We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Nights Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gainsborough Hotel
Ranked #843 of 1,069 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Nights Sleep”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The basic premise of a hotel is that you can get a good nights rest. Unfortunately this is not the case here. There is a private club next door which operates next door and music can be heard booming out until 6am. I really feel for the staff because all were lovely and courteous, however when at 2am they moved me to another room where the music could be heard less, no double glazing meant I could each and every car outside as well as people's conversations on the pavement below. The decor is classic however it's now looking a little run down and scruffy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    106
    110
    95
    103
See reviews for
88
145
57
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was a Late Rooms booking and therefore a fraction of the full price - just as well! A brilliant location for our do at the V&A but we were a little nervous when even our London cabbie had never heard of the hotel! Perfectly serviceable and fine for a night but The Gainsborough is a rather tired and tatty establishment with something of a cold war feel about the place! Dusty plastic aspidistras and winding corridors with odd half staircases and faded wallpaper leant it an out of season quality, but our room was comfortable, if small and dated. Wild swagging and dim lighting did not disguise the tired decor, but the bed was comfy. Our tiny balcony was out of reach due to a chain on the French windows....probably just as well as we discovered, on going to bed, that directly below the hotel is....A NIGHT CLUB! Not a very relaxing or quiet night's sleep was had. Breakfast was extra and avoided. Most of the staff were Eastern European and were friendly in a low key kind of way. We did get a complimentary cup of tea on arrival. No biscuits though.......

Room Tip: Ask for a window, a bathroom with bath, and avoid 108 as it's opposite the lift and above the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnacleBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

As I was going to a performance at the Royal Albert Hall, I was in a hurry to find an affordable and close hotel that my husband and I could crash in before going home the next morning. I booked our room at the Gainsborough Hotel through Late Rooms for £89. I was quite happy with this, especially considering it was meant to be a four star hotel... And then I read the reviews!

Well, after staying for only one night (on a Saturday), I can safely say that most of my fears were unfounded, and our stay was pleasant, barring a strange wake up call.

Reception was well decorated and we felt very under-dressed in jeans and t-shirts! We were greeted by a friendly woman at the counter who gave me the appropriate paperwork before the manager came and finished checking us in. I have read many things about staff speaking sub-par English, and while it wasn't perfect, I could easily understand what they were saying and so check-in went smoothly. The first lady to greet us showed us to our room which was number 23 in the basement.

I was a bit frightened by the prospect of a basement room, after the reviews I had read; however, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was well decorated, and besides a little peeled wallpaper by the window and some stains on the bathroom floor, it wasn't anything like the horror stories painted by the reviews I had read. The room was situated with its windows facing up into the street. Besides a few loud groups of people who passed while we were resting, the noise level was tolerable.

The strangest thing about our stay happened in the night. I was woken up at around 3:30 in the morning by my husband, who was in a bit of a panic after a loud alarm had woken him up. I had heard it in my dreams and didn't think much of it; however, my husband was deeply disturbed for at least an hour, thinking there might have been a fire or something similar. I should also add that it was about this time that we heard loud music begin to play, as has been mentioned before in many reviews. Perhaps it was because of how close to the street we were, but the music was no where near loud enough to disturb us and so we eventually fell back to sleep.

It is a very convenient location, with the National History Museum within a two minute walk of the hotel. If you can book through a discount travel agent, then I'd recommend it for a convenient alternative to the more expensive hotels around. I would say that for the price we paid at such short notice, we received our money's worth; however, I would definitely go with caution as I'm sure not everyone will be as lucky as we were.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

this is not a luxury boutique hotel. It is an old tatty two star establishment .The basement standard rooms are dark and really unacceptable. There are many other far superior hotels nearby many of which are actually less expensive

Room Tip: avoid hotel completely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Thank goodness this was only a one night business trip stay! I would not like to stay here again to be honest. On arrival at the hotel the reception area was very inviting. I was a little early for my check in (12.10pm) check in is from 1.00pm so I took a seat in reception. Despite rooms being ready to occupy I was left to wait there for 50 exact minutes. The receptionist checked her watch at 3 minutes to 1.00pm and would still not give me a room - how ridiculous. At exactly 1.00pm I was checked in and told that I had been up-graded to a "delux" room (this I thought would compensate for my long wait) No help was offered with my baggage either, One entering the room I was almost horrified to see a "delux" room - What a joke!!! Behind the nice reception area lies a very tired & shabby hotel with an un-clean feel. My "delux" room was old, shabby and in much need of redecoration & re-fitting! My window opened to a 6x6ft sunken vent area so the only thing that I could see was vents & pipes & 3 walls. The bathroom was horrid. Loose fittings, old units & shower etc. The "single" bed felt un-clean and every time I moved it squeeked it was that old, no sleep on that night for sure. I didn't even go down for breakfast so I cannot comment on that. I chose to take breakfast elsewere. This hotel is cheap by London prices but at just short of £100 per night excluding breakfast I would at least expect some level of cleanliness & comfort. Will never be returning thats for sure.

Room Tip: Old, shabby & in dire need of refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Although this hotel is nothing special there are many far worse options in London and the rate was acceptable. It's located in a quiet street in the pleasant neighbourhood of South Kensington. The room and breakfast were fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajantes-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I felt that we were put in the worst room because I had a child. We were put in the far depths of a dark basement room. My child is very quiet and causes less noise than most adults.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank UkDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#660 of 1,069 in London
831 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#511 of 1,069 in London
636 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#637 of 1,069 in London
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#271 of 1,069 in London
446 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#409 of 1,069 in London
793 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#346 of 1,069 in London
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gainsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gainsborough Hotel

Property: The Gainsborough Hotel
Address: 7-11 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#397 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gainsborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an English country home magically whisked to the most exclusive London borough, and you have The Gainsborough. Named after the celebrated artist, The Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You are at the heart of the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, the Victoria & Albert - nearby; and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall is just minutes away. The well-stocked lounge bar is the spot for a leisurely drink or a snack from the light menu. With 24-hour room service, butlers on immediate call and a reception ever ready to meet your needs, nothing is too much for our attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing