left her desk with the bell boy as a matter of coutesy.
The room was ready on time & was very nice, crisp bed linen,with turn down service & a Ferrero Roche on the pillow, niche.Wasn't cheap but ..in central London....in Chelsea???
I would revisit again we didn't have breakfast at San Domenico,but Tom Aikens Kitchen restaurant is near by,with celebrity & their security included

Room Tip: They are all good & roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinumest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This place is as close as it gets to a home in London. It is a top-class boutique hotel in an amazing location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It has a very calm atmosphere. Interiors are in very well maintained and are decorated with antiques and beautiful fabrics.

SanDomenico is so special that it makes me happy to go back again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G_AKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night and loved it! The room was amazing and the staff was very friendly. The room was very spacious. The hotel had a real family feel to it, which is hard to find in central London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dansker_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My first impression was whether the scaffolding which covered half the building would affect my room. It did not, but it did block the view of my friend's room despite being told that it would not. The Junior Suite Deluxe was a special room and worth paying for (though find a special rate if you can). As others have reviewed. the whole experience would be better if there were newspapers and tea/coffee available. Having said all that, the staff were exceptional, especially when the sad news came through of a family bereavement and my friend's plans were disrupted. The staff were helpful in every way and even provided some complimentary refreshments. The toiletries were especially good, but be aware that if you require an evening turndown you should either request it or make sure you leave your key if going out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed one night in our honeymoon trying to avoid the typical big chain hotels and discovered this great alternative hotel in Chelsea.

Location is just fantastic, 2 mins walk to Sloane Square in a very nice and quiet area. The rooms are very nice, with a classic touch and great attention to detail.

The staff, friendly and professional, made us feel like at home just by walking though the door.

The terrace, if you´re luck enough to catch a sunny day (and we did!) is great for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The location is great, 5 mins from the tube and situated down a quite side street. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a four-poster suite and was lush. Decorated to a high standard and with some gorgeous furniture. The bathroom and toiletriies were also lovely although the shower head leaked and was coming away from the wall slightly. There were no tea/coffee faciliities in the room which was a disappointment but other than that, the room, the hotel and staff were great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_FLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#99 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#221 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#23 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#498 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#190 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Chelsea
The Franklin
The Franklin
#552 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Domenico House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico House

Property: San Domenico House
Address: 29-31 Draycott Place, London SW3 2SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#155 Business Hotel in London
#183 Romantic Hotel in London
#331 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico House 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Hotel housed in a red brick Victorian terrace dating from the 1860s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your San Domenico House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Domenico House Hotel London
San Domenico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing