We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dusty and unkempt hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gainsborough Hotel
Ranked #811 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We booked a triple room. At our arrival on Friday evening we discovered that it was an uncomfortably small and claustrophobic room in the basement with no windows! Tiny bathroom (but clean) and shabby furniture made our staying very unpleasant.
The day after they called us at 1 pm offering to move to a different room provided that we should have left our room by 2 pm! Since we were already enjoying our visit of London, we didn’t accept and we spent another night in the airless room in the basement.
Discouraged by this welcome, we didn’t have our breakfast at the hotel, but we choose one of the airy terraces of the coffe shops around South Kensington.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moussafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2010

My wife and I booked 2 nights in the Gainsborough hotel London we wanted a non smoking quiet room with bath.
Having stayed in London many times on both business and leisure I have stayed in all grades of hotels from 5 star deluxe to budget no frills - Whether it was the name or the price mislead us we expected this to be reasonable

This hotel is graded 4 star ? dont know how we had the WORST ROOM we have ever had anywhere - we are convinced our room was a single and we were squeezed in - Only one person at a time in the bathroom ( no bath you pay extra for that) and the bed was literally the full of the room we think our room was about 3 m x 3 m !!
The room looked out onto a school playground so not too quiet when children were playing extreemly disappointing and not worth the money.I would have graded our room 2 star

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NONSTOPTRAVELLER_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This hotel is perfectly placed for the museums and is a beautiful place. The hotel is situated in a very quiet street close to the underground and local cafes. The staff at reception were very polite and helpful and we were offered complimentary drinks on arrival.
The only problem was the room and corridors could do with bringing up to date. We stayed in a triple room at the back of the hotel so no view but very quiet. One of the beds was broken and was very wobbly and noisy. One of the double wall sockets was also loose and some of the bathroom floor tiles were cracked and ingrained with dirt.

There were plently of towels and toiletries for the three of us and the bedding was clean. We didn't have breakfast as it wasn't included in the price(£169).
If the quality of the inside had matched the location and the building as a whole I would have given a higher star level.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Great location in walking distance of Science Museum , Natural History Museum , Harrods , Royal Albert Hall , Hyde Park etc. Underground station only a few minutes walk away .
One of the few hotels we found with a family room with 3 full size single beds.
Room was perfectly adequate if using as a base and not spending a lot of time in the hotel .
Breakfast was excellent and service at breakfast and at reception was good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParsmanFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed here previously due to its location and reasonable prices and on that occasion, had a pleasent uneventful stay.
However this time I felt disapointed by poor service and bad housekeeeping that potentially was a fire hazard.
Just before we went out for dinner, I asked reception for a portable radiator to be placed in our room because the heating was not working .(Other electric portable radiarors were evident on the landings of the hotel)
On our return no radiator had been placed there so the room remained cold.
As we were going to bed anyway this issue was not pursued, but it would have been nice if the member of staff had bothered to carry out what we had requested.
More worrying, as we left the following morning I noticed a pile of off cuts of wood and other combustible materials piled up alongside the window of a room on the lower floor , where other members of my family had stayed.
Any malicious firesetting done to these materials overnight (any member of the public could access this area) , would have been a real danger to the occupants of this room. As I stated earlier this is bad housekeeping, which potentially could have serious consequences to occupants staying in this hotel.
Our room on the fourth floor was pleasant enough, but without sound proofing I could literally here every word the gentleman was saying on his mobile in the adjacent room.Bare this in mind if you do intend to stay here.
On a postive note , the receptionist who dealt with us on our arrival was helpful and polite, however following these issues which arose later in the day and the following morning I have no intention in staying here again, which is a shame as it is in a convenient and pleasant location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Professional and friendly staff. Room decorated in a British style. Good location - near the Science Museum.
Rooms are not sound isolated. You may find yourself with a noisy neighbour...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POIDNET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Well I persented myself at the Gainsborough and they sent me across to their sister hotel The Gallery. The room price per night was advertised

There was one person at reception and there were rooms off to the side which were dark and unused. There was a bar off to the right (i.e. a little crany with a wooden shelf and zero ambiance or people). I have no idea if there was a restaurant, there was no sign of one, might have been one of the dark rooms.

in their favour they offered me a free cup of tea as I checked in.

Then up to the room. The lift cranked and groaned it's way up to the 4th floor for what seemed like an eternity.

The room itself was slightly decaying, in a colonial sense, but still acceptable.

The sink didn't drain properly, there was no bottled drinking water in the room and the mattress must have come out of the dark ages, but otherwise OK.

Day2, back from the office and lo and behold the lift had broken down, so now I had to walk up 4 flights of stairs.

Not much else to say really, oh yes it looks like they over-charged me, still trying to resolve that. location good.

If it had 2* I would not compain at all but then I would not have stayed there either and never will again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyThack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#224 of 1,076 in London
547 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#427 of 1,076 in London
835 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#665 of 1,076 in London
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#384 of 1,076 in London
1,034 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#510 of 1,076 in London
792 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gainsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gainsborough Hotel

Address: 7-11 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#393 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £81 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gainsborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an English country home magically whisked to the most exclusive London borough, and you have The Gainsborough. Named after the celebrated artist, The Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You are at the heart of the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, the Victoria & Albert - nearby; and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall is just minutes away. The well-stocked lounge bar is the spot for a leisurely drink or a snack from the light menu. With 24-hour room service, butlers on immediate call and a reception ever ready to meet your needs, nothing is too much for our attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing