We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Nice Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gainsborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gainsborough Hotel
Ranked #864 of 1,086 Hotels in London
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Nice Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed at The Gainsborough last weekend, and having read some of the reviews below I have to admit I was slightly worried about what I would find when I arrived. The service on check in was good - there was another guest at the desk as we arrived so were shown to some seats and within a few minutes were checking in. Went up to our triple room (1 double and 2 singles) which was clean and well presented. The room was a nice size, and could be partitioned off into two separate bedrooms which was useful. The only thing that was lacking in the room itself was tea and coffee making facilities, but there was room service so that really wasn't a problem. Aside from this, the only actual issue we had was that the shower wasn't all that good, it did work - just wasn't ideal.

As mentioned in a previous review, there is a nightclub close to the hotel, and yes, there was some noise from it, but to be frank it really wasn't enough to keep any of us awake - light sleepers included. Probably worth bearing in mind that we stayed on a Saturday night, I'm guessing the club wouldn't be open every night in the week.

We knew we'd be returning to the hotel late, so were concerned about the distance between the hotel and the nearest tube (South Kensington). It was literally 5 minutes walk, not a problem at all.

The breakfast in the morning was great, either full English or Continental. All your usual juices, cereals, rolls, crossiants, fruit etc etc. I think the breakfast was available until 11.00am.

Checked out of The Gainsborough at around 11.00am and left our luggage behind reception until 7.00pm that night - was great and so convenient as we didn't want to have to carry our bags around the capital all day!!

Thought it may be useful to add this to the review: To get to the hotel from the tube station, head up Harrington Road, and Queensberry Place is the second road on the right (turn at the French bookshop) - the hotel itself is about half way along, also on the right. As I said, literally 5 minutes away.

All in all, a great hotel which I'd happily recommend based on our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    92
    101
    90
    90
See reviews for
71
129
51
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
palermo
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights & had a lovely time. We were well looked after by all the staff we met,they were unbelievable--helpful, kind, thoughtful, but discreet at all times. We stayed 1 night in the standard double & we chose to upgrade ourselves to the deluxedouble for the 2/3rd nights (very nice) for a small price. To be honest the room was larger & at the back of the hotel, but both were wonderfully comfortable & charming although there is a night club just below the hotel that makes some noises just till 1PM.
We enjoyed the freedom of making our own coffee/tea when we wanted, & also having the luxury of such good service & help from the staff when needed.
We thought the location was great, near enough to access all the sights.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19alessio79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bologna
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

I booked this hotel very last minute as it looked gorgeous on the website and I was not disappointed. As soon as you hit the door everyone is helpful and trying to meet your every need. All public areas are stylish but my room was a bit small comparing with the Italian standards.
Bathroom was lovely with raindance shower. The roomservice provided a better value for the price. Unfortunately I did not have time for breakfast, which looked delicious.
This hotel was really nice & I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommaso_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I long weekend away with my friends.
Very very pleased with hotel, small but very clean.
hotel staff very helpful.
reception staff very helpful they provided transport maps and advised on transport links
hotel 5 minutes from the tube station (green, yellow or blue line).
There is no restaurant but the continental buffet breakfast is very yummy with a wide selection of food.

I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosarioG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palermo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

London is expensive - so value for money is tough to judge. However, our (twin) room was quite small, but larger than usual for London standards. Price was a little lower than average.
Worth noting that the hotel breakfast (when included) is well worth having, not only is it compreensive, fresh and tasty, but also is served until 11:30am at weekends and 10:30 weekdays, so it's very relaxed and not just aimed at the business clientele.
South Kensington tube station is only 5 minutes far. If I go again to London I will go again in the same hotel with closed eyes.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosca_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel le Six for six nights in May, and we had such a marvellous time at this charming, modern boutique hotel. The staff was warm and welcoming. The location is amazing, as there are three different metro lines within a couple blocks. We booked on the internet, and the rate we paid was excellent, when compared with the rack rate. We would stay here again without reservation, and hope we get the chance to do so. . We paid extra for a very good breakfast, with plenty to choose from - warm pastries, cereals, yoghurts - to a full English breakfast - and as much as you wanted in terms of juice and coffee. A perfect choice!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcellaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

I agree with the below review. I stayed one night at this hotel and was kept awake by booming dance music until 3AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How dare they charge these prices for this. How dare Last minute advertise this hotel without any warning.

[--]!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpreskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#644 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#418 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#513 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#378 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#592 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#427 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gainsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gainsborough Hotel

Property: The Gainsborough Hotel
Address: 7 - 11 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#395 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gainsborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an English country home magically whisked to the most exclusive London borough, and you have The Gainsborough. Named after the celebrated artist, The Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You are at the heart of the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, the Victoria & Albert - nearby; and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall is just minutes away. The well-stocked lounge bar is the spot for a leisurely drink or a snack from the light menu. With 24-hour room service, butlers on immediate call and a reception ever ready to meet your needs, nothing is too much for our attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing