We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #157 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 5 mature age adults looking for a base for a weeks stay in London.
We had a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment which was clean and huge with massive dining and lounge rooms. Furnished with lovely antique furniture and fully functional kitchen, we appreciated the hotel quality beds and strong hot showers.
Very comfortable and within 2 block walk to the subway, which makes this a great spot to all major sights. Great pubs all around.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    135
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
234
20
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in Unit 10 which was up a flight of stairs from the 5th floor for 6 nights. A great 2 bedroom, 1 smallish bathroom apartment, very clean & serviced daily (except weekends). We were met & the shown the apartment by Paul who lived on site. Very friendly & helpful. There is also a travel agency off the foyer who were very helpful when we needed advise. There was a bit of traffic noise the loudest being emergency service vehicle sirens but to be expected as on a busy road. I didn't find this too much of a problem. My friend stayed in the single bedroom & found the noise from the elevator a bit bothersome. Only 5 minute walk to the underground station & bus stops & to a couple of supermarkets, an assortment of shops & chemists & a choice of pubs in either direction. Harrods is only a couple of stations away & the city only another few stations further. Earls Court Station has a direct line to Heathrow airport which only took about 30 minutes & cost £5.70. Much quicker & cheaper than a taxi.

Room Tip: Apartments not facing Earls Court Rd would be a bit quieter. Had to walk up 1 flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent two nights in "The Mansions" and we (two couples) found our apartment to be clean, spacious and comfortable. The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment suited us down to the ground. The bedrooms were roomy and the lounge and kitchen were spacious and well equipped - the washing machine was great as we had just spent several weeks traveling and were about to spend 10 days in Greece we had quite a bit of washing to do and although I could not get the dryer to work (??) - the clothes horse dried our things just great. We found the staff to be friendly and attentive. The hotel is close to 2 underground stations and there is no shortage of shops and bars and restaurants in the area which we found to be quite busy but there are plenty so that's not a problem really. We have traveled to London on several occasions - this is the first time we've stayed on this side and we were not disappointed and would be happy to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanBaby1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We really appreciate taking your time to write a review on our apartments and service. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights from (20th April - 25th April), we were 4 adults. We had booked and paid for a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom small apartment but when we checked in around 7.30pm we were given a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment. We were gobsmacked with how much space there was. The apartment was very nicely furnished and decorated. The kitchen well stocked for cooking and the washing machine and dryer an added advantage. VEry comfortable homely place to stay. I don't remember which number apartment we stayed in but it was on the first level above reception.

The bedroom facing the road was a little noisy throughout the night but nothing an earplug didn't fix. The location is wonderful, with the walk just 2 minutes to Earls Court Underground station.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this amazing apartment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank for your recent review of our apartments. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you were lucky enough to experience the upgrade to one of our "Mansion Type" apartments. The 3 bedroom apartments sleep 7 persons and are approximately 1400 sq ft in size. Great for larger families or two families travelling together. We are very sorry to hear you were disturbed by the traffic noise at night but glad to hear it didn't spoil your vacation. No1 The Mansions is ideally situated just a few minutes walk from Earls Court Tube station and close by to numerous shops, restaurants and cafes. We look forward to welcoming in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our unit was #11 in The Mansions 1.
We are a family of 4 who travelled to London from Los Angeles in late April 2014. We travel several times a year (both for business and pleasure), and almost always hire a travel agency to handle our travel plans. This trip was booked with an agent, which is how we were introduced to The Mansions. We wanted extra space during this trip, so a hotel wasn't the best option - The Mansions offered lots of room in a good location at a reasonable price.
Had we known that our stay at The Mansions would be so frustrating and problematic, we would have gladly crammed into a small hotel room at a nice hotel where we would have been well taken care of, treated with respect, and been completely happy.
We checked into our "non-smoking" apartment with one of the bedrooms thick with the smell of cigarette smoke. We opened the window (to air it out) that opened onto a lovely terrace - which sounds beautiful except for the fact that outside of that window was at least 25+ cigarette butts all over the ground (probably just flicked out of the bedroom window!) The housekeeping staff hadn't even bothered to clean the terrace between guests checking in and out, let alone change the blankets or bedspread which both reeked of smoke! In a non-smoking property, I can't imagine somebody on staff would not have noticed this situation waaaaay before we checked in.
After that was all cleaned up, we were all ready to get showered and start our vacation…..but wait….no hot water! During our entire 7 day stay at The Mansions, we never had more than 3-5 minutes of hot water on any morning! Only one person could take a hot shower….the others had to shower at other times during the day or night. We called the front office about this problem as soon as we realized it - they sent somebody to look at it immediately. We heard the maintenance man telling the front office that there was a problem with a shut off switch and that a plumber needed to be called. A plumber was called. He came. He said the problem was fixed, but that the unit had a very small boiler. This unit was a 3 bedroom apartment!! A family of 4 should be able to shower without a problem. The hot water problem was never fixed. Another annoying thing that happened that just added to our irritation was that one of the mornings we were awoken to a knock at our door - it was a refrigerator delivery service company arriving unannounced to switch out the fridge in our unit. Thanks for letting us know front office!!! We complained every single day - we were told that there was nothing more they could do about whatever we were calling about. We contacted the management company for The Mansions (CW Lamley & Co.) in hopes that they would be able to help us. Unfortunately, the gentleman we were put in touch with there was not at all sympathetic - in fact, he acted as if we were being unreasonable. Customer service and guest relations is definitely a weakness at this establishment.
With all of the amazing places there are to stay in a fabulous city like London, do your research and make sure you pick a place that is as happy to have you there, as you are to be there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 886Duff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We are very sorry you felt it necessary to post a very negative review like this even though we have been in direct communication with you and offered a gesture of goodwill but no a reply. We addressed the issues in a timely manner and as far as we understood the plumber had fixed the problem with the water, which was not due to a small boiler in fact it was an airlock in the system. The maids and an external company professionally cleaned the curtains, bedspreads, etc. With regards to the delivery of the fridge, a huge apology was given for disturbing you at 10:30am. On a final note, the reception staff did care and provided you with wine and chocolates and an offer of a credit for a future stay. Please be assured we do as much as we possibly can to ensure our guests enjoy themselves and take any complaint very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We loved every aspect of our stay at the Mansions. Our 2 bed apartment (2 adults 2 children) was spacious, quiet and private. We even had enough room to entertain a few guests in the lounge/dining room. A nice dining table meant we could sit down to a leisurely breakfast in the mornings before heading out into the bustle of London. Felt like home away from home. The washer worked well and we dried clothes on racks over night (dryer seemed to heat but not actual dry). Location was great - tube only 5 mins away. We enjoyed walking places too as kids liked spotting all the luxury cars in surrounding streets. Museums, Kensington palace, High St Kensington only 30 mins walk. This would be our absolute first choice of accommodation for our next trip to London.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at No1 The Mansions. Our apartments offer a home from home feel with everything you might need for an enjoyable stay in London. Each spacious apartment is individually designed and decorated, with different layouts to suit varied needs. All apartments have a fully fitted kitchen with washer/dryer, 5-day maid service, direct dial telephones and free WIFI making it easy to keep in touch with family and friends back home. We are happy that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Our family spent a week in this fantastic suburb in March 2014. We were lucky to have a two bedroom apartment on the top floor. The apartment was great, well furnished and spacious.
The kitchen was well stocked with all we needed, with a good sized fridge, dishwasher and washing machine. All in all a perfect space for a family of four for anytime.
The crowing glory for this place is the suburb. Earls Court was fantastic. There's many a store for quick bite, and the local Marks and Spencer is a great place for some groceries, and the local underground station is mere minutes away. Don't forget to head left once you leave the building as well for some great restaurants.
All in all, for a great home away from home, this is one of the best we've stayed in, and is very much recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Troy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLamley, Manager at No 1. The Mansions by Mansley, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found our apartments most accommodating. Also, that you made the most of our fantastic location as we have so many restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#177 of 1,068 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#53 of 1,068 in London
222 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Property: No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing