We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #136 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is a great family holiday hotel. Great location close to restaurants, supermarkets, pubs and tube. Only real negative is that this proximity means it can be quite noisy. Would definitely ask for a higher floor which helps. Wifi free but very patchy constantly dropping out which was a nuisance. Two bathrooms were a bonus which we weren't expecting.

Staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom 2 bath apartment for 6 nights. We were in apartment 2E. The other reviews here were spot on.
 
First, the location along Earl's Court Road, couldn't be better. The tube station is a 3 min walk away. Earl's court tube is served by the picadilly line direct from heathrow airport, which also goes directly to leicester square in the heart of london. It is also served by the district line, so getting to the museums ( you could walk to the v&a and Natural History Museum if you so choose actually, it's pretty close), and other parts of London is not an issue.

Along earl's court road itself are 4 supermarkets and 2 asian minimarts off on the side streets, should you need ready meals, groceries etc. There are 3 banks, 2 currency exchange shops, cages, pubs, a boots pharmacy and 2 kebab shops. There's burger king, macD's KFC, Costa coffee, nando's, Gregg's and pret a manger rounding up the food chain shops available. All these are literally at your doorstep. 

A note on groceries: buy/bring washing  powder for the front loading washing machine. They provide washing up liquid, dishwasher detergent in the apartment. 

Next, the staff. They were very accomodating and friendly, allowing us to leave our luggage there when we arrived early as well as leave some behind while we went to visit other parts of the UK via rail for a few days (we were coming back for a second stay). They were excellent!

The apartment was very spacious, and could have slept up to eight! There was a modern kitchen with oven, induction cooktop, microwave, front loading washer, dryer and dishwasher. All utensils, crockey pots, pans etc were clean and provided, and the kitchen knives were sharp! Many service apartments I have stayed in never bothered to check on the state of the knives on the kitchen.

The three bedrooms were clean and the  toilets were modern and well appointed. Toilets were spotlessly clean. There was a rain shower in both toilets and a bath in one. Shampoo and shower gel are provided.
 
One bedroom had three beds, it was huge and could have had another bed put in! The second bedroom had 2 beds and the last one had a queen sized bed and was ensuite.
There was a large dining/ living room, as well as a large breakfast counter in the kitchen.
We had plenty of space to cook and eat in the kitchen. They provide some coffee, tea, sugar and milk in the kitchen to start you off so if you are staying longer than a few days, you might want to get more from the grocery store. Nevertheless, the staff were quite happy to bring up some coffee and sugar when we ran out.

We booked the mansions at quite a good rate, they had a deal where you book for 6 nights and pay for 5, and that made it all the sweeter. It's best to make your bookings through their own website, as far as you can in advance, then you would be able to communicate directly with them your particular needs and requirements. Also, ask for an apartment on the lift level if you have lots of luggage. 

As it is an older building, the floors do creak at night and some creaking can be heard from the apartment above sometimes , but not really an issue.    
  
For our return stay, we were in a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom apartment. It was apartment 8. this was substantially smaller with a much smaller bathroom. There was no shower gel in there but just soap. There was a combined washer dryer, so doing the laundry was much slower. Kitchen was clean and all appliances, cutlery were clean and serviceable.
We had some problem with the boiler and had no hot water for our shower, but the service staff were very helpful, coming up to reset the boiler and even offering an alternative location to shower should we need it. Thankfully everything turned out ok and although this was a much smaller apartment, it was adequate.

If you have 5 people in your party, go for a larger 2 bedroom 2 bath apartment or even better, the 3 bedroom apartments. Also remember to book as far in advance as you can to ensure your choice of apartment.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrChristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for choosing No1 The Mansion and for taking the time to write a very detailed review of our apartments which will help other Trip Advisor visitors. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The three and four bedroom apartments are our 'Mansion Type' apartments and are a lot larger than other apartments at the property. These apartments have period features with high ceilings and are approximately 1400 sq ft in size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here with our friends for a week to explore London. Will sleep 7 with ease in beds. Very close to Earls Court tube.
Good layout but the kitchen was not close to the dining area if you feel like cooking. Great bathrooms and showers, comfy beds and very good lounge area. Easy walking distance to all amenities.
Traffic noise from road was a little noisy until you got used to it.
Would recommend as very good value for money.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for choosing No1 The Mansion and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other Trip Advisor visitors. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Earls Court Road is a busy road like most roads in London but the property is in a great location just a few minutes walk from Earls Court tube station with lots of restaurants, cafes and supermarkets nearby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Had a chance to stay at No 1 The Mansions in June 2012 with my family. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom + 1 Bathroom apartment. The apartments are situated in a period building, very close to the Earl's Court station. The best thing about the building is its location. It is 5 mins away from the Tube, restaurants (Indian, Mid Eastern, English), M&S, Sainsbury - perfectly suited for anyone staying here.
The apartment itself is a little small in size with small bedrooms. The kitchen is very well stocked and has all the utensils, etc.
Very clean apartment, daily cleaning and changing service, very helpful staff - we had a really nice time staying at the apartment and will like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for choosing No1 The Mansion and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other Trip Advisor visitors. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

A group of 11 friends rented two 3 bedroom apts for one week in November 2012. The well decorated rooms were clean and spacious, the bathrooms and kitchens updated and modern. Kitchen had washer/dryer combo, dishwasher, pots/pans/dishes/cutlery. One of the bathrooms had a non-functioning toilet, so the front desk (after some firm negotiation) moved one couple temporarily until it was fully fixed. Would definitely stay there again. Ask for a room in the back, as the single glazing lets in a lot of street noise, which goes 24/7 as Earl's Court is a main road. The location is 1.5 blocks of the District tube line. There are many good restaurants/take aways on Earl's Court and an excellent Bin-End liquor store close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, i.e. not on Earl's Court Road, as single glazing lets in a lot of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We would like to thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for inconvenience caused by the unfunctioning toilet for the first few days of your stay and we hope the additional apartment helped make your stay more confortable. We look forward to hearing from you on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This was not my first time in the Mansions in Earls Court. But I always choose to return, because I feel like at home. This time we stayed in an apartment 1 bedroom, 1 living and a bathroom. The bathroom was clean and it seems very new in comparison with the apartment, the kick hen was full completely except my Apartamentos didn't have washing machines, it has a fully clothe machine with dryer included. It is confortable, clean, warm in winte.
The location is Bue good because you are 2 blocks fromt the tube station, and Earls Court is a distribution point of a lot of Importantes. Really I hope to return again.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank SilvinaBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We would like to thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to The Mansions in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Four adults and our 2 year old granddaughter stayed here for 4 nights whilst we covered the Baby Show at Earls Court for Pitterpac. The location for us was spot on -just a short walk each day to the exhibition hall. Reception staff were lovely, very obliging and courteous. Our apartment was on the 5th floor,( apartment 4) which was reached by a very quaint old lift. The apartment was very spacious. There were two bedrooms, one with twin beds the other with a double bed. A travel cot was provided. The apartment was very clean,beds were comfortable and the towels were changed on a daily basis during the week. A maid service is also provided on weekdays so if you need towels changed over the weekend the reception staff will oblige before office closing on Friday. The only criticism I have is that the apartment was a little dated in places. The bathroom certainly needed updating. The website for the apartments shows a very modern style bathroom-unfortunately ours was nothing like the one portayed. The decor and curtains need to be upgraded. The flat has secondary glazing in the double bedroon but one panel of the glazing was missing in the twin bedroom which did make it quite noisy at night time; The kitchen was fairly new with dishwasher, fridge/freezer and washing machine. Dishwasher powder etc is provided. They also provide a limited amount of tea, coffee sachets and milk. There is a Marks and Spencers over the road and a Co-op a little further down the road for groceries and ready made meals. Earls Court tube station is a short walk away soeasy access to all parts of London. Earls Court Road has a good variety of restaurants catering for all tastes.

Room Tip: When booking I would advise you to ask which apartment you are getting as the flat we were in certai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at No1 The Mansion and thank you for your comments. We are constantly updating the apartments decor and furnishings. We have planned to upgrade the bathroom in the coming months and we are addressing the issue with the window and replaing glass to the secondary glazing.
No1 The Mansions is ideally located close to Earls Court tube station and there's a wide selection of restaurants and convenient stores nearby.
We look forward to hearing from you soon on your next visit to London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#47 of 1,076 in London
267 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,076 in London
3,803 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#139 of 1,076 in London
869 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £129 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing