We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby tiny grubby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gainsborough Hotel
Ranked #802 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Well the title just about sums it up I think! Who says its 4 star? More like 2 star!
Good points- great location and my room was very quiet, at the back with no view but this does keep traffic noise down to almost none!
Bad points- tiny tiny room. Bed linen dirty, bathroom tiles cracked and dirty, bathroom sink cabinet dirty. It's just all a bit old tired and grubby- won't be stopping for breakfast do cant comment on the food!
One to avoid at the general rate of ��180 a night, if I paid that I would be asking for a refund! Feel let down after paying just ��90 through Expedia secret hotel discount!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank Drzippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Room was in basement and was tired. My colleagues room was also in basement backing onto a basketball court giving him no chance of a pre dinner nap. The receptionist was uninterested When we tried check out and even worse AWEFUL undrinkable coffee at breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank mikewlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent a couple of nights at the Gainsborough Hotel London. The location is great, you have the tube nearby, busses, taxis and you can walk to museums. I went to the V & A Museum for a specific exhibition, it was only a couple of minutes walk. There are lots of restaurants and bars close by.
The room is small, the bathroom is also small but adequate, the view was of a roof top and back walls of buildings.
The staff are efficient but not warmly friendly. The bar is very small, i didn't bother with it.
There's not a lot to say about the Gainsborough Hotel really, it was ok for the time I spent there, the most it has going for it is the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StellaNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed one night in single room. Room was apparently freshly refurbished with new TV and comfortable bed. Great room service and staff was very helpfull. The location is unbeatable the hotel is just in front of museums and 3 min walk from tube station. The price is relatively good considering the area. I had also nice full english breakfast and smile from staff :-) I must say a lovely stay overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The best thing about our room were the curtains! The Georgian high ceilings are lovely but the whole place is tatty. The reception area looks good but looking past that the stair/landing carpet is old and stained, the wall paper is faded and peeling in places. There seemed to be some wall paper stripping in the next bedroom to ours as there was paper all over the carpet down the landing so there might be some redecorating plan going on, i hope so as this is a lovely area of Kensington and being this post code you expect something nice and also for the price! The room was clean and the bedding immaculate and nicely presented. We slept well with hardly any noise and the lovely very long and sumptuous curtains eliminated any light at all. It was hot and humid outside but we had air conditioning which worked very well. Wifi was £5 per hour or £10 for 24 hours, not really what you expect when many provide it for free. Breakfast was not wonderful but adequate. No fresh fruit sald only tinned peaches and tinned pears swimming in lots of syrup. No fresh milk, only UHT, not good when you're dying for a good cup of tea. Not much choice on the menu. One saving grace was that they did find some gluten free bread which was much appreciated. The staff were helpful and very polite. It was very convenient for all of the museums being at the end of the road and many lovely eating places in the area.

Room Tip: I suppose the more you pay the better room you get in terms of location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteRoseSandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I guess that you get what you pay for but I still feel very let down by this hotel. I booked a room at short notice on www.laterooms.co.uk and found a "special deal" at the Gainsborough near to South Kensington Tube. It was described as 4* with a room reduced from £220 to £70 excluding breakfast. It sounded too good to be true....

Firstly the good points:
The Location

And now some of the bad ones:
The room (no 308) was only about 6'6" x 11' (2m x 3.4m) plus the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen. The bathroom door would not fully open because it banged against the bed..
Decoration was very poor with mould in the shower, door knob falling off the bathroom, filthy windows, paint falling off and strange circular stains on the walls.
The temperature in the room at midnight was 89 deg F (30 Deg C) with no air con and only a portable fan to try and keep cool.
The shower door was a corner unit where I had to squeeze my body through the opening (No, I am not an obese person!). I had to run the water for 10 minutes to get warm water. There was no indication of how to work the shower controls with no H or C labels.
The window overlooked aircon units on the roof of the next office block and had windows from another building looking straight inside my room. This meant that i had to make the choice of opening the window and curtains to get some airflow and being overlooked lying on top of my bed, naked directly in front of the fan trying to cool off. It did not bother me unduly but I imagine that this would be a big problem for any ladies staying here.
I DID NOT SLEEP A WINK ALL NIGHT.
This was a horrid little room and I advise anyone reading this to check the room size before booking. There is no way that this is a 4*hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bertybign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Me and my partner normally celebrate our birthday in a nice hotel in this area of Kensington/Chelsea. I got there first to realised the room was dark and the only view was to some building black pipes. Immediately ask the reception for a better room as I would be very claustrophobic in this one. Well the other 2 choices wasn't much better, but I took the the one that had window to more scaffoldings, but I guess it was better then the then worse ones. The aircon was very week, the PILLOWS ARE TERRIBLE, I was chocked with the poor qualities and we both have terrible aching necks today. Not to mention that we told them the flash for the Loo wasn't working proper and they told us when we returned that it just need to push very hard and several times...imagine an older person trying to flash?? To last disappointment was the Continental breakfast with burned small croissants and hardly any food. We will never go back there. They must rise their standards as it's not 4 stars!!

Room Tip: Look at the reviews before you book any place, I regret I didn't leave immediately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#669 of 1,077 in London
865 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#440 of 1,077 in London
822 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#374 of 1,077 in London
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#630 of 1,077 in London
1,336 reviews
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#225 of 1,077 in London
533 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#527 of 1,077 in London
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gainsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gainsborough Hotel

Address: 7-11 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#397 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £86 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gainsborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an English country home magically whisked to the most exclusive London borough, and you have The Gainsborough. Named after the celebrated artist, The Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You are at the heart of the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, the Victoria & Albert - nearby; and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall is just minutes away. The well-stocked lounge bar is the spot for a leisurely drink or a snack from the light menu. With 24-hour room service, butlers on immediate call and a reception ever ready to meet your needs, nothing is too much for our attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing