We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #142 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in one of the studio apartments and found it to be perfectly adequate for the two of us. It's great to be able to wash your own clothes and if you want cook your own food. It's close to the Earls Court underground station with some lovely pubs and restaurants handy. The staff were always helpful when required. The only negative was that the lift only works when both doors are shut properly, so we grew to hate people who didn't do this. Would recommend especially if you're wanting to stay for more than a few nights in London.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for choosing No1 The Mansions and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other Trip Advisor visitors. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with guests leaving the lift doors open during your stay. We do hope guests take note of the signs in the lift and on each floor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    132
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
222
20
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After a very long 23 hour trip from Oz this apartment was comfortable and had everything we needed as a base to see London. Earls Court train station and shopping strip (5 min) was a 2 minute walk and access to connections like Big Bus were a short 10 minute walk each day. We ended up getting a tourist Oyster card for each adult (kids under 12 travel free) which made getting around really easy.

We were on the top floor so the kids made a game of running up the 103 stairs (there is an elevator by the way). Some minor cosmetics like plaster/wall paper lifting could be attended to but really this is minor and the apartment was a home away from home. Staff were helpful and the transfer from Heathrow was speedy and completely necessary after a long trip. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjencait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback, please be reassured your comments will be passed to our management team for review. We are pleased you enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Mansions. We had a 2 bedroom apartment that was for our family of 5. The pullout in the lounge was comfortable for my 14 & 16 year old and my 18 year old had a her own room. Fully equipped kitchen and close to the tube and local shops & pubs. There is a laundromat just down the road as the washer/dry in the apartment couldn't cope with all the washing for 5 adults. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are delighted too hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at No1 The Mansions. Our apartments are individually designed and decorated, with different layouts to suit varied needs with some apartments having a separate kitchen and some with an open plan layout. Offering a home from home feel. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
344 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Staying here in a 3 bedroom apartment with friends for 6 nights. The facilities and proximity to everything is brilliant. We are able to have some personal space, given that we have a dining room as well as a lounge room and the kitchen is well equipped and we are able to cater for ourselves with ease. The bedrooms are reasonable and have a separate bathroom. The staff have been fantastic and rearranged a "botched" transfer on arrival at teh airport with a minimum of fuss. highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at No1 The Mansions and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in a 3-bedroom, 2-bath apartment on the first floor, in late July during a heat wave in London. Although the apartment was stuffy when we first entered, by closing sun-facing windows and blinds during the day and opening windows at night, the temperature was pleasant. There is a fan in each bedroom, and the white noise they provided blocked most of the street noise that we heard from the windows facing the side street. I can imagine, however, that if you were on a higher floor or in an apartment facing Earl's Court Road, the heat and/or noise might be an issue.

For us, however, the experience was a real treat. It was nice to spend our 5 days in London in such a posh neighborhood with so many conveniences close by. We shopped at Marks and Spencer's on the way home from the tube station most days, and saved a lot of money by eating breakfast and most dinners in the apartment. The flat itself was spacious and even had French doors that opened onto a lovely inner courtyard. We were able to have breakfast at a little table just outside. The kitchen and especially the two bathrooms were modern and well-equipped. The weekday daily maid service was a treat I'm not used to when outside hotels, and the maid even did our dishes and pots and pans.

At first I was a little overwhelmed by the price, but in the end, it was well worth it to have such lovely and convenient accommodations at the end of long days of sight-seeing. It will be hard for our family to ever go back to hotel accommodations after this experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a flat on the first floor (cooler and no elevator hassles), and one that does not face Earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment for 4 days in July 2013.
Our teeenage children had their bedroom with two twin beds and ample storage space. My husband and I had a small bedroom with a double bed (1,40 m wide/ not queen). The bathroom was OK, but not very large (in spite of having rented one with a large bathroom - only soap provided). The apartment had a fully-equipped kitchen, with oven, microwave, refrigerator w/freezer, dishwasher (soap provided) and washer/dryer (laundry soap not provided, drying function not very useful, washing cycle about 1 hour), It was good to have some coffee/tea and sugar packs available for morning breakfast.
The living room was comfortable, with a sofabed, an individual couch and a table for 4 to 6 people.
The apartment is "serviced" Mon-Fri. Beds are made, bathroom tidied up. No actual cleaning that you may notice.
The apartment was quite worn and dated (especially tapestry and carpets). I guess this may change as painting in the corridors of our floor (5th) was underway. To be honest, I expected more cared and cleaned rooms, with the luxurious feeling pictured in the website.
Check-in was better than expected as we arrived about 1 am due to flight delays and closing of Heathrow airport. We were warmly welcomed after an extremely long trip.
Location is residential, with convenience stores (M&S and others) across the street or very close by. Restaurants of all types just a stone's throw away (fast food, Greek, Irish).
Earl's Court tube station is about 2 blocks and connects with Heathrow directly.
As regards the noise, our apartment was quiet, facing the rear of the building, but I imagine that the apartments facing Earl's Court Road (has traffic) may be noisy.
The weather was extremely hot during our stay, so sleeping at night was a difficult task - no fresh air came in through the fully-openned windows. As in many places in Europe, this building has no air conditioning and out apartment got really warm after a hot day.
Please make sure to close the elevator door tightly to avoid other guests from having to climb up 5 floors!
Pros and cons weighted, we still preferred it to a hotel room and would probably stay here again (especially if the apartments are refurbished!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaHormiguitaViajera0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment in August. It had everything we needed for our one week stay in London in the summer - Washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, outdoor terrace with seating, wifi, lounge and dining room, etc. it truly felt like home away from home, and the receptionist was so friendly and pleasant. Less than 5 minutes walk to earls court station, restaurants, bars, marks and Spencers food, and other shops. If I had to be picky and complain about something, the wifi connection was a bit weak. Oh, and daily (weekday) cleaning service provided too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#165 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Property: No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing